June 7, 2011

  • U Don’t Have 2 B Rich …

     

    I’m

    Just

    Say

    ‘In

    U Don’t Have 2 B Beautiful 2 Turn me on

    I just need Ur Body Baby,

    From Dusk til Dawn

    U Don’t have 2 B Rich

    4 me 2 B Ur Girl

    U don’t have 2 B Cool

    2 Rule my World

    I Just want Ur Extra Time

    And Ur Kissssssssssssssssss

     

    So when I got home tonight, Tucker met me at the door.  He wanted to have family time.  Told me that he’s been feeling a little neglected lately.  He was already popping the popcorn, and had the movie ready to go.  Happy Feet.  We haven’t watched it in a while and I LOVE the music, so why not.

    My 14 year old sat close enough to me to technically be snuggling with his mom.  Now it wasn’t all snowflakes and polar lights, he also did things like put his feet on his brother, fart in the quiet moments, and generally make himself a squirrelly mess. But God Bless him.  He lets me know when he needs a little extra time. 

    And a good night kissssssssss

    I don’t know if anyone is still thinking that there’s any such thing as quality time.  As in the magical moments that you look into your child’s eyes and connect with his soul, then you dust your hands off and go about your busy life because quality makes up for quantity.  That’s never worked for me. 

    Maybe because I’m a foot smaller than either of my boys, but they have always been able to tackle me and hold me down if necessary.  And they are willing to deal with me in whatever way they must to get what they need.  That soul gaze doesn’t work for them, either.  They don’t give a flying flip about quality.  They want my body, mind, and soul to be present with them for great gasping gobs of time.

    Now they’re older, I do get credit if I sit still on the couch for the time it takes to watch a movie and I’m thrilled about that because I work all day and sometimes, I’m tired. 

    I wouldn’t have it any other way.

    Momma loves you, too, boys …

     

Comments (1)

  • It sounds like a great evening, farts and all.  Happy Feet is such fun!

    Ain’t it great?!

    My youngest will be 30 next month, still at home, still as willful and self-contained as ever, and yet he still has times when he appreciates his mom and needs her time and attention.

    I love being a mom.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *