June 12, 2011

  • My Milagro

     

    I’m taking a jewelry class tomorrow night.  It’s a class on wire-work and I’m looking forward to it as this is something I’ve wanted to learn to increase my skill set.  (yeah, I’m way more interested in improving my jewelry technique than I am in studying accounting software – go figure)

    So the project we’ll be using as the basis for these techniques is a “Milagro Chain”

    I’ve read the Milagro Bean field War, but even then I didn’t really know what a milagro was.  Looking it up, I discover that it’s a charm, typically left at the site of a saint, in thanks for an answered prayer.  The charm is meant to represent the miracle, so frequently they are shaped like body parts.  (Which led me to speculate for a moment on a necklace with a little sterling silver pancreas …)

    I’ve had over a month to get ready for the class, choose my elements etc.  But I just wasn’t drawn to anything.

    Until this afternoon.  I visited the New Mexico Bead and Fetish shop down in old town and found a New Mexico/Route 66 charm.  That’s about perfect.  As many different places as I’ve lived, I’ve never lived anywhere that felt so much like “Home” from the moment I arrived.  They also had a “New Mexico” charm, but the Route 66 reached out to me.  It speaks to me of driving on open roads, moving west, and of course of my now home state. 

    Tucker was disappointed that I didn’t choose a charm featuring his picture prominently as he’s convinced that he (or he and his brother if I MUST be fair) are the closest things to miracles in my life.  And he’s right in a general way.  But I have a LOT of “Momi” gear.  I wanted this necklace to represent something to me.  Home does it.

     

Comments (10)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *