September 28, 2008

  • Creating My Space

             I cycle through different phases of creative life.  I go from more cerebral creations, (writing) to more tactile ones, (Jewelry design/quilting).  And I’ve begun to see commonalities among all my creative endeavors as I get a little better and more confident in what I’m doing.

    I like color.  When I started out I threw in a lot of color everywhere.  Over the years, I’ve learned to temper.  I’ve learned that using color as an accent rather than screaming it is sometimes the more effective way to realize my visions. 

    Lately, I’ve been making more jewelry.  For a lot of reasons.  I like the way it relaxes me.  I’ve finally broken down and bought some reading (magnifying) glasses so I can see what I’m doing.  And I’ve gotten a lot of compliments on the pieces I wear to work.  So I thought I’d share it here. 

    In the dark, early morning hours when I’m not asleep, this is what I do:


    The Work Station

    Gladys the Cat is always very concerned to know what I might be up to, she keeps an eye on things.  The pickles are for Tucker, who watches me and compliments my work.

    Amber Swarovski crystals with clear crystal spacers.

    Detail of the pendant because I get a lot of people stopping and looking at the way it’s strung with the seed beads.

    A similar one made of aqua crystals to match one of my fav pairs of earrings (shown in the center) which were made by Teri

    I love the clasp on this one and regret that it is hidden behind my hair.  I may have to restring the necklace some way to have the clasp show because it’s so pretty.

    Coral and Onyx – this one gets me lots of compliments when I wear it with a blouse of red/gray and white trimmed in Black Satin.  It has something of an Asian/exotic look I think. 

    Chinese turquoise.  I like the cool feel of the pendant.  I touch it a lot during the day.

    And of COURSE there had to be something purple.  I wear purple more often than any other color, although aqua is a close tie.  The aqua because every time I wear it someone says how BLUE my eyes look in contrast. 

    What do you do when you can’t sleep?

Comments (16)

  • I always liked to play with my mom and my granny’s old jewelery

    what is the big jar of pickles for? can you leave pickles out all the time? cause I always put in the refrig.

    when I can’t sleep -I read and read and go into another world.

  • @jillcarmel - Tucker had the pickles out snacking on them while he was watching me not long before I got out the camera.    I think they stay crisper if you refrigerate them, but I don’t think it hurts to leave them out – I’m thinking of the big jar on the counter at the deli. 

  • Oh lovely pieces Terry. I read or write when I can’t sleep. Judi

  • Eat pickles and string beads………..um…….yeah okay.

    I was in studio this afternoon. A real studio with real microphones and mixers and stuff.   Your beautiful poem, “A Caution” was in that mix.  :o )

    WordFaery

  • These are very beautiful pieces and so professional.  If I made jewelry I’m certain there would be a knot tied and seen somewhere in the mix.    Then it wouldn’t be tied tight enough and the whole thing would go rattling to the floor.    Little Girl looked at these with me and she went either “ohhh” or “ahhh” at each one.  I really think she’ll be taking that jewelry making class next semester.  Hee hee.  That’s interesting you like to wear purple.  I wear black all.  the.  time.  I really should branch out more.   What’s that board think on the table?  How does that help with the jewelry making?

    When I can’t sleep I read, write, eat…and then watch TV.  Usually in that order.

  • Those are beautiful pieces of jewelry.  It is nice to be productive if you can’t sleep.

    I usually turn on mindless tv and it doesn’t take long before it puts me back to sleep.

  • Love the jewelry and the pickles. 

  • it’s all beautiful

    you should sell it…

  • I used to make my own beads when I couldn’t sleep. Now I walk up and down the stairs of the apartment complex.

  • In the rare times I can’t sleep I usually get on xanga.   Those pieces look lovely!

  • @DawnsEarlyLight - LOL _ tell LG that if there’s a piece she really likes, I’ll send it (or one just like it) to her along with the instructions for making it so she can use it as a pattern in her class. 

    The board is a beading board.  Its covered with flocking so the beads don’t roll, and the little channels are so you can lay out the pattern of your piece before you start stringing it so you know before you put it together how long it will be and how the beads will look before you get it half done and realize that the pattern is off and you have to undo and start over. 

    @rosebudsinwyo - Thank you!  I have thought about selling my stuff, but I don’t know how I would price things to make that really work.  I prefer just playing with things. 

  • Very pretty!  I need to be doing something positive rather than playing on the computer when I wake up in the middle of the night.

  • I’ll tell her.  She loved the purple one.  That’s so kind of you to offer to send her one!  Let’s wait and make sure she gets into that jewelry making class next semester at the junior high.  That board is cool—seems like a must-have for jewelry making. 

  • Ooo, pretty!  Did you spend many nights stringing that purple one??  It looks intensive!  Those big funky beads on the onyx and coral one: did they from Michael’s?  I have some similar ones I made earrings from and I got them there.  Speaking of, our Michael’s has been having FABBulus sales!  Are your designs your own, kits or are you following something?  Where did you learn to finish your stuff?  I’d love to hear!

  • @ZincWhiskers - Hey Teri!  The big funky beads did come from Michael’s     My designs are mostly my own, although the business of using the seed beads next to the pendant and clasp is something that the owner of my favorite little shop here (The Beaded Iris) did and I loved the way it looked. 

    The purple one is similar to a kit I saw, except I already had beads and I wanted to finish mine differently, (with the chain and dangle) so I could wear it shorter or longer depending on my blouse. 

    Most of my finishing I learned from reading the beading guide I picked up from Michael’s years and years ago, but some things I’ve learned from looking at jewelry in stores.  I like to “window shop” in Kohl’s etc and then come home and try out what I’ve seen. 

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *