March 25, 2007

  • Almost Six ---

    I've been blogging for almost six years now.  Six years in which my Baby has grown from four to ten years old, I've moved from the flatlands to the mountains, and Almost every surface aspect of my life has undergone a radical change.

    How much have I changed inside?

    I reread some of my old blogs this morning, just for the fun of it.  And I think that in someways, my behavior has changed significantly.  I'm more assertive these days.  More independent.  Less patient with people who want someone else to mother them (I still have a very strong nurturing personality, but I don't NEED to be mothering someone.  I'm not as susceptible to being caught up in co-dependent cycles.)

    On the other hand, I'm still intrigued by the processes of learning, knowing, experiencing and becoming.  I have less time for reading philosophy, but that hasn't stopped my consideration of philosophical questions and I have been able to bring them to bear with some considerable success in my working life.

    My circumstances have changed.  I've been up and down the roller coaster.  And I've shared that ride with you. 

    Recently someone said to me that I had shared too much of my personal life on my weblog and that someday my children would be embarrassed to read it but by then it would be to late to recant.

    I have no desire to recant here.  There's nothing I've said that's not true to the way I think and feel about my life.  If there's more information about my finances than people usually publish, it's also true that I haven't published so much that I've set myself up for identity theft or fraud.  If someone else can learn to avoid mistakes I've made, or be encouraged that if I can achieve my goals with these resources then maybe they can achieve their goals too, I think that's a good thing. 

    And if my kids are someday embarrassed?  Well, that's what the therapy jar is for.  Every now and then, I tell them - "I know this is not what you want to hear, it will probably scar you for life, so when you're older I'll help you pay for therapy, but in the meantime, you MUST clean your bathroom or I will ground you for a week from everything but breathing." 

    And I put a dollar in the "therapy jar."  Yes, our therapy jar really exists, as of today it contains $4.25 so they would be getting a really GOOD therapist to repair the damage I've done.

    Okay - I will admit that we also have spent money from the therapy jar on activities that we all agree we need to promote our mental health.  My mental health is greatly improved by Ben and Jerry's or Godiva.  Tucker's requires some kind of one to one interaction (so he goes for games and toys that require a playmate), and Michael's brain waves are stimulated by new tunes for his MP3 player.

    Michael Story ---

    Okay, it starts as a Momi story.  When I was a child my mom would slam open the bedroom door, flip on the lights, and yell at me to get out of bed.  That started my day on such a horrible note that by the time I was in high school, I was waking on my own at 5 so I could be up first and get my shower and get ready for my day before there was any trauma.

    So as a mom, I'm concerned that my kids wake up gently and in ways that encourage them to feel good about their day and themselves.

    I usually enter their rooms quietly and stroke their back while they are sleeping to wake them.  I snuggle them while they sleepily blink their eyes and tell them I love them and that I can't wait to have another day with them.

    So a couple mornings ago, I went into Michael's room and started the stroke his back process.  He blinked his eyes a couple times and very sleepily said, "Mom, I know you love me, but could you love me later?  I'm trying to sleep." 

Comments (10)

  • well...if my daughter's ever embarrassed, she has no one to blame but herself...she's the one that got me to sign up here. 

    the therapy jar?  made me laugh.  i have, forever it seems, told sarah, "well, consider it psychologist fodder for when you're older. you can just say, 'my mother was so mean, she [ insert evil deed ]' and then let the good doctor carry on from there."

    and yes, you've grown and changed and become more assertive.  i've never seen you give out too much information here at all.  shoot, draggin' it out of you in person isn't easy either.  heh.

  • On my way to comment I saw that you are in the Proverbs 31 group. I haven't known many women that fall into this category. My Mom and Grandma are two of them...my Aunt Barb, and few more friends. But I don't know many. You, however, I must say, are one too. You really are. The way you talked about how you wake up your kids...that is so sweet and you took the time that most moms never do. Your kids will remember that always and one day will do something similar for their babies. I hope you realize how precious you are. -Kate

  •   That's a good one, Michael. 

    Six years...wow. 

  • That's the thing with blogging...it's as individual as we are as people...who's to say what is too much or too little for you?

    As for Michael, *smirk* just another one of those signs they are growing up and coming into their own, huh?

  • I don't think you reveal too much and you are certainly a good mother.  Wish I had known how to do better when I was young, but  thank God, I did more right than I did wrong. 

  • I have been around here for most of that six years and I so enjoy your blog. I sure share a lot of myself on mine perhaps my children will be embarassed or not. Judi

  • Yes....much later please!!!

    Thank you for your input. Muchly appreciated.

    Sail on... sail on!!!!

  • hmmm, i wonder if i can use that line on my husband!! *giggles*

  • hee hee hee .... love me later!

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment