March 28, 2007

  • Bad Sport?

    I know it should not matter, but I was playing literati online the other night (its what I do if I'm awake at 3 am) and my opponent scolded me for "big weird words" when I played the word "COCKNEY".  It was suggested that in addition to my questionable taste in playing an obscene word, I was cheating.  I wasn't. 

    Nor was I cheating against my next opponent when I played the word "CHASUBLE".  It was the name of the Rector in "The Importance of Being Earnest" and I had the niggling idea that it was a real word too, so I looked it up after I watched the movie.  It was a real word and sure enough I was able to play it in a Literati game later.

    Have you ever noticed that when you have a new word on your mind it shows up in places you never expected to see it? 

    I get that it's a bummer to lose.  I HATE to lose.  But when I lose I don't assume that my opponent is cheating - necessarily.  Not unless they pull out three or four seven letter words in a row, then I have a suspicion that there's an anagram program assisting their success. 

    That's suckish, but sometimes, I even win against those people, and that makes it all better.

    *** Literati is a game that's very much like Scrabble.  The board is laid otu differently and the letters have different values than letters in Scrabble but basic gameplay is the same - you have seven tiles to form words.  Play literati online at Yahoo Games 

     

     

Comments (8)

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment