Month: November 2006

  •  So I'm not Kicking and Screaming, so Sue Me ...

    It looks like I'm coming into the 21st Century - ready or not.  We have television.  We don't have an antennae.  Okay, there's supposed to be something hardwired into the building, but the landlord is in Palm Springs for the next two weeks and I doubt she would consider my coming out of the Luddite shell to be a maintenance emergency. 

    Even if I could figure out how to hook up to the antennae, I'd still have to buy parts and that's just wrong since the best I could hope for is about three local channels anyway.

    I'm getting cable.  The conversation with the cable rep last night was probably recorded for training purposes.  She started talking about all kinds of digital enhancements, and special through-puts, when she got to the part about the microwave my eyes glazed over.  "Look, I don't want it to cook dinner, I just want to see the Arkansas/Florida game this weekend.  Is that too complicated?"

    For some reason she thought that was funny and undertook a second time to explain the technical side of the new millennium to me.  "I get it, it microwaves things, but  does.  it.  broadcast.  ESPN?"

    After that she started speaking slower and using smaller words. 

    They have a deal for people like me, who haven't had cable since the early days of Clinton's Presidency.  Three months free. 

    FINE - WILL   I   BE   ABLE   TO   SEE   THE   BALLGAME?

    After all that, she had the nerve to ask me "which ballgame?"  You mean, like, there's more than one?

    o_0

    Where do they import these people from?

    yeah, yeah, yeah - the kids want to see Rudolph and the Grinch.  And they will, AFTER the game. 

    Razorback

    I'm kind of hoping Adelphia sends Rupert from Jamaica, mon.  He came out last summer to hook up my Internet.  At that time his dreadlocks were approximately butt length.  I want to know if they've grown or he's gotten a trim.  Plus, he speaks my language. 

    Writing Update

    I was 22 words short of 60,000 when I stopped writing this morning.  The more I write the further away the end of this book seems to be!  Two more days.  I WILL do this thing. 

     

  • Early Christmas

    The boys and I have an early Christmas this year.  Yes, it's happening, and I want you to all sit down for this I know it will be a shock.  We have a new television.

    We lived for almost a year with no television at all, then Mary gave us a small television dvd combo. 

    Now, in large part thanks to another kind gift, we have a new "regular sized" tv that *I* can see from across the room.  So after three years, we are plugged back in to culture.    Merry Christmas to us!

    (I have not broken down to order cable.  I could only go so far at a time and then well, lets just say baby steps works better than stroke recovery.)

    Writing

    I didn't quite make 5,000 words yesterday.  I wrote 4,600 though. 

    I had an awkward moment yesterday when I suddenly realized that the book is boring.  Too much of it is semi-borrowed from my own life, which is ... boring.  There's nothing here that people would want to read about! 

    Despair.

    58,000 boring words. 

    Gloom.

    THEN, I realized that I had a truffle awaiting my attentions the moment I finished the chapter I was working on.  SO I finished it.  I had the kahlua truffle.  And it didn't matter anymore whether the book was exciting. 

    Probably, I shouldn't have started the day with so much caffeine.  Sure it enables me to write like a "Jack rabbit on crack" (Mary's phrase - she gets credit) but I can't say that all that speed improves the quality, and when the coffee wears off ... it's just not pretty.

    Four days left until the sun sets on November 2006.  I can do it, yes I can.

     

     

     

     

  • Big Winner

    I made it - and passed it.  I have written 53,433 words as of last night.  I still have four chapters to go until I reach "The End."  And a short time to get there if I'm to finish by November 30.  Today better be a 5,000 word day. 

     

  • Door Number Three ...

    Okay, that was fun.  I asked if you preferred Thanksgiving or Christmas and did ANYONE not choose door number 3?!?  (Yep, double checked, one person gave a straight answer which makes it 100% a nonconformist crew here.) The people who read my site totally rock. 

    The question came out of a discussion in my office yesterday about the relative merits of Thanksgiving versus Christmas and I was surprised that everyone who got involved in it had a strong opinion about which was better.  So I thought I see what you guys would add.

    My daily inspirational message contained this quote:

    "One must still have chaos in oneself to be able to give birth to a dancing star."

    -- Nietzsche

    There's a whole lot of star birthing going on right now, and you guys are right smack dab in the middle of it.

  •  Thanksgiving or Christmas?

     dv1772112    AA004840

    Which do you prefer?

    Parenting 202

    We began our shared responsibility thing this morning with Tucker in charge of breakfast.  He chose to make Sunshine Toast, which involves using a cookie cutter to make a hole in a slice of bread and toasting it in the skillet with an egg in the middle.  He did great cutting the hole in the bread, was okay with buttering the bread, but when it came to cracking the egg, he ran into a problem. 

    (I remember Michael having that same problem when he was learning to cook.  So I'll have to give Tucker some egg cracking practice.)  He also did well at flipping the toast without breaking the yolk.   Then he ran into another problem because he wanted to eat his breakfast and never mind that there were two more people to be fed.  "You can finish it Mom."

    This morning I did finish it up. But over the long term, he'll be asked to follow through more better than that!

    Word Count

    I'm almost there, folks.  Over the weekend I made it to 45,000 words.  I should get my winner's icon from NaNo before Thanksgiving is over.  But this year, I'm not shooting just to hit that magical 50,000 mark.  I'm shooting to FINISH the story.  So I have several more LONG days of writing ahead.  Due to the trauma with the theft earlier this month I had four entire days when I didn't add anything to my word count, so I'm averaging 3,000 words a day for the days that I have been able to do this. 

    Yeah, I'm starting to feel like a "real" writer. 

     

  • Sprinting for the Finish ...

    I'm hard after it working on the book.  I know I've neglected everyone terribly and I'm truly sorry, but I have to say that I will probably continue to be somewhat neglectful until I type "The End" which may or may not be on November 30.  I'm determined to tell the WHOLE story this year. 

    Anyway, after an early morning panic over issues with saving and recovering files I'm back into it.  Wanna peek? - a word of explanation, it is my habit to begin with a bit of straight dialogue and then go back and add the "beats" the "he said, she said, she arched her eyebrow" stuff that rounds it out and gives me that nice fat word count by the end of the day. 

    Emma, recently divorced, unemployed and down to her last $100 dollars gets the offer of a job, but on her way home she's involved in a traffic accident that leaves her with a broken arm and a totalled vehicle.  Her best friend Gwyn arrives unexpectedly to sort of check in on her and do what she can to help.  The night Gwyn arrives, they stay up very late acting like schoolgirls and drinking.  Chapter 15 begins the next morning.

    Chapter 15

    “Ow!  Dammit, whose idea was it to hang a piñata in the middle of the room?”

    Emma pulled the blanket down far enough to peek out at Gwyn fighting with the enormous (and far too brightly colored for a morning after drinking) donkey that had apparently just kicked her in the head as she stumbled to the kitchen.  “That would be you.”

    “Next time I have a brilliant idea like that, remind me that my brilliant ideas aren’t so brilliant after I sober up.”  Gwyn rummaged in the refrigerator.  “I know we bought orange juice.”

    “Yes, but the part that we didn’t use in those sunset things you were mixing, the kids drank with breakfast.”

    “They’ve had breakfast already?  What’s wrong with them getting up at the butt crack of dawn?”

    “They’ve been in school for the past hour.”

    “You people are weird.”  She turned to rummage the pantry.  “You got any pancake mix?” 

    “Center cabinet to the right.  Syrup is right next to it.”

    “This isn’t syrup.  This is some kind of sugar free stuff.”

    “It’s better for you,” Emma said.  She climbed out from the recliner and stretched. 

    “It will give me a headache.  We have to go out for breakfast.  Surely you people have IHOP or Denny’s or …. Ooooooh, Waffle House!”

    “We do, and Perkins and Village Inn.”

    “Hmmmmm, Village Inn is alright, but the thought of sugar free syrup requires a massive infusion of grease and bad coffee, so we’re doing Waffle House today.”

  • Parenting 202

    So I had the family meeting and announced the "new level of responsibility" that the kids will be assuming at home.  I let them know that they will each henceforth have two days a week.  On their day, they will be responsible for breakfast and dinner.  Not just cooking, they will be responsible for planning the menu, shopping for ingredients, and making the food.

    Michael was cool with that, Tucker wasted no time letting me know that I had lost my mind.

    "I don't know how to COOK!" he said.

    I was calm and prepared, "I'll help you with the things you don't know how to do, and you'll learn."

    Still, he felt terribly imposed upon and took himself off to his room to sulk.

    A half hour later he was back.  "So Mom, if I have $20 in my grocery budget, but I only spend say ... $15 ... what happens to the exta money."

    "You get to keep it and do whatever you want with it."

      "I hope you like Mac-n-Cheez!"

  • Fixin Links

    The link below seems to be broken in the HTML - it takes you not to the "What Kind of Villian Am I?" quiz but the "What Kind of Mage Am I?" quiz.  But if you go HERE you can indeed get the Villian Quiz. 

    And for those of you who were inadvertently led to the wrong quiz, I've gone to do the Mage Quiz so we can be on the same page.

  • Some things never change ...

    I took this quiz four years ago.  And had the wild hair to take it again just to SEE if it would come out the same ... yep.


    Take the Villain quiz.

  • Prayer Request

    My Nephew, Jordan, had an accident last month and broke his foot rather badly.  He's in a cast and has been making do with an awesome attitude.  Last night, he was helping to clear the table for supper when one of his crutches slipped.  He broke a glass when he fell and then fell on the broken glass.  He cut his left hand at the base of his thumb so badly that his mom says blood spurted across the room and splattered the wall. 

    He was sent to Little Rock to be evaluated by a team of experts at Arkansas Children's Hospital where they decided that it would be possible to sew the wound closed without additional surgery, although questions of ultimate nerve damage have yet to be answered. 

    Oh, and the kid is left-handed.  And his birthday is coming in 2 weeks.  He's not gonna be allowed anywhere NEAR a flaming birthday candle.

     

    Back at Work, and An Excerpt

    Okay, I'm back on track.  I've had encouraging things happen over the past 24 hours, no, they didn't catch the 'perp.'  But I can't put any more energy into the tantrum I've been having for the past week.  Conversation with US Bank leads me to believe that I'll be able to start paying bills again as early as tomorrow afternoon.  My word count is rising, and my boss is out of town for the rest of the week.

    Since all this schtuff over here is contributing to a horrible neglect of your Xanga sites, I offer my sincere apologies.  NaNo is always tough but this year is beyond tough.

    Did you catch that part about my boss being out of town?  We have a new guy on our team who'll be helping with website redesign.  Don't look now, but we're about two years out of date.  SO Chris, the new guy, calls my boss and our COO "the smart guys".  And I love that.  As in, "The Smart Guys" are going out of town, so what are WE gonna do all week.  Well, the smart guys answered that question yesterday with a resounding ... finish that web design so the site is ready to launch next Monday.  Suddenly we went from a leisurely looking week to an impossible looking week. 

    The COO handed us a compliment on his way out the door.  He said, "I am AMAZED by how much you guys get done in any given day.  I've never had a team that I could say, "how about ..." and before my thought as formed properly you've give it to me with options."  He went on to say that three weeks ago he'd have been blown away by us but anymore, he's a little leery of giving us an assignment because it seems that he's contributing to the creation of a monster. 

    Okay, whatever, you still have to pay a web developer cause I have other things keeping me up at night.  Just sayin'

    And I thought I'd post an excerpt from the book.  If you read the "Postcards" last summer, you have a rough idea of the story although it's changing as I'm writing it.  Becoming much much less true to my own life, but hopefully a better story.  Some parts I'm keeping the same.  My protagonist starts in a mythical Southern Indiana town, marriage is falling apart, files for divorce and now is in a U-haul truck headed to Colorado with a 7 yr old and an almost 10 year old. 

    Chapter 10

    “Can we stop at a McDonalds with a Play Place? I’m tired of being in the truck.” 

    Emma glanced over at Sawyer who was lying in his back with his feet in the air and his head hanging over the edge of the seat. 

    “Do you have any idea how dangerous that is?”

    “I’m wearing my seatbelt.”  He grinned at his mom and made a point of entwining  his foot with the restraint. 

    “Oh, yeah, that’ll help a lot if we’re in an accident.”  He twisted around until he was kneeling in the seat, although he did loop the shoulder restraint around his body.

    “Would you be sad if I was never born?”

    “Sawyer, if you would never born there would have been an empty place in my heart for my whole life.  I’m very glad I have you, and Mason.  I love my boys.”

    He nodded.  “I thought so.”

    “I need to have a rest stop.”  Mason said.

    “Oh, Baby, now?  We just passed one and I don’t see anything coming up soon.”

                “I can try to hold it but, yeah, now.  Right now would be good.” 

                Emma looked across where Mason was twisting his legs across each other and made the command decision to use the side of the highway.  This part of Missouri was comprised of long miles of open field and she didn’t think it mattered whether she pulled over now to let him out, or two miles down the road to clean him up. 

                Mason stood in the shadow of the van and relieved himself.  Sawyer couldn’t resist joining the fun. Oh, the joys of traveling ‘cross country with boys.  Twenty three miles further and she put on the blinker for a travel stop.

                “How come we’re stopping now?”

                “Because, Sawyer, Mom needs a rest stop, too.”

                “You should have gone when we did.”

                “Sawyer,” Mason chimed in, “Girls don’t do that!  They’re like dogs, they only go in places where they can mark their territory.”

                “What?  Mason where did you get that?”  Emma asked.

                Animal Planet, I saw a show all about how some animals, like dogs, like to mark territory.  And I figured that girls are animals too.”

                “Mason, that is amazingly wrong.”

                “No, Mom, he’s right.  Girls are animals.”  Sawyer said.

                “That’s not what I meant.  Of course, girls are animals.  All human beings are animals, but we’re also private, modest, and we aren’t all comfortable with peeing on the side of the road.”

                Mason and Sawyer gave each other a look that said as loudly as any words they might have spoken that they were awarding each other a medal for tolerating her obvious lack of intelligence. 

                “Okay, believe what you want.  I’m stopping.”

                While Emma indulged her eccentric taste for a clean restroom, the boys consulted the large map posted across the wall.  When she emerged they had it all figured out.

                “Here we are Mom, and look Colorado is only 18 bricks away from Columbia.  We should be there before dinner time.”

                “Boys, I think it’s gonna be a little further than that.”

                “Is the map wrong?”

                “No, the map is right, but each one of those bricks represents almost an hour of driving.  It’s gonna take us two more days to get to Colorado Springs.”

                “You’re kidding.”  Mason said, but not in a way that suggested he truly believed it was a joke.

                “No, that’s how far it is.”

                “You didn’t tell us it was on the other side of the world.”  Sawyer said.

                “It’s not that far.  It just takes a while to drive there.”

                “Is Daddy gonna be able to find us?”

                Emma sighed.  “He knows where we’re going; he can come and visit if he wants; and we have the cell phone plan that will let you talk to him every single day.”

                “There’s not that much to say so far.  We haven’t done anything except ride and ride and ride.”  Mason said.

                “I have something to say,”  Sawyer said.  “I’m gonna tell him that Mom says that she’s not a girl.  Cause girls are animals but Mom doesn’t do animal things so she’s not a girl.” 

                “Sawyer, your powers of logic are frightening.  You are going to be something else when you grow up.”

                “I’m gonna be an artist, cause then I won’t have to really work.”