March 31, 2007

  • Tucker vs. the Machine ...

    Tucker has entered the information/digital/cell phone age.  He has learned to text message.  (Thanks Tim)

    Yesterday I get:

    "Mom can I make bacon for breakfast?"

      No, you can't cook bacon when I'm not home.

    "Mom, can I make bacon for lunch."

      No, you can't cook bacon when I'm not home.

    "Mom, bacon would make a nice snack."

      No, you can't cook bacon when I'm not home.

    "Mom, will you make me bacon when you get home"

       I called him.  And no, I didn't make bacon last night, but he had it this morning for breakfast.

    Tucker is persistent.  Right now he is persistent on a lot of different fronts.  I got really really annoyed with Cartoon Network a couple weeks ago and told the boys that if they are going to watch television, they have to watch something educational.  SO now he's watching Animal Planet and keeping me well informed about the benefits of pet ownership. 

    He draws me a new picture every day.  Some days that's the first thing he does when he gets out of bed.  He draws pictures of houses that he thinks would work well for us.  Lately, all these pictures include a dog. 

    I'm trying.  I'm trying not to let it make me feel like a bad mom that he doesn't have the house and the dog.  I love my kid.  And one thing I know with absolute certainty, with his persistence, he will get far more results than if he took "no" for an answer.  Now if we can just find some balance ...

Comments (6)

  • Gee, I wonder how he learned to use guilt as a wedge?

  • Well, he has learned to be persistant somewhere. Judi

  • Teens and text messaging....I think it's SO annoying!   

    The secret is to not let any kids make you feel like a bad mom.  The older they get the better they GET at that game.  It can be SO draining.  Drain-ING. 

    I like your persistent response.  The way parents have to say the same things over and over and over can start to feel so mind-numbing.  I swear....kids seem to wear you out physically the first ten years and then the second ten years they go in for the kill by messing with your mind. 

  • I'm thinking at least he's drawing a picture of a dog, although with his penchant for bacon, are you sure it isn't a pig????

  • persistent like Chinese water torture!

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment