April 20, 2002

  • Packing for Paradise


    In just a few short hours (23 of them) I'll be sitting my behind in the comfortable driver's seat of my Mercury Sable and starting down the driveway on a new adventure.  Tim is celerating his 36th birthday and we decided to mark the occasion with a trip to Branson, MO. 


    Yes, in this relationship, I drive and he plays flight attendant to the boys in the back seat.  I'm exactly 5 feet tall.  My arms don't reach from the driver's seat to the passenger side.  Tim is 6 feet 7 inches.  He can serve drinks to the body in the trunk without straining.


    Now, how do I pack for such a trip?  Usually when I travel, I do it in the van.  But the air-conditioning still isn't repaired in the van, and while I had thought maybe I could tough it out and roll down the windows, the sunburn wiped all that out of my mind.  I want airconditioned comfort.


    Travelling in the van, I have enough cargo space to take everything and anything that I think I MIGHT want to have on hand.  I pack the usual, books, games, snacks, my wheat grinder, a basket of half complete craft projects in case I get bored . . . if there's any room left over, I throw in a few clothes and my toothbrush.  If there's still room, I let the kids and hubby go too.


    But, we aren't taking the van.  We are taking the Sable.  It has your standard trunk space, but that will barely hold my books, much less the sewing machine and doggie bed.  (Now that they have those new restrictions on luggage - I may never be able to fly again.  When I went to visit my friend Mary for a week last year, I took a complete set of luggage (four bags) a carryon and my backpack.)


    Decisions, decisions - I'd better get my diet coke in hand, I'm gonna need extra caffeine today.


    *******


    Grioghair said:


    There are more values in this world than can be totally encompassed within the Christian faith...for, what about the people in this world who are not Christian, by faith - do Christians forever ignore them as misguided - and going down the wrong path in life?


    There are few things in life that irritate me more than when a person pulls out a verse of scripture from here and there to make a point, so I'll acknowledge up front that I'm doing that and I'll ask for you to trust me that there are a lot more passages available that speak to this point, but I don't want to make this a long essay - just a quick answer.


    The "Law" - the Torah - contains the admonitions "Love the Lord your God with all your heart, soul and strength" and "Love your neighbor as yourself."


    When Jesus was asked "who is my neighbor" - he answered with the parable of the Good Samaritan.  What most of us don't realize is that to the audience that heard him speak that day, a contemporary equivalent would be the parable of the "Good Taliban."  Between the Jews and Samaritans of that day there existed a centuries old animosity based on religious and ethnic differences which included terroist acts.  There was no group of people more despised by first century Jews than the Samatians (whom they referred to as mongrel dogs on their nice days.)


    Jesus not only taught the standard, he lived it.  He spoke to the Samaritan woman at the well.  He commended the Canaanite woman for her faith.  He said of the Centurion, "I have not found such great faith even in Israel."


    Jesus' teaching is counter to the assumption that only the people of the household of faith have access to the truths of God.  Over and over again, he used the phrase "those who have ears let them hear."  He made it clear that anyone, at anytime, of any religious background could hear the voice of God if they only listened.  Paul continues this theme in his letter to the Romans.  The Pauline passage is usually quoted to unhold condemnation of pagans (those outside the faith) but the central theme he builds from is that ANYONE can know about God.  God's divine nature and eternal power are discernable apart from the revelations of the prophets.


    "Always be ready to give an answer to anyone who asks you the rason for the hope you have but do this with gentleness and respect."  I'm on the dictionary thing lately, so I'm going to quote from the OAD on respect - admiration toward a person or thing that has good qualities and the politeness that arises from this.  If I want to live up to the standard taught in the Bible, I ahve to be prepared to treat everyone as my neighbor.  Deal with them out of a position of love and respect.  It isn't respect to speak from a position of condescending superiority.


    Grioghair doesn't believe in sin.  I won't quibble over the word, I'll bet that Grioghair would agree with me that there are some actions and attitudes that in their very nature hinder the ability of people to relate and communicate with one another.  An attitude that says, "You are wrong, you have nothing of any value to say to me" is a pretty good example of the kind of thing that would make it impossible for constructive dialogue to take place.  I don't like it when I'm treated that way.  I think that anyone, be he Christian, philosopher, or scientist who starts from that perspective will soon find himself talking only to people who already agree with him, because everyone else will leave.

Comments (24)

  • Have a safe, fun trip!

  • Ok, so far I've read that you're going on a trip and I stopped at the split, because dammit!  It's not even 9:30 in the a.m. and you're already deconstructing over here!   Seriously, I'll read that when I get all the sleep out of my eyes, and meantime you all have a safe and fun trip.  When you drive down this way I have plenty of room for all your luggage.  The kids and hubby included.  (And Tim is 6'7 and you're 5'?  Now that probably looks too cool--can't wait to see it )

  • Wow... for you to comapre the Samartians to the Taliban makes such a striking point! *head's reeling* I'll have something to chew on today! Thanks

    Have a great trip... Safe travels. Enjoy yourself. 

  • I hope you guys have a safe and nice trip!  Sounds like fun!

  • Have a safe and wonderful trip!  I'll miss your insightful blogs while you are away...

    Speaking of which, part two of this one was another zillion eprop blog.  I love the way you are able to bring it across.    Thank you.

  • Have a good trip and I like the rest as well... you make great points... I agree with them which helps C~

  • Great trip wishes!

  • Great blog Terri - I feel like I have read it twice today given that you got me out of bed this morning in order to give me the 'review'!

    To address a point which was raised in one of the above comments:  Never Fear!  I have already been forewarned that my dear sister intends to monopolize my computer during the day to post her regular Xanga masterpieces while I am at work.

    Luv U!  ~C

  • Have fun on your trip! I live 45minutes away from Branson and we love it there.

  • Dang... I had something to say and lost it Well I hope your trip goes very very well!!! C~

  • Paul was always on the side of non-judgement for those outside of the christian faith.  In 1st Corinthians he says that is God's territory and that we should judge those inside.

    Does that count as just pulling a verse out?

  • None of us are in a position to condemn, we've all made mistakes...another verse pull out   Spot

  • Can't believe you need air conditioning already. Not fair!! Enjoy your trip.

  • Sounds like my Easter blog. A closed mind leads to a closed heart, which leads to a closed life. But as the song said, "Free your mind and the rest will follow."

    Have a great time-- my car is without AC and I'm down here in GEORGIA yipes!

  • 'An attitude that says, "You are wrong, you have nothing of any value to say to me" is a pretty good example of the kind of thing that would make it impossible for constructive dialogue to take place.  I don't like it when I'm treated that way.'

    Depends, I guess.  All proselytizing begins with the assumption that the other person is wrong or misguided or whatever.  If you are trying to convince me of the validity of Christianity, you are proceeding from the position that I am wrong.

    If, instead, you are fundamentally interested in determining the truth of things, you would begin with the question "Am I wrong?"  Doubt is always the beginning of the search for truth, not faith. 

  • What or who is grioghair?  Samaritans and Talibans.  Hmmmm!  I am not sure what started this discussion so I can't say much.  zera

  • Hope you have a great trip.   My weekend was a lot of fun.

  • Have a great trip! I missed a few posts here so boy am I late into this conversation so I'll just keep my mouth shut for now.

  • Not "Am I wrong?"... that question begs for the answer "No way!"  Rather, "Could I be wrong?"  That's always a question we can answer "Hell yes!" to.  :)

    As for sin, any idiot agnostic like me knows there is such thing as sin -- because sin is properly defined as an offense against one's own beliefs.  People betray themselves all the time.  To be an avid shopper for instance may be a sin against conservatism.  And yet do not conservatives love credit cards?  To wear leather shoes may be a sin to a vegetarian, but who can find good quality plastic shoes out there?  To exist today seems to require a certain amount of sin.  Covetousness, for example.  Who can get out of bed in the morning without a little covetousness?

    Jesus was a quirky fellow (assuming he lived, and assuming he was a fellow).  And if you think he was quirky, take a look at all those apostles and their successors who wrote and rewrote the Bible!  I mean, really!  Could they have built a more contradictory basis for religion?  And that's just the New Testament. 

    You know all those little religious tracts people hand out, either the ones made into little hellfire and brimstone comic books or the pamphlets filled with underlined/bold phrases, weird arrows running between lines, and declarations of the end of this or that world?  That's how the Bible started, as sort of an anthology of weirdo religious "parables".  It took some popery to pound it all into print.

    I have tremendous respect for people of Faith.  Takes a lot of mental energy to keep all that religious fervor straight enough to believe it; I don't have it, but I commend you that do!  :)

  • Enjoy the trip.  I've made some religious comments at my site too.

  • I meant to answer this, but you went on vacation - and it got lost...sorry!

    Ok...I am speaking from the perspective of a non-Christian. The Samaritan parable is a perfect example of judging people by their roots - it is kind of like judging me because my father was bad. (Everyone is a uniquely, individualistic person - and should be treated as such.)

    I agree that people can hold views that prevent serious dialogue - but people are people...and that bigotry is present in any faith - due to human nature. (It is prevalent in Christians, too!) We need to progress as a whole, integrated planet.

    I have to say though, that Christianity progressed from out of the doctrines of The Old Testament...which accepted the owning of slaves as the norm - and perfectly acceptable. (I have a great deal of trouble accepting doctrines of this kind - that is why I say that most of The Bible is man-made...for what superior being would gain anything from such an archaic way of thinking.)

    Things have moved on now, of course...but the evil roots are still there - even in America attitudes of this kind still exist.

  • Oops...nearly forgot! (I've got flu this week - and my memory is a bit shot!)

    Although I do not believe in sin, per se...I do believe in evil - the two are not related. Sin is an assumption that the way some people live is wrong - but who decides? Evil - such as hatred...or the taking of people's lives - is definitely wrong wherever it exists. No question about it!

    I thought that needed clearing up!

  • seems to me that the Son of Man travelled pretty light!

    I like it that you like to arrive PREPARED.  In case there was any doubt.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment