April 28, 2004

  • Grossology


    The Louisville Science Center has a new exhibit, Grossology.  It's all about the science behind things like burps, farts, poop, pee, boogers, and vomit.  The kids loved it, of course.  My favorite part was this slide in the shape of a large intestine.  The kids came down through a rectum and landed on a brown pad that looked like poop.  The kids' favorite was a giant nose into which they could shoot Ping Pong ball "dust".  When the nostrils got full, the proboscis "sneezed" these snot colored balls back out all over the room.  Yeah - it was worth the price of admission. 


    We're working hard around here, and I do mean that WE are working.  I've had the kids helping to pack things.  A friend pointed out that not only are they old enough to be helpful, but involving them will make it their move as well.  Otherwise, they are just luggage being dragged along on my move.  I hadn't thought of it that way, but it's true!  And its a lot nicer to give them a box and let them be responsible for packing their videos and books.


    We all have too many books.  So far, I've packed about half the books in my house, and they fill over 20 boxes.  No larger than the U-Haul small size box so I don't hurt myself lifting them, but still, that's a lot of books.  Our house isn't a house, it's a library!  And of course, last night at bedtime, Michael realized that the book he really really wanted to read - was one he'd packed that afternoon.  The joys of moving, right?


    I have until May 29 to get everything into storage here in Indiana.  When we moved here from Minnesota, I planned it out in a leisurely fashion, pack X number of boxes per day, adding to to X number per week, and by move day, it will all come together.  Only the last week of that packing time, I got flu and threw up (see Grossology above) so much that I couldn't stand up straight.  Lesson learned - I'm setting myself a schedule that should result in everything packed up and mostly moved by May 15.  It's my plan that for the last two weeks we're here, we'll have nothing but our beds, our clothes, and paperplates. 


    But of course, in addition to packing up the house, there are regular chores which must be done.  Today, I'll be mowing the yard.  I have to.  We had all that rain last week, and the grass is looking like it's had a major shot of miracle grow.  The dog doesn't want to go outside because it's beginning to resemble a jungle and she's a little concerned about what kind of wildlife might be lurking behind those daylillies. 


    And as long as I'm listing things to complain about, remind me to take DUSTING more seriously in the future.  The more I clean off these shelves to pack the worse my allergies are getting.  (See Grossology above).  Entire warrens of dust bunnies have set up their own systems of government in here and I never knew!  So even before I start mowing, I'm already having issues. 


    That's about all the whining I can stand to hear from myself in one morning. 


    Would you like to see a poem?  Not one I wrote, but one from a poet I'm coming to appreciate more and more and I become more familiar with her work.  - Naomi Shihab Nye was born of an American mother and an Palestinian father.  Her work consistently reveals the poignancy and paradoxes that emerge from feeling an intimate relationship with two different cultures.  She was born in St. Louis, has lived in Jerusalem, and lives now with her family in San Antonio.  All three places weave in and out of her writing.  - From the biographical notes at the back of Roger Housden's Ten Poems to Open Your Heart


    Kindness


    Before you know what kindness really is
    you must lose things,
    feel the future dissolve in a momnet
    like salt in a weakened broth.
    What you held in your hand,
    what you counted and carefully saved,
    all this must go so you know
    how desolate the landscape can be
    between the regions of kindness.
    How you ride and ride
    thinking the bus will never stop,
    the passengers eating maize and chicken
    will stare out the window forever.


    Before you learn the tender gravity of kindness,
    you must travel wher the Indian in a white poncho
    lies dead by the side of the road.
    You must see how this could be you,
    how he too was someone
    who journeyed through the night with plans
    and the simple breath that kept him alive.


    Before you know kindness as the deepest thing inside,
    you must know sorrow as the other deepest thing.
    You must wake up with sorrow.
    You must speak to it till your voice
    catches the thread of all sorrows
    and you see the size of the cloth.


    Then it is that only kindness makes any sense anymore,
    only kindness that ties your shoes
    and sends you out into the day to mail letters and purchase bread,
    only kindness that raises its head
    from the crowd of the world to say
    It is I you have been looking for,
    and then goes with you everywhere
    like a shadow or a friend.


    Kindness - I love what she has done in this poem.  She plays back and forth between the kindness we long to receive and the kindness we must understand.  I have found over the past six months that the world is a much kinder place than I realized.  I have a place here, and it's a good place.  I've also found that I am kin - I have a relationship with others that I had missed before.  Kindness.  I'll keep thinking about this for a while. 


    I hope you all have an excellent day.


    Terri

Comments (11)

  • Why you be mowin da lawn? You be movin right? mow just around the front and the house to keep the snakes at bay and let the new owners and mother nautre have the rest!!!

    Focus... focus... focus!!!

    sail on... sail on!!!

  • Wow, it's been so long since I've stopped by. Bad Faith!

    I want an actual library in a home one day. It's one of my writerly dreams.

    Faith

  • boogers!

  • Grossology sounds great... I particularly enjoy how it breaks down the social barriers of propriety with regards to something as fundamental as the human body. One of the more illuminating books I've read, some years back, was the RE/Search Guide to Bodily Fluids, which had about the same effect on me as Grossology had on the kids...

  • To know kindness you have to have a tantrum and have someone interrupt their leisurely packing to scrape you up of the floor...

  • I recently debooked my house and it feels great.  Lots of empty bookshelves in my study to fill up again. 

  • Too true. Too true.

  • That's a wonderful poem....thanks for sharing.  I've missed your posts. 

  • "...A little more than kin, and less than kind" (Hamlet i.2.)  I've always loved that quote, and all the implications therein.  Wonderful poem following that train of thought!

    WTG on your packing!  And no -- of COURSE you can't have enough books

    ROFL on your dust bunny governments.  But not to fear -- even disruption of every mayorality on your back-shelves will not bring down the kingdom; I assure you their One Lord lives right in my house -- and I have no intention of disturbing his realm, no sirreee.

  • There are books called Grossology.  One of them is a science experiment one. Another has plastic moulded barf on the cover.  Little boys like them

  • LOVE the poem...

    this talk of gross stuff made me think of those jelly beans in the Harry Potter stories.  eeeuw.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment