April 30, 2002

  • Where did they get that idea . . .


    This morning Tucker was walking around the house flinging his arm out in a whimsical parody of a Nazi salute.  So I asked him, "Honey, what are you doing?"


    He looked at me like I was a couple _______ short of a _________ and said, "I'm pointing."


    "Why are you pointing, baby?"


    "Because I have a finger, Momi."


    It's been like that all day on the hill.  Surreal.  The phone went out this morning, and since I use a dial up modem, that meant that I was not only deprived of the opportunity to entertain myself by placing phone calls to my mortgage company, I couldn't read my SIR list either.  AAAAArrrgh.  no good thing can come of this.


    I decided to make the best of the situation.  We really needed milk anyway.  So I stopped off at my neighbor's and asked her if she wanted to run to the store with me.  Of course, her phone was out too, and we needed SOME opportunity to chat or we'd both explode.  So off we went.  Got the milk.  As we were pulling back into her driveway, Michael said, "Hey, my socks are wet!"


    The dog had gotten into the back end of the van with the groceries and chewed the lid off the milk.  (Not my precious Simone, no, this was the bad, bad, neighbor dog in standard form.)  The entire gallon of milk was seeping into the carpeting under the seats.  Yeewwww!


    There was nothing for it but to turn around and go back to town.  So when Fugitive called on the cell phone to ask why I wasn't answering my phone at home, we were at the car wash hosing out the inside of the van.  It was funny.  Did you know that a power washer can cause things to fly out from under the seats of your vehicle that haven't seen the light of day in years?


    That's why my van is parked in the drive with all the windows and doors and tailgate propped open so it can dry out.

Comments (23)

  • ROFL!  What a day you have had, and its not over yet..lol.. Sorry.  I have had those days too!  Just remember, they make great stories later.. he he he

  • reminds me of a story of spilt goat milk in a closed car up car in the summer......eeeeewwww!!!!  it stunk!!  I forget the specifics, but it was NASTY!

  • LOL gawd.  What a day.  A good-to-be-alive day, hm?   Terri, I am going to call you, I promise.  I mean it!  geez, my life's been too too chaotic lately, I hope you'll be as patient with me as you are with the neighbor's dog. hehe

  • Don't ya just love dogs sometimes??    BTW....the rate thing is in my This and That module.  Under the clock, the colored faces....... 

  • Kind of reminds me of how the other day I (me, myself.. not the kids) ended up tossing a full cup of sunny delight all over my kitchen wall and just-mopped kitchen floor LOL

  • The logic of the finger and the incorporation of the dog into the tale conspire to remind me of the joke about why dogs lick.  :)

  • All I can do is sigh.  I laughed and cried and laughed some more.  Home you have sighed and centered and continued on with living.  zera

  • After the day I've had I am so glad I came to your site to get such a needed laugh!  Sorry it was at your expense, though! 

    I also wanted to say thank you for your encouraging words about my nephew!  You always know just what to say to lift someone spirits!

  • OH My Goodness!  What a day !  @-}-}---

  • You live such a interesting life ya know that My what a day!! You need a soak in a hot tub!!! Shall I send one over?

  • Yikes, I'm relieved to know I'm not the only one who has days like that sometimes!

  • I'll trade days with you, 'k?

  • Hey, I'm missing a load of socks. I should power wash my car... hehehe.

  • Goodness this was such a fun read... from the first line to the last, you had me captured... thanks.

    BTW... how do you get your Mortgage company to actually answer the phone???? I just get the bi-lingual information recording, but no live person. Do they actually have those?

  • Oh, I do hope you got every drop of milk out of the carpet.  Nothing is worse than the smell of a car that's had some milk spilled in it and then locked up and set in the sun for a day.  Pheeeeew.  Been there, done that. 

  • Mmmmmmmmm..........the smell of sour milk in the van.  Don't you just LOVE it?

  • Wow... how do ya do it? I'm pooped just reading your day! LOL  You need to sit down and put those feet up. *wink*

  • I am STILL laughing - the mental image of you and Barb hosing out the INSIDE of the van at the carwash is just too much for me! 

  • Yuck, milk in the car.  That is one of the worst things I think.  I sure hope you get your phone problem fixed soon too, it sucks to be without the net.

    Have a great wednesday.

  • And it dried out just fine, yes?....

    I'm going to subscribe again!

  • I hope today was better.

  • And i'll take bets that that day wasn't much different from other ones...right?  Spot

  • oy...
    that reminds me of the time I forgot about some (previously frozen) green chile that I'd left in the back of the wife's SUV over the weekend... YUCK

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment