April 29, 2002

  • An interesting thing happened while I was out of town . . .


    Have you ever had a really great vacation?  One of those magical weeks where everything goes right and you keep pinching yourself to make sure you are alert and enjoying every moment?  Me neither.  But, I came pretty close last week. 


    Then I came home.  Now don't get me wrong.  I'm not whining and moaning here.  I'm just saying that coming home was not the peaceful landing of our craft in a calm port.  Our cats apparently had way too much time on their hands while we were gone.  They got into my yarn basket (quiltnmomi is also crochetmomi, cross-stitchmomi, scrapbookmomi, and "almost finished a project once" momi).  There was yarn strung from one end of our house to the other.  From the looks of things, they got into some catnip and invited a few feline friends over for fun and frolic on the furniture. 


    In addition to the yarn, there was enough fur on the floor to make a coat.  I don't know where it came from.  Both my cats seemed to still be covered.


    My phone was dead.  Well, actually, its been sort of on again and off again since we got here.  I have no idea what's going on, but it isn't just me, it's my neighbor too.  I know because she's paranoid that "they" are coming to get her and when the phone goes dead she sends one of her kids over to see if my phone is dead too, (and have me use my cell phone to call in the problem.)  Her kids have gotten a lot of exercise today.


    When the phone finally came on I discovered that I had 8 messages on my voice mail from my mortgage company.  Now, I'm a good customer and they occasionally call me with offers of a credit line for home improvement or some such thing, but generally not more than once or twice a month.  So 8 calls over a period of 4 days didn't sound good.  It wasn't. 


    Somehow our account was flagged for their collections department.  Not because we have EVER been late on a house payment or anything like that.  No, their computer said that I had no proof of insurance.  I'm sure that would surprise my insurance agent.  Further, their computer indicated that I owed money for a "forced" insurance policy.


    I tried to explain to the person in collections that a mistake had been made.  We do have insurance, the same insurance that we've had for all the years we've lived here.  I'm not one to complain about immigration, I take a "more the merrier" view of immigrants.  But, I do think that if you are going to have a job working in a telephone center, you should speak the language of the people you are expected to communicate with.  I'm probably offending someone now, so let me just say that you're gonna have to get over it.  When I call my mortgage company, I want to speak to someone who can understand me.


    Finally, I persuaded her to transfer me to the insurance department.  Where a very helpful English speaking person was able to see the problem and correct it.  I was advised that it usually takes about 24 hours for the system to update and that I could call back tomorrow afternoon or Wednesday morning to verify that the problem was solved.


    This afternoon, I got two more calls from collections.  On the last call I'll admit I was a little abrupt.  When I was asked, "When can we expect you to take care of this delinquency."


    I said, "You can't." 


    "But, Mrs. Verrette, this is your responsibility." 


    "No, Miss collections agent, this is a mistake made by someone in your company who incorrectly entered insurance data, this is not my responsibility." 


    "Mrs. Verrette, I cannot end this call without some arrangement for how you are going to pay this."


    It was too much temptation.  I hung up.  See?  You can end the call without a payment arrangement.


    I'm compulsive about paying my bills.  I pay everything in advance of when it's due "just in case."  I get a thrill putting a little extra payment on my principle - I feel like I'm scoring points against the big dogs who are trying to wring all that interest out of my hide.


    After this afternoon, I can say that I cannot imagine what it would be like to live with creditors calling and demanding payment.  I have friends who struggle with their bills as a result of medical expenses or lost employment.  I only had collectors after me for one afternoon and I was ready to use all those words that Zoodom has taught me. 


    Now, I need a vacation.  I'm up for Branson, or Florida, or Atlanta, or even Fugitive's house (she's finally learned to cook in her maturity )  I kind of wish I hadn't been so efficient in unpacking my bags. 

Comments (25)

  • I agree on the immigrant issue.  While I'm all for free access to the country I despise people who hire an incompentant employee.  Not that being forgein makes you incompentant but not speaking the language does.

  • I have to agree with the language issue too, along with the rest of this...how can you possibly resolve important legal matters with a person who can't speak the same language? By all means, allow immigrants to come, work, ect...but if they can't speak the language, don't let them waste people's time on the phone trying to explain things to them.

    Love the hanging up too...sounds just like my response to that statement...

  • Welcome home? 

    I hang up on them too...my mortgage company starts calling on the second of the month if they haven't posted the payment yet.  I've taken to sending my payment to them with USPS tracking on it, so I know they've received it.  Then I give the fools the tracking number and tell them to call me back when they find the payment.  Of course, they say they can't do that!  What?  They can only call me if they lose it? 

  • Yipes!  Welcome Home!  lol

  • go back on vacation...

    sail on... sail on!!!!

  • I agree so much about people speaking the language. I had a similiar experience with my mortgage company and dog gone it's hard to try to talk to someone with only a partial understanding of the language. When you must deal with people on the phone please speak english.

    I love your response to them harrasing you too. Priceless hehe

  • Grrrrrr. This made me angry just reading it! One persons goof could mess up all you've worked for. Im totally amazed at how some institutions can feel that THEY can NEVER make a mistake. Banks and the goverment being the worst.. now this too.. .. I gotta cool down here. lol

  • Love this blog....and so true....I am the same way about paying bills....also much better at dealing with people over the phone....when you do finally get a person instead of a recording you like them to speak English......it is such an automated world.....

    anyway, enjoyed this...you are one of my favorite reads

  • That stinks!  Glad you hung up on them, they can be so infuriating.  Although maybe some of those words would have felt better to say.  You can come visit in TX!

  • You are most welcome, my Dear.  Thanks for reading my little essay.  I have reworked it somewhat....have not gotten around to editing yet...it usually takes me several drafts to get it just right.  I had  a 1200 word limit to describe a life changing experience and/or personal ephiphany writtten through the lense of time...anywho...it was fun to do....

    and of course it is good practice....the essay form...I am a bit rusty..

    Blessings.....

  • thanxs for the luck..i'll need it. hey ur page resembles that of fugitive's

  • Stayin' one up on the man (as told by GudKarma's banner)

    Way to go!  LOL

  • We are glad you are back!!  I know you had fun at your sisters!  You guys sound like lots of fun!

  • ARGH!! I really dislike those who call and act rather superior about their job of doing what they do when they have no clue!!!!

  • ah just get up and go!!

  • Ugh, I hate collections yuck.  I had them call me up because of a mistake the bank made but the bank refused to fix it for me so my credit rating went down the drain.

    Glad you had a good vacation though

  • Well, I must say this sounded a lot more amusing since it wasn't happening to ME.  I really don't like it when I call a HELP DESK and get someone who doesn't speak English.  If I'm the CALLER I usually say thanks, hang up and call again hoping to get someone who speaks English.  

    At any rate, I really enjoyed the blog.  Thanks for sharing it in such a humorous way. 

  • Well - Come on Back!!! 

    I can make down the couch - it will be fun!

  • You didn't even mention your husband dressing up like Hercules and doing a stripease in the middle of Fugitive's living room to Billy Idol tunes.  

  • Collections agents are evil.  They are EEEEEEEEEVIL, I TELL YOU!!!  I've hung up on them numerous times.  I've yelled and screamed at them.  I've wasted their time for HOURS explaining to them my entire sob story.  I once told one lady that I was thinking of killing myself cuz I owed so much!  She stayed on the line and tried to talk me out of it, muhahahahahaha!!

  • You dropped a note and asked how I found your site.  I found it scrolling down the "featured content" list on the Xanga home page. 

  • It's all the cat's fault.

  • Gees, are you sure you weren't talking to a computer?  Spot

  • I NEVER answer calls from the mortgage company... I'm a BAAAD boy.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment