Month: February 2006

  • Ouch


    The shopping center where the business I work for is located also has a really really nice fitness center.  They are hoping to sell memberships and hoping that we will be able to give them leads, so a representative came by and offered me a free trial membership.  Hey, I'll take that.  I want to do a little toning, a little shaping, a little getting healthy ...


    I didn't realize until this morning that I really meant a LITTLE.


    Like, can't I just walk around in my cute little gym shoes with the color coordinated towel around my neck and then come home happy?


    I did eight minutes on an elliptical machine.  That's all.  Eigh minutes.  (it was 5:30 this morning because I had this idea that I'd get up and go early and that the sacrifice of leaving my bed would somehow cause the weight loss fairy to wave her wand and grant me three wishes.  (Smaller belly, smaller thighs, smaller arms)  THAT's three wishes ...


    Okay, the weight loss fairy must have thought that was just too amusing because I'm pretty sure that the wand she was waving is what caused me to cough like I'm trying to quit smoking and turned my knees to jello.  An hour and a half later, I'm about done with the coughing.  I'm not quite recovered from the humiliation of limping my wheezing self out of there in full sight of at least 30 people who were doing some serious working-out.


    I would have crawled to the dressing room but I didn't want to dirty up my cute little exercise pants. 


    "The funny thing about caring what other people think is that if we all knew how little time other people spent thinking about us, we'd never worry about it.  Trust me, as you read this right now, the chances are that nobody is thinking about you.  Sort of brings a smile to your face doesn't it?  That's because you know it's true." - From "Start Late, Finish Rich" by David Bach


    I sure hope that's true. 

  • New Hours


    We have new hours at work.  Instead of being open 10-6 M-F and 10-3 on Sat - we now have to be open 9-7 M, Th, Fr - 10-6 on T and Wed, and 9-3 on Sat.  That adds 7 hours to our work week, but the company doesn't want to pay overtime, so we have to take long lunches to keep our hours below 40 per week.  I'm not happy.


    Oh, and there is work we have to do before we open the store, so my new effective hours are 8am -7:20ish. on those long days.

  • Why Middle Aged Women Shouldn't Drink


  • "Life is a dream for the wise, a game for the fool, a comedy for the rich, a tragedy for the poor."


         I love that quote, and partly because of where I am in it.  I have been teaching my boys that life is a game.  You look for the rules and then play within the rules to either win or lose.  I see people every day who try to go outside the rules.  They think they can compromise their way to a better position,  that they will be loved if they wear the right clothes, and they can borrow their way out of debt.


         Oh they will say they don't believe those things, people have an amazing capacity to rationalize and deceive themselves.  But look at their behavior and you'll see what they really believe.  I've always thought Shakespeare was making a joke when he had Polonius advise his son, Laertes, "to thine own self be true."  I have never seen someone act long term in contrast with what they truly believe.  If you believe that family is important, you may make a momentary compromise from time to time, but over the long haul, you are there giving yourself to the people you value the most.  If you believe that you are innately worthy of love, you don't have to clothe yourself with costumes designed to flatter your body and distract attention from your self.  If you know that wealth comes from playing by the financial rules of life and isn't ever just handed to you, you don't think that you can borrow it, inherit it, or marry into it.  Wealth comes more from who you are than what you have. 


        Ah, yes, you say, she is sneakily working her way back around to money again.  Nothing sneaky about it.  I want to share a conversation I had with Tucker.  He asked me some questions about money.  And specifically, he was wanting to talk about the difference between Momi and Daddy's approach to money.  He started, "Before you got divorced, did you think about that Daddy is rich and you'd be poor?"


         So we talked about what does it mean to be rich and how do you know when someone is rich?  He said, "Well, Daddy works just like you do, but he makes a lot more money so he's rich."  Imagine that spoken in the tones of a nine year old who can't believe that Mom is too dumb to figure out such a basic principal.


         I gave him this illustration, "Let's say my friend makes $200 a day.  But every day she spends it on the way home, she stops at a restaurant to pick up dinner for $35, gets a new pair of shoes for $63, and pays her electric bill which this month is $102.  And the next day the same thing happens.  She buys dinner, a new DVD, and pays her credit card.  Maybe on day three she doesn't spend at all because on day 4 she has a $400 car payment due.  At the end of the week she earned $1000 but she has no money in the bank.


         "Now let's say Momi makes $70 a day.  (Momi always gets to be the hero in my little stories.)  On the way home, she picks up a pound of hamburger and some spaghetti noodles and makes dinner for less than $5.  She knows that she doesn't need new shoes so she doesn't stop at the mall to even look.  And she knows that the electric bill ($103) and the phone bill ($35) are due this week and she has no credit card debt or car payment so she puts $65 in the bank.   Tomorrow she does the same thing.  On Friday, she writes the checks for the bills, and has $187 left over to put into her savings account where it will earn a little interest and grow over time.. 


         "Which one of these two people is richer at the end of the week?  The one who made $1000 and spent $1000?  Or the one who made $350 but saved $187?"


         It's a matter of rules and playing within them.  The Momi in the story knows that it's not what you make, it's what you keep that determines whether you win the money game.  And there is more peace of mind from having $187 in the bank than a new pair of shoes and a DVD.  I'm not suggesting that I never buy "luxuries" and my kids certainly know that with their games and toys and so forth.  And God knows I buy more shoes than I really need.  But I don't ever violate that weekly savings rule.  If I don't have enough money in my account to write that check and still make my weekly deposit into savings, I don't buy it.  It's just that simple.


         I showed Tucker my weekly "spending plan" for things like groceries and gas and shoes and movies.  And he knows that a couple weeks of spending less than we have in that account will mean a week when we can spend a little "extra" and get an oil change or go see a movie. 


         We talk a lot around here about values and goals and how you need to be honest with yourself about what your values are in order to acheive your goals.  Because you are gonna do what you value, you can't help it.

  • happy dance



    The Federal Income Tax Refund was deposited into my account this morning.  I've already moved the money to the various savings accounts, spent a little, and now my checking balance is back to $80.  But for one brief shining moment, I had a couple of Zeroes there. 


    Yeah - there's a chance I'm obsessed with money.  I don't think that's really true.  I'm obsessed with reaching certain goals and money is the only train that can get me there. 


    I got some Dove Promises for Valentine's Day.  I love the wrappers on these things.  This time my wrappers kept repeating themselves.  "You know what?  You look good in red."  Hmmmmmmm - it remains to be seen whether I can take a hint, but I do like red.


  • I'm a little snot - I know. 


    I took the blogs on credit from last week to my class tonight.  Oh, I cleaned them up and took out the line about how the class was a waste if time.  And I gave them to the instructor beforehand.  Offered that if he thought they would be useful, I'd make copies for the class.  He read through them and then said that the information contained in them was better than what we had in our books and that we'd be using my articles for the class.  He kept saying, "Your friend who wrote this has a really good grasp of ..." and so I just sort of let him go on assuming that they were authored by someone else. 


    Oh yes, I'm a happy person.


    I've been stressing on work.  We've had some changes in the schedule that are rough for me.  We've had some new policies that I don't like.  And we've had some interference from the higher ups in our day to day operations (when we'd do much better if they'd just leave us alone.)  Well, today I have learned that 1) the same Regional Director of Operations that everyone had warned me would be rude and disrespectful to me, has asked my boss, Nicole whether I'd be open to being a manager. and 2) they are planning to pay me a bonus that I'm technically not eligible for. 


    I'm NOT motivated by people threatening to write me up if things don't go a certain way.  All that does is make me want to quit.  But I am VERY motivated by praise and money. 


    So now you know the secret, tell me I'm wonderful, give me nice shining sparklies and I'm all yours ...  


    ~sigh~  It's so sad to realize that I'm stereotypical. 


     


  • And Since We're On the Opinion Page ...


    This survey is completely scientific. Despite the mind-boggling complexity of mankind, the billions of distinctly different personalities found on Earth can easily be divided into seven simple categories that correspond to the five Platonic solids, a pseudo polyhedron, and whatever the hell a d100 is. The results of this quiz should be considered not only meaningful but also infallible, and pertinent to your success as a fully realized individual. If you feel the results of this examination do not match your perceived personality, you should take whatever drastic measures are needed to cram your superego back into proper alignment, as described by the quiz results.

    I am a d10

    Ah, the d10! While you aren't actually a true regular polyhedron, you are the only die that makes logical sense--metrically speaking. Chances are, others see you as over-analytical or a goody-goody. While that may be true, you also have a gift for patience and tolerance. Growing up you probably had a calculator wristwatch that you never really needed to use (since you were faster on your own), and you probably aced all your classes (except for gym). You use the metric system almost exclusively, but are able to quickly convert in mid-conversation for the sake of your backwards Imperalist friends. You've coded in at least two different programming languages, and have created more original gaming systems than you'll ever admit. You're generally not a show-off, but you do take pride in being called either a geek or a nerd.


    Take the quiz at dicepool.com

  • Personal Computing


    "It's really cold here ... Are we in Colorado or Canada? ... You Might have taken a wrong turn you know ... Maybe you and Natasha got mixed up on the plains and went a bit far north, God knows you can't read road signs when you don't wear your glasses, and you never wear your glasses ... They DO both start with a C ... are you sure?  ... Well, I think we're in Canada ... it's cold enough ... did I mention that I'm cold?"


    So for the past seven months, I haven't been able to use my webcam or file share through Yahoo because my computer thought it was in CANADA.


    Next time, I want a computer with less personality.


     

  • A Matter of Interest


    My FICO score is a 640, what does that mean?  Yeah I know I'm still on it.  But this is another bit that anyone who is thinking about a major purchase needs to know. 


    Your FICO score is the main component in determining the amount of interest you will pay for a home or auto loan as well as whether your credit cards are charging you 6, 12, 18 or 21%.  I don't know how the credit cards figure it out, but I have a chart that will help navigate the home and auto loan part.


    FICO scores range from 350 to 850.  The lowest I've ever seen was a 458 and the highest was an 825.  The guy with 458 doesn't have to worry about interest, he won't be getting a loan anywhere.  The guy with 825 will be offered credit for whatever he wants and will be able to "shop" for the best rates.  But remember that everytime someone inquires its a small "ding" on your score, so I recommend that you get and print out the full copy of your credit report including the reports and scores from all three agencies and take that with you if you are applying for a home loan.  For an auto loan, they usually don't look at all three scores so ask in advance who they use.  If a lender says it uses the "Beacon" score, that's Equifax.  Empirica means TransUnion.  The third option is the Experian/Fair Isaac Model, that's Experian.


    Your score will fall into a range.  The person with the lowest score in that range and the person with the highest score in that range are offered the same interest rate, but as you will see, if you are in a low or mid-range group, it will pay you well to put off that purchase until you can raise your score a bit. 

































    FICO Score


    30 year


    fixed-rate


     mortgage


    Four-year
    auto loan


    720-850


    6.0%


    5.1%


    700-719


    6.1%


    5.9%


    675-699


    6.7%


    8.0%


    620-674


    7.8%


    10.5%


    560-619


    8.9%


    14.4%


    500-559


    9.5%


    15.8%


     


     Regardless of the current interest rates, you can figure out what you are dealing with because the difference between the lowest and highest scores will remain a constant.  That's about 3.5 points on a home loan and more than 10 points on a four year auto loan.


     


    To convert this into cold, hard cash: on a four year $20,000 car loan, we're talking about paying an extra $103 a month if your FICO score is in the 500-559 range rather than the top range of 720+.  That's $1,236 a year, which comes to $4,944 over the four years of the loan.  I think those are 4,944 good reasons to care about your FICO score.

  • Raising the Score


    The second of my money management classes was a major disappointment.  I had hopes after the first session that this would be a much better use of my time than I had feared, but Wednesday night was worse than I'd imagined it might be.  The instructor was ill prepared and gave information that was just flat out wrong.  I won't go into the details of the bad advice dished out to my class, but I will give you the true and correct information. 


    The bottom line on improving your financial position is to improve your credit score.  More and more your economic life and opportunities are either opened or closed by what that number says about you.  Looking for employment last Fall, almost every place I applied asked for authorization to check my credit score.  Since I have a bankruptcy on my record, that was a major hurdle for me, and is probably why I had such difficulty getting call backs even from entry-level positions.


    But even after Bankruptcy it is possible to raise your score if you know what goes into the score and if you make wise decisions handling your money.  All three credit reporting agencies (Experian, Transunion, and Equifax) use a formula created by the Fair Isaacs Corporation (FICO) to reduce your entire financial history down to one number.  The number will vary from agency to agency because some information is reported to only one of the three while other information is transmitted to all.  But the same formula is used by all three agencies so the same behavior that will raise your score in one place works across the board. 



    • 35% - record of paying on time
      The credit reporting agencies don't care whether you pay off your balance every month, they want to know whether you pay on time.  That means that it is important to take note of due dates and mail out the payment with sufficient time to reach the processing center.  Or since we are all internet savvy here, log in and make that payment online at least 24 hours before it's due.  You absolutely HAVE to do this.  And dating the check for the 1st when you mail it on the 8th doesn't cut it. 
    • 30% - total balance owed to credit cards and other debt compared to total available credit.
      With this one, think 30/30 - it's 30$ of your score and the balance you carry on ALL your debt should be less than 30% of your available credit.  Above 30% and it begins to hurt you.  Right at 30% is neutral and below that limit it will help to raise your score.
    • 15% Length of history of Accounts.
      Old Money is good and Old Credit is better.  If you have a card you've had open for 15 years, keep it even if there are some "dings" there from old late payments.  Closing the card won't remove the dings from your credit but it will shift the balance to "newer" credit and that isn't helpful or worth as much.  A quick way to raise your score would be to see whether your parents or grandparents have a credit card they would be willing to add you onto as an authorized buyer.  You never have to have the card in your posession or make a charge with it, but as an authorized buyer you will "inherit" your parent's credit history.  A caveat, make sure your parents have a good record with that card before you take that step.
    • 10% - New Credit and Recent applications for Credit.
      It doesn't hurt much to apply for one card or one loan.  But if you have a dozen "hits" on your credit report within a short time, that doesn't look to the credit agencies like you're shopping around, it looks like you're getting ready to go on a spending spree that you may or may not be able to afford.  That was an issue when I was a loan officer because you want to encourage people to shop around and find the best deal they can get for themselves, but if every stop on the shopping trip results in a lower score, it's not helpful.  One way around that would be to go online and pull your credit report WITH FICO SCORES from all three agencies.  Then when you meet with a mortgage officer tell them NOT to pull your credit that you will provide them with a copy of the report in order to make their initial determination.  In my experience, load officers will work with you on that because they need you to have the highest score possible to get that best rate.  Now if you have a 780 it probably doesn't matter, but a 700 or 670 and every ding will lower you to the next tier in the line-up and that hurts.
    • 10% - Mix of Credit and Installment Accounts
      The bank will be much happier if they see that you have both kinds of debt on your record.  They want to know how you handle budgeting for both kinds of payments, fixed and variable.  The rule of thumb when I was a loan officer was that you wanted to see no more than two credit cards per open installment account. 

    So ideally, you have two credit cards and a car loan.  The credit cards are each 20 years old and have zero late payments, your combined balance on the two cards is less than 30% of the combined credit.  Your car loan is within your means and payments have been made in a timely manner. 


    You are entitled to a free credit report from each of the agencies once per year.  You will have to pay for your FICO score.  So my recommendation is to get that credit report and see if there are any mistakes you can "fix".  After you've got it cleaned up (and as many as 79% of all consumers have at least one thing wrong on their report from something as minor as they haven't updated your address from your last move, to accounts that have been fraudulently opened in your name) then go back in a couple months and pay for your FICO score which usually comes with a "free" copy of the credit report.


    HOW TO CONTACT


    Equifax:  www.equifax.com
                  To order your credit report call: 800-685-1111
                  Or Write: PO Box 740241, Atlanta, GA 30374-0241
                  To report fraud, call: 800-525-6285/TDD 800-224-0056
                  and Write: PO Box 740241, Atlanta, GA 30374-0241


    Experian: www.experian.com
                   To order your credit report call: 888-EXPERIAN (397-3742)
                    or Write: PO Box 2104, Allen, TX 75013
                   To report Fraud, call: 888-EXPERIAN (397-3742)/TDD 800-972-0322
                   and write: PO Box 9532, Allen, TX 75013


    Trans Union: www.transunion.com
                  To order your credit report call: 800-916-8000
                  or Write: PO Box 1000, Chester, PZ 19022
                  To report fraud, call: 800-680-7289/TDD 877-553-7803
                  and Write: Fraud Victim Assistance Division, PO Box 6790, Fullerton, CA 92634-6790