November 27, 2006

  • Early Christmas

    The boys and I have an early Christmas this year.  Yes, it's happening, and I want you to all sit down for this I know it will be a shock.  We have a new television.

    We lived for almost a year with no television at all, then Mary gave us a small television dvd combo. 

    Now, in large part thanks to another kind gift, we have a new "regular sized" tv that *I* can see from across the room.  So after three years, we are plugged back in to culture.    Merry Christmas to us!

    (I have not broken down to order cable.  I could only go so far at a time and then well, lets just say baby steps works better than stroke recovery.)

    Writing

    I didn't quite make 5,000 words yesterday.  I wrote 4,600 though. 

    I had an awkward moment yesterday when I suddenly realized that the book is boring.  Too much of it is semi-borrowed from my own life, which is ... boring.  There's nothing here that people would want to read about! 

    Despair.

    58,000 boring words. 

    Gloom.

    THEN, I realized that I had a truffle awaiting my attentions the moment I finished the chapter I was working on.  SO I finished it.  I had the kahlua truffle.  And it didn't matter anymore whether the book was exciting. 

    Probably, I shouldn't have started the day with so much caffeine.  Sure it enables me to write like a "Jack rabbit on crack" (Mary's phrase - she gets credit) but I can't say that all that speed improves the quality, and when the coffee wears off ... it's just not pretty.

    Four days left until the sun sets on November 2006.  I can do it, yes I can.

     

     

     

     

Comments (7)

  • Yes...baby steps work...with everything. 

  • You'll get there...I know you will...

    Psst...a little secret...what you think is boring...someone else will find utterly facinating!

  • Ditto what Rainbow said...you may think it's boring but don't count on others to.

    My favorite sentence here was "THEN, I realized that I had a truffle awaiting my attentions the moment I finished the chapter I was working on."  Too, too funny and too true, for me.

  • You can do it. I have no tv. smile, Judi

  • Seems so long since I visited you I feel i can't quite remember what i knew about you but it seems you are writing a story, is this for a task, or are you hoping to publish. Sorry to be so long but you are on my list ,so i must have been in contact before ,just cannot place you. Old Age!!! Cheers Marj

  • I've decided ultimately and perhaps untimely to give up on NaNo. November is just a horrific time for me. When I think about trying to fit the time in I almost have a panic attack. I plan to finish my novel that I started over Winter break but right now . . . I just have a ton of other stuff to do. So that was fun while it lasted.

  • what the 2 and 3 people said

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment