November 21, 2006

  • Door Number Three ...

    Okay, that was fun.  I asked if you preferred Thanksgiving or Christmas and did ANYONE not choose door number 3?!?  (Yep, double checked, one person gave a straight answer which makes it 100% a nonconformist crew here.) The people who read my site totally rock. 

    The question came out of a discussion in my office yesterday about the relative merits of Thanksgiving versus Christmas and I was surprised that everyone who got involved in it had a strong opinion about which was better.  So I thought I see what you guys would add.

    My daily inspirational message contained this quote:

    "One must still have chaos in oneself to be able to give birth to a dancing star."

    -- Nietzsche

    There's a whole lot of star birthing going on right now, and you guys are right smack dab in the middle of it.

Comments (6)

  • I don't think you can compare Thanksgiving versus Christmas and decide which is better.  They're both great holidays.  You can fight with your family equally well during both.    No problem.

  • I thought Emmet Smith was the dancing star. Or was that Gene Tierney?

  • Christmas hands down. I love shopping for that perfect present, Wrapping, baking, and cooking. I love the music, and just the feel in the air. The beauty of the lights, the smell of a fresh cut tree, the searching for said tree. It has to be the perfect one you know! Christmas eve is my favorite part. Candlelight service at church, singing Happy Birthday to Jesus. Then home for food and gathering with friends and family. The excitement in the children, who look like they will just burst if Christmas morning doesn't come soon.

    That's my argument and I'm sticking to it!

    Hugs

  • It's a tough call. One must have a certain degree of spiritual awareness to appreciate either. It would probably be easier not to screw up giving thanks though. *smile*

  • Happy Turkey Day.

  • Was Chanukah the right answer [8 days of gifts]???

    YOU quoting Nietzche is akin to ME doing a Martha Stewart-esque piece

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment