November 28, 2006

  •  So I'm not Kicking and Screaming, so Sue Me ...

    It looks like I'm coming into the 21st Century - ready or not.  We have television.  We don't have an antennae.  Okay, there's supposed to be something hardwired into the building, but the landlord is in Palm Springs for the next two weeks and I doubt she would consider my coming out of the Luddite shell to be a maintenance emergency. 

    Even if I could figure out how to hook up to the antennae, I'd still have to buy parts and that's just wrong since the best I could hope for is about three local channels anyway.

    I'm getting cable.  The conversation with the cable rep last night was probably recorded for training purposes.  She started talking about all kinds of digital enhancements, and special through-puts, when she got to the part about the microwave my eyes glazed over.  "Look, I don't want it to cook dinner, I just want to see the Arkansas/Florida game this weekend.  Is that too complicated?"

    For some reason she thought that was funny and undertook a second time to explain the technical side of the new millennium to me.  "I get it, it microwaves things, but  does.  it.  broadcast.  ESPN?"

    After that she started speaking slower and using smaller words. 

    They have a deal for people like me, who haven't had cable since the early days of Clinton's Presidency.  Three months free. 

    FINE - WILL   I   BE   ABLE   TO   SEE   THE   BALLGAME?

    After all that, she had the nerve to ask me "which ballgame?"  You mean, like, there's more than one?

    o_0

    Where do they import these people from?

    yeah, yeah, yeah - the kids want to see Rudolph and the Grinch.  And they will, AFTER the game. 

    Razorback

    I'm kind of hoping Adelphia sends Rupert from Jamaica, mon.  He came out last summer to hook up my Internet.  At that time his dreadlocks were approximately butt length.  I want to know if they've grown or he's gotten a trim.  Plus, he speaks my language. 

    Writing Update

    I was 22 words short of 60,000 when I stopped writing this morning.  The more I write the further away the end of this book seems to be!  Two more days.  I WILL do this thing. 

     

Comments (11)

  • he he...ok, c'mon you gotta admit the cooking thing is funny!?!

    And yes, there is more than one game on! LOL

  • Arkansas has a team???

  • We need to see a pic of Rupert from Jamaica, mon. 

    Congrats on your book!

  • oh, dear. I'm one of those people who haven't the slightest idea what game you might be talking about... but then, if I cared, I'd know, wouldn't I? Well, I hope you get to see your game with the clearest reception.

  • I think people who think there is more than one game besides the SEC championship game need to have thier brain analyzed....and what have you been doing w/o cable before then.....or is that the maintenance problem. I'll be watching...though I'm torn as to whether I want Arkansas to win...instinct says Soooie but if FL wins then that will make Auburn go down in the rankings...b/c Ark beat Auburn...but Auburn beat FL...so if FL wins than wait....I'm confused....I need to consult with all those die hard fans out there....No, I'll be going for Ark. whether I like it or not....those people who gave birth to me are from there (ha ha)

  • Good job on the book!  Keep writing you will make it!!

  • No TV but you DO have internet

    Was watching an L&O show last night where the kids don't even DO television, so maybe THIS will become a hit in the cyberspace universe  Amazingly, with no promoing on my part it's # 3 in its category with over a 100 hits

    i'm in the process of converting my next novel into 1st person and hope to finish it, longhand/first-draft, by year's endif i can do that then your project should be a breeze  You're at the END now

  • Where do they import these people from?
    Techno heaven, which to some is, you guessed it, Techno Hell!

  • I just hooked up a tv to a metal radiator (yes, we still have them in some of the old apartments in Knoxville. Take the coaxial cable and wire or attach it to any large metal object in your place and you will probably get the local channels but, not ESPN. Go Hogs.

  • so NOW I am wondering... just what IS your language, anyway?!?!?!?
    o_O

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment