May 15, 2011

  • Riding ‘Round the Rollercoaster

    Life is funny.  Steep climbs, sudden drops, sharp left turns (at Albuquerque) and then you’re back where you started.  How does that happen?

    Things that have changed in the past two years:

    • Job – Moved From Bank to Law Firm
    • Taller kids – Both miraculously surviving teen-agedness
    • More clutter in the house – Totally settled in, love my neighbors
    • Less time devoted to writing poetry – Or writing anything really
    • I buy books for my Kindle now instead of hard-copies since I’ve run out of shelf space

    Things that have not changed in the past two years:

    • Struggle to detach from my weird relationship with food – Currently working through a Geneen Roth book
    • Liberal politics – I try to like them as persons, but Republicans irritate me on principle, and Jon Stewart rules
    • Fixation with shoes – the higher the heels the better.
    • Beading (although I’ve gotten much better) – Lately working with a new netting pattern
    • Height – I’m certain that I’m 5’0″ – the medical assistant at my Dr.’s office insists it’s 4’11″.  But you notice I’m marking height as a “has not changed”

     

     

Comments (7)

  • Oh and my hair is temporarily shorter.  I got frustrated and cut off the “uneven” parts.  Thank God hair grows.  

  • Sounds like you have had a lot going on in your life….Hope you are happy with your new job, new haircut and your new height!

  • Glad you are alive and well!  Sorry you haven’t grown (physically) and that you haven’t had time to write. 

  • I’m certain you’re 5.0″ too!  I’m just CERTAIN! 

  • welcome back! there’s still a few of us around.

    i can’t seem to let books go. i love books. even though it’s bad for the trees.  

  • My doctor measures my height each year.  I ask why and he says he wants to see how fast I am shrinking as I get older.  Hate to tell you but it happens.  Still in New Mexico?  We have a trip planned to Santa Fe in Sept of this year.  No, I don’t need a room for my wife and couple traveling with us so rest easily. lol  Hope you are doing fine.  

  • @vexations - LOL _ I actually have a guest room now!  It looks a lot like the garage, but I know it’s comfortable because when the teen-boy stuff gets to be too much I have been known to sleep there. 

    When in September?  Will I get to see you? 

    Santa Fe is great any time of year.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *