May 31, 2011

  • I have a drinking problem …

    There was an article in the paper today apparently detailing all the reasons you shouldn’t give your kids sports drinks. 

    Okay – I’m waiting for the article that tells me what they CAN drink because I think that now they’ve taken Gatorade off the menu, we’re left with nothing.  Can’t have milk because of the hormones, antibiotics, and bacteria.  Can’t have water unless it’s been distilled but you can’t have that because it comes in a bottle.  You can’t have soda because of sugar/caffeine/sodium and it comes in cans AND bottles.  You can’t have juice because it’s got too much sugar.  You can’t have tea or coffee because of both caffeine and it’s not grown locally.  You can’t have …

    You see the problem?

    What am I supposed to tell my kids.  Drink the dirt? 

    Sigh.

    Time to start them on beer. 

Comments (9)

  • Too funny. You cannot even trust the water. 

  • Don’t you wonder how we ever made it to our age…with all that is supposed to kill one today that we lived on?

  • Here the kids ( and us ) are drinking water in bottle .but not too much mineralised ( well water in bottle )
    But you are right for the food like for the drink the industrial way of production is worrying .

    Love

    Michel

  • before I retired I worked back in 1989 -1995 for a pediatric dr. and we always told mom’s no gatorade cause of it having too much salt and sugar.

    really watered down natural fruit juice(more then 50/50 is the best) and water of course

    I asked the dr. for my own child what milk is best and he said,”whatever milk mom gives child is the best.”

  • We have a no-sports drinks, no-soda household.   Why can’t they drink water now?  Is there something with tap water?   We don’t have city water, so I haven’t heard – we have well water (yuck), so we buy bottled/spring water and fill up our water bottles with it.   We buy organic milk, but only use it in cereal, etc.  For some reason, my kids are not milk drinkers (and I avoid dairy due to my skin problems – I drink rice milk, which makes the kids run screaming :)     I thought organic milk was expensive until I went to Hawaii and it was…  $12/gallon!!!    Haha, that’s enough reason to go no-dairy right there. 

  • Just saw this episode of The Simpsons where the “mid-day mommies” play group took Marge out of snack rotation because her snacks had HFCS and hydrogenated oils – haha.   Then Marge decides to shop at the natural foods store, where blueberries are $30/basket.   :p

  • My kids used to drink a lot of fruit juice and koolaid.

  • I like Lyssa’s recs.  Also, water is necessary to keep hydrated.  Oh, and the Santa Fee trip is Sept 19th to 26th.  

  • What exactly you’re writing is a horrible mistake.
    here | site | ,

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *