November 20, 2006

  •  Thanksgiving or Christmas?

     dv1772112    AA004840

    Which do you prefer?

    Parenting 202

    We began our shared responsibility thing this morning with Tucker in charge of breakfast.  He chose to make Sunshine Toast, which involves using a cookie cutter to make a hole in a slice of bread and toasting it in the skillet with an egg in the middle.  He did great cutting the hole in the bread, was okay with buttering the bread, but when it came to cracking the egg, he ran into a problem. 

    (I remember Michael having that same problem when he was learning to cook.  So I'll have to give Tucker some egg cracking practice.)  He also did well at flipping the toast without breaking the yolk.   Then he ran into another problem because he wanted to eat his breakfast and never mind that there were two more people to be fed.  "You can finish it Mom."

    This morning I did finish it up. But over the long term, he'll be asked to follow through more better than that!

    Word Count

    I'm almost there, folks.  Over the weekend I made it to 45,000 words.  I should get my winner's icon from NaNo before Thanksgiving is over.  But this year, I'm not shooting just to hit that magical 50,000 mark.  I'm shooting to FINISH the story.  So I have several more LONG days of writing ahead.  Due to the trauma with the theft earlier this month I had four entire days when I didn't add anything to my word count, so I'm averaging 3,000 words a day for the days that I have been able to do this. 

    Yeah, I'm starting to feel like a "real" writer. 

     

Comments (13)

  • I hope you are planning on doing a book about your parenting experiences. Cheers

  • pfff...darlin'  you've been a real writer longer than most people even realize.

    i will never forget the look on your face that night at dinner when you said, "guess what...." 
    bahahaaa...i'm sure the look on mine was as classic 

    as for me?  i gave up on nano this year.  or i suppose i gave up on me, i guess. 
    my computer's giving me fits and my attitude is oh, soooo unpleasant.
    [i know i KNOW...imagine that.]

    so to you?  **salud!**
    i'm proud of you!

    and tell tucker i want my breakfix man!

  • I know how he feels.  I'm always nevermind the two more people that need to be fed.    And opps...I'm the MOM.  You're doing GREAT on your word count!  Keep up the good work!

  • Oh...I forgot to answer Thanksgiving or Christmas.

    My answer is Easter. 

  • Rah to you! Finish that story!!

  • Yule.

    I'm not going to finish Nano this year...too much going on in what I laughingly refer to as my real life....

  • I'm sorry is there a third choice?? LOL! Halloween is better than both!

    Congrats on the writing...keep on keeping on...you're almost there!

  • You are my hero!

    I like Thanksgiving better because we don't celebrate Christmas at all.

  • It's a hard choice. I hate the Christmas season but I love Christmas day. And I love to eat on Thanksgiving but I get no presents. Can we have like a Thanksmas day? That's what I choose: Thanksmas day :D

  • Brefkiss Brefkiss. I want brefkiss. Don't waanna miss it on Thanksgiving or Christmas. Mike

  • none o' the above.
    the most memorable date for me will always be the fourth of April.

  • Thanksgiving is the only truly, sincerely and deeply meaningful holiday for me.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment