Month: March 2007

  • Tucker vs. the Machine ...

    Tucker has entered the information/digital/cell phone age.  He has learned to text message.  (Thanks Tim)

    Yesterday I get:

    "Mom can I make bacon for breakfast?"

      No, you can't cook bacon when I'm not home.

    "Mom, can I make bacon for lunch."

      No, you can't cook bacon when I'm not home.

    "Mom, bacon would make a nice snack."

      No, you can't cook bacon when I'm not home.

    "Mom, will you make me bacon when you get home"

       I called him.  And no, I didn't make bacon last night, but he had it this morning for breakfast.

    Tucker is persistent.  Right now he is persistent on a lot of different fronts.  I got really really annoyed with Cartoon Network a couple weeks ago and told the boys that if they are going to watch television, they have to watch something educational.  SO now he's watching Animal Planet and keeping me well informed about the benefits of pet ownership. 

    He draws me a new picture every day.  Some days that's the first thing he does when he gets out of bed.  He draws pictures of houses that he thinks would work well for us.  Lately, all these pictures include a dog. 

    I'm trying.  I'm trying not to let it make me feel like a bad mom that he doesn't have the house and the dog.  I love my kid.  And one thing I know with absolute certainty, with his persistence, he will get far more results than if he took "no" for an answer.  Now if we can just find some balance ...

  • Happy Friday

    toad

    Here's looking at you.

    I'm thinking I'm gonna have "Mom's Movie Night"
    and make the guys watch Casa Blanca with me.

    Ever since I read that Scriveling was watching it - last week?
    I've had it on my mind. So I'm gonna get some popcorn, and ice cream

    and curl up on the couch with my favorite blanket and
    my favorite kids and have the kind of movie night that

    always makes them moan and groan
    until they get into it and then they say, "this is great,

    we should do it more often."

     

    What's your favorite classic movie? 

     

  • Mmmmmmm Bagels ...

    I stopped at Einstein Brother's this morning for a bagel and coffee, while I was there, I was overcome by the urge to bring bagels for the whole hee haw gang.  So everyone's day is starting off a little better.  I hope yours is too.

    Scene It ...

    Tim introduced us to a new game and the boys and I are hooked.  We played Scene It - the Disney version - last night and it's awesome.  I would love to try to other versions.

  • Bad Sport?

    I know it should not matter, but I was playing literati online the other night (its what I do if I'm awake at 3 am) and my opponent scolded me for "big weird words" when I played the word "COCKNEY".  It was suggested that in addition to my questionable taste in playing an obscene word, I was cheating.  I wasn't. 

    Nor was I cheating against my next opponent when I played the word "CHASUBLE".  It was the name of the Rector in "The Importance of Being Earnest" and I had the niggling idea that it was a real word too, so I looked it up after I watched the movie.  It was a real word and sure enough I was able to play it in a Literati game later.

    Have you ever noticed that when you have a new word on your mind it shows up in places you never expected to see it? 

    I get that it's a bummer to lose.  I HATE to lose.  But when I lose I don't assume that my opponent is cheating - necessarily.  Not unless they pull out three or four seven letter words in a row, then I have a suspicion that there's an anagram program assisting their success. 

    That's suckish, but sometimes, I even win against those people, and that makes it all better.

    *** Literati is a game that's very much like Scrabble.  The board is laid otu differently and the letters have different values than letters in Scrabble but basic gameplay is the same - you have seven tiles to form words.  Play literati online at Yahoo Games 

     

     

  • Breaking Spring ...

    So far Spring break has been nice on every front except weather.  Yesterday was supposed to be the warmest of the week with temperatures in the low 70's and clear skies.  We woke up to rain, wind, and a miserable chill. 

    The boys had a good day in spite of the weather, and I took them last night to see the Last Mimzy.  Tucker got a little scared at one point but then when nothing terribly bad happened, he was almost disappointed.  I think they are having a good week.  They have certainly had a lot of activites on their calendar.  Enough that last night as soon as we got back from the movie they announced that they were tired and they went to bed.  None of this trying to stay up half the night just because they can ...

    I'm trying to finish up a project at work, but I have to admit that I'm not trying very hard.  The big boss is out of town this week.  And while we aren't playing, we are working on the projects that we think are critical, which aren't always the ones he's expressed a desire for us to finish up first. 

    Yesterday, Matt took us all to lunch and it was just very very pleasant to be out of the office and to just hang out with each other for a while. 

    So there's Spring Break.  The boys get a break from school, I get a break from my boss, it could be a lot worse.  

  • Almost Six ---

    I've been blogging for almost six years now.  Six years in which my Baby has grown from four to ten years old, I've moved from the flatlands to the mountains, and Almost every surface aspect of my life has undergone a radical change.

    How much have I changed inside?

    I reread some of my old blogs this morning, just for the fun of it.  And I think that in someways, my behavior has changed significantly.  I'm more assertive these days.  More independent.  Less patient with people who want someone else to mother them (I still have a very strong nurturing personality, but I don't NEED to be mothering someone.  I'm not as susceptible to being caught up in co-dependent cycles.)

    On the other hand, I'm still intrigued by the processes of learning, knowing, experiencing and becoming.  I have less time for reading philosophy, but that hasn't stopped my consideration of philosophical questions and I have been able to bring them to bear with some considerable success in my working life.

    My circumstances have changed.  I've been up and down the roller coaster.  And I've shared that ride with you. 

    Recently someone said to me that I had shared too much of my personal life on my weblog and that someday my children would be embarrassed to read it but by then it would be to late to recant.

    I have no desire to recant here.  There's nothing I've said that's not true to the way I think and feel about my life.  If there's more information about my finances than people usually publish, it's also true that I haven't published so much that I've set myself up for identity theft or fraud.  If someone else can learn to avoid mistakes I've made, or be encouraged that if I can achieve my goals with these resources then maybe they can achieve their goals too, I think that's a good thing. 

    And if my kids are someday embarrassed?  Well, that's what the therapy jar is for.  Every now and then, I tell them - "I know this is not what you want to hear, it will probably scar you for life, so when you're older I'll help you pay for therapy, but in the meantime, you MUST clean your bathroom or I will ground you for a week from everything but breathing." 

    And I put a dollar in the "therapy jar."  Yes, our therapy jar really exists, as of today it contains $4.25 so they would be getting a really GOOD therapist to repair the damage I've done.

    Okay - I will admit that we also have spent money from the therapy jar on activities that we all agree we need to promote our mental health.  My mental health is greatly improved by Ben and Jerry's or Godiva.  Tucker's requires some kind of one to one interaction (so he goes for games and toys that require a playmate), and Michael's brain waves are stimulated by new tunes for his MP3 player.

    Michael Story ---

    Okay, it starts as a Momi story.  When I was a child my mom would slam open the bedroom door, flip on the lights, and yell at me to get out of bed.  That started my day on such a horrible note that by the time I was in high school, I was waking on my own at 5 so I could be up first and get my shower and get ready for my day before there was any trauma.

    So as a mom, I'm concerned that my kids wake up gently and in ways that encourage them to feel good about their day and themselves.

    I usually enter their rooms quietly and stroke their back while they are sleeping to wake them.  I snuggle them while they sleepily blink their eyes and tell them I love them and that I can't wait to have another day with them.

    So a couple mornings ago, I went into Michael's room and started the stroke his back process.  He blinked his eyes a couple times and very sleepily said, "Mom, I know you love me, but could you love me later?  I'm trying to sleep." 

  • Out Like a Lamb?!?

    We have rain and sleet today.  I'm ready for winter to be OVER.

    But, I have SO gotten housecleaning done today.  I've vacuumed, swept, scrubbed, washed, and wiped.  I still need to clean the fingerprints off the sliding door (note to me, REALLY, clean the fingerprints).

    I feel so much better about everything in my world when my house is clean. 

    Happy thoughts and rainbows to you!

     

  •  SmallLife It's Friday - It's Friday ... SmallLife

    SmallLife  Thank God SmallLife

    SmallLife

    Ever feel like you're surrounded by

    LifeGame

  • Life and Other Diseases

    I've been reading again.  Annie Dillard this time.  Every page I think, WOW this is GREAT I want to share it, but before I call my sister or my best friend or drag one of the kids over to listen "Oh Mom" my eye slides to the next page and there you have it. 

    I'm reading this book strangely.  I don't read this way but I'm jumping around, I'm reading pages backward, and I'm just experiencing the words in different and more playful ways than I usually allow myself as a reader. 

    I'm gonna just share one little passage and then I'll move on.  I am opening the book at random ... to page 79 ...

    At The Church of The Nativity in Bethlehem ...

       A fourteen-pointed silver star, two feet in diameter, covered a raised bit of marble floor at the cave wall.  This silver star was the x that marked the spot: here just here, the infant got born.  Two thousand years of Christianity began here, where God emptied himself into man.... here, now, the burning oils smelled heavy.  It must have struck many people that we were competing with the lamps for oxygen.

       In the center of the silver star was a circular hole.  That was the bull's eye.  God's quondam target.

       Crouching people leaned forward to wipe their fingers across the hole's flat bottom.  When it was my turn, I knelt, bent under a satin fringe drape, reached across half the silver star, and touched its hole.  I could feel some sort of soft wax in it.  The hole was a quarter inch deep and six inches across, like a wide petri dish.  I have never read any theologian who claims that God is particularly interested in religion anyway.

       Any patch of ground anywhere smacks more of God's presence on earth, to me, than did this marble grotto.  The ugliness of the blunt bumpy silver star impressed me.  The bathetic pomp of the heavy, tasseled brocades, the marble, the censors hanging from chains, the embroidered aspergillium, the crosiers, the ornate lamps -- some human's idea of elegance -- bespoke grand comedy, too that God put up with it.  And why should he not?  Things here on earth get a whole lot worse than bad taste.     __ Annie Dillard, For the Time Being

     

    Maybe you'd like to read something that I've written?  I've been told by different people that this is either wonderful or completely baffling.  So what do you think?

     

    Cinderella’s Laces

    They cut the strings off your robe, that’s the first thing you need to know if you’re gonna have a breakdown.  You know, those little satin strings on the inside of your robe where you tie one side to the other side so you don’t accidentally expose yourself?  They cut ‘em off.    

                I’m gonna put it on eBay, you know?

                No, not the strings.  I’m gonna write one of those little books, you know, like a pamphlet except it’s an electronic file. It’ll be all about how to pack for your breakdown.  That’s information a woman really needs to know. 

                I know this woman, can’t even spell.  But she wrote this thing about how to win beauty pageants and made like a thousand dollars.  That’s not bad. 

    I could write; I have a degree.  You don’t have to print nothing either, from eBay you just send the buyer a file and zip, you’re done.  Yeah, that’s the way.  No overhead. 

                Who me?  Yeah, I always have ideas. 

    I don’t guess you have a cigarette, do you?  They won’t let you go outside unless it’s for a smoke break. 

    That’s the second thing to put in the paper.  Start smoking.  You need a pre-breakdown checklist because once the breakdown starts things get a little busy and you might not have time to start smoking.

    Of course I know why I’m here.  You start chewing pills like you’re sampling jelly beans, you get a one way ticket to the crazy house.  My room isn’t like they show on TV.  I thought it would be white walls, you know, something cool and antiseptic; unprovocative.

    Hell, yeah, I find that damn sea foam provocative.  That’s not a color found in nature, no matter what they call it. 

    Why does there have to be a why?  Look, I went a little crazy, I ate some pills.  They pumped my stomach and now I’m here.  But I’m not gonna do it again, and I don’t see a point in talking about it.  You don’t know me, I don’t know you, and we’re not fixin to sit down with daiquiris, so I don’t see why we gotta act like we’re friends. 

    The outside?  Well, I miss my kids. 

    One of each. My boy, he’s twelve now.  The girls are starting to notice him. 

    My little girl, I keep seeing her face.  She’s seven and she was there when it all went down.  She was scared. 

    I saw her and it didn’t mean anything to me.  I was crying, and Mama was calling the ambulance, and there was all this noise and she was watching.  I have to talk to her.  I may not have to tell you, but sooner or later, I know I’ll have to tell her what happened to her Mama.  I just wonder how she’ll look at me then. 

    That’s something else for the paper.  Think about who you’re gonna have to talk to later.  How many points is that so far?  I need to take the notes so I don’t forget what to write.

    My Mama?  She tells me things like, “It could be a lot worse; he doesn’t hit you; better to just keep it all in.”  I don’t know, maybe that works for other women.  Maybe that’s worked for all the other women in my family all the way back to freakin’ Eve in the Garden, you know?  But it don’t work for me any more.

    You sure you don’t have a cigarette?

    It’s been inside me so long, I’m bloated and rubbery.  I don’t know my own shape.  Maybe I don’t even have a shape.  I don’t look in mirrors.  Maybe I look different after every person I talk to.  You know, some people press and some people pull and it’s a wonder that the next person in line recognizes me cause everyone shapes me different.  

    Yeah, I saw the poster on your wall right when I came in.  I notice things.  I guess Virginia wrote something other than the letter about Santa Claus.

    It was a joke, I know who Virginia Woolf was.  I read it in college, “A Room of One’s Own,” something like that.  Right?  She saw how it was, and I remember how she imagined it would be a hundred years later, but it hasn’t changed as much as everyone tells us. 

    So I have my own room now, anyway. 

    Women are supposed to have come such a long way.  We do it all, ‘bring home the bacon, fry it up in the pan …’

    Yeah, well, it’s a good idea.  But, you know?  It’s like that scene in Cinderella when she comes downstairs and the stepmother says, “of course you may go to the ball.”  And you know it’s gonna be bad. 

    She’s not going to the ball because first she has to perform these impossible tasks.  And you know, even when she gets ‘em done, she still ain’t going to the ball.  It don’t work that way. 

    Women are the worst.  No man ever said to me, “well, of course you knew what it would be like before you had those kids.”  Women don’t give each other a break. 

    My boss, she’s a woman.  Christine.  Christine asks me to stay late and finish up the paperwork.  Christine tells me how important it is for me to be a team player.  But my son plays baseball, and if I leave early enough to take him to a game, Christine talks with me about my priorities. 

    I’m tired.  I’m tired of working and working and smiling when she hands me that paycheck and I know that it’s less than Joe is making.  His desk is right next to mine; I’ve been there three years longer; he makes more money. 

    I enter the numbers.  You’d think that maybe since Christine has me doing payroll, she’d think about a little thing like the fact that I’m gonna know that she pays him more, but she does not care what I think.  I think if Christine starts seeing it through my eyes, she has to realize that it could have been her in my shoes.  But, if she can say it was all me, that I made bad decisions then she feels safe.

    David?  He’s all right, I guess.  Like Mama says, he doesn’t beat me or anything.  He makes more money than me, too.  I have a Bachelor’s in Accounting, he works in a factory, and he makes more money.  But it’s not about money between us, with us it’s all about time. 

    He goes fishing, and hunting.  He takes our son to the ballgame, but if I say I want to do something, he makes a big deal about how I owe him for the babysitting.  I owe him?  Like they aren’t his kids, too?

    Yeah, I’d like to do something different with my life.  I have ideas.  But there’s this box all around me.  Everyone has something they want from me.  By the time they all get what they want, there’s nothing left.  And every year, the box gets a little smaller and there’s no room to do anything except what someone else expects you to do for them.  You’re a bad selfish person if you do anything just for yourself.  I know.  I’m bad and selfish. 

    One day you come home and your husband bought a new truck.  Didn’t talk to you, didn’t ask about the budget or the finances.  Just bought it.  And he says to you, “Well, you work in a bank, you’ll figure out the payments.”  And it’s too much.  It’s so much that all you can think about are those pills in your Mama’s cabinet that make her feel so happy.  And maybe, if you take enough of ‘em, you won’t ever feel bad again.

    You don’t think about anybody else.  You just think about what you want, and how more than anything you want it to all go away.

    Maybe it’ll be easier now ‘cause everyone knows about this.  That’s the up side to the breakdown.  No one can expect me to fix anything, ‘cause I’m broke. 

    I feel better now.  I should have got broke a long time ago.

    You know, when they take your things and make sure you don’t have anything you can use to hurt yourself with, they take your shoe laces, too.  Like I’m gonna what, hang myself with shoe laces?  Even if I could figure out how to tie the things around my neck, what would I hang from?  There’s nothing in that room to attach ‘em to.

    I know.  Not cause I want to hang.  Gross.  But once they took the laces, it made me think.  So I looked.

    I found out they burnt ‘em. 

    Yeah, they burnt my shoe laces, nobody else’s, just mine.  They told me they could smell foot odor on ‘em even when they were locked away in the cabinet.  So they took ‘em out and burnt ‘em.  I got no strings on my robe.  No laces on my shoes. 

    I can’t hurt myself, anymore. 

    Is our time up?  We haven’t talked about anything important anyway. 

     

               

     

     

  • Maggie MacFrugal Strikes ...

    My best friend calls me Maggie MacFrugal.  I get such a kick out of that.  I think of Maggie as this other person who lives inside me.  Maggie isn't a dowdy little killjoy, but she takes a demonic sort of Robin Hoodlike pleasure in saving money and getting a bargain.  And she's helping me to rework my money book into a manuscript I'll submit for publication.

    Lately, Maggie and I have been at odds.

    Kind of.

    I made a bone-headed money mistake that I know better than to do, but I did it anyway.  And Maggie keeps shaking her head at me and tapping the pointy toe of her stiletto heeled Marc Jacobs WHICH she got on sale.

    I spent my money twice.

    Yeah, I know.  Bone-headed.  See, I thought that my raise was coming through like promised, so I got my brakes fixed on my car.  Only they wound up costing about twice as much as I thought they were going to cost, so I charged them on my credit card thinking, "no big deal, I'll pay it off when I get my check ..."  But then something else came up and then something else came up and then this REALLY cute pair of shoes ... (calfskin uppers, adorable little bow on the vamp, and they are RED, which goes beautifully with the Navy look which is really hot this season) on sale at Dillards for less than a far less cute pair would have cost at Payless ... came up. 

    And the moral of the story is that no matter HOW cute the shoes are, Maggie would have walked right past them if she had already spent her money on brakes for the car. 

    So I'm thinking surely I can use this story and others in the book to illustrate the way that things should not be done?

    But on the other hand - I wore my incredibly cute shoes to work last week and one of my co-workers told me that the way I walk in high heels makes her think of Jessica Rabbit. 

    Um - I'm not bad, I'm just drawn that way ....

    Tucker Tales ...MichelleDDivine

    We are deep in science fair season.  Tucker's project this year is to test the effect of different colored lights on plants.  So he has the red light in his bathroom which makes it a little dark.  He told me tonight that it's too dark to see and he won't be taking a bath until the experiment is over .... 

    2 1/2 more weeks?!? 

    I think not.