June 3, 2011

  • What your clothing says …

    Most of the time when someone mentions my clothing choices, they don’t just say, “that color is flattering” or “browns don’t do much for you”.  They say things like “those are happy colors! … you look like a hippie … you look like the cool Momi … or that color brown makes you look like you lost a mudfight.”

    So what does it say when my boss and I dress alike on the same day.

    We rounded the corner and met, stopped, stared …

    Gray capris = check
    Peasant blouse with purple paisley = check
    Lace edged cami underneath for modesty = check
    Black sandals with 3 inch heels = check

    It’s a really strange feeling.  There were mirror differences in our costume.  My pants were darker and my top had more white in the pattern.  The fabrics of her outfit were clearly more expensive than the fabrics of mine.  But it was similar enough to turn heads and invite comment.  (And the way our darks and lights were reversed carried all the way up to my dark hair and her blonde.) 

    Its unsettling to meet someone dressed as you are dressed.  It’s even a little more unsettling when it’s your boss who reflects your taste.  So I keep wanting to make it mean something. 

    But after careful pondering, I think it simply means that we both prefer a casual Bohemian style. 

    I’m going shopping tomorrow.

     

     

Comments (2)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *