September 8, 2008


  • Dear Xanga Friends,

    I'm writing this to let you know where I've been. 

    After the incident in July when I had the allergic reaction to medication, I never really got well.  I've had one health issue after another.  I spent weeks throwing up.  I've had trouble sleeping.  All kinds of just not feeling great.  And I've been trying to learn everything I could for my new job.  And the kids have started school, and regularly scheduled therapy, and so on and so on and so on.

    I finally saw the Dr last Tuesday.  Most probably I have an ulcer.  I have a prescription for sleep medication.  And I'm hoping that things are going to level out soon. 

    There's not too much else to report.  I go to work, I come home, I help the kids with homework, feed them, read to them and then we go to bed.  The most interesting thing going on has been that I just have felt horrible and I didn't want to write about that.  Even talking about it made me feel worse.  I was alternately scared that there was something really wrong with me, and scared that I had become a hypochondriacal whiner in my middle age.   

    When I wake up in the middle of the night, I go to Facebook and play Scrabble or Pathwords or some other diverting application game.  I've been in a sort of self-similar pattern where every day I start in a different direction but then wind up making the same movements and ending in the same place - rather like a Fractal.

    Last Friday night I took the boys to what has to be one of Albuquerque's best kept secrets.  It's a show at the Museum of Science and Natural History called "First Friday Fractals" and they told us at the beginning that it was the 79th sold out show in a row.  (They do three shows the first Friday of every month.)

    I had some difficulty properly embedding the video from YouTube so I'm giving you the link.  You can get a small taste of what the show is like from this, but the colors are much more vivid in the Planetarium and because of the dynamics of projecting onto the dome, at the show a viewer has the sense of being inside the design and moving with it. 

    First Friday Fractals

    The Fratcal images below were lifted from the web - some are available as posters, so you might like to Google "Fractal" to explore other images and maybe find one you'd want for your wall. 


Comments (18)

  • I'm so right there with you.
    New job, difficult health issues ... kids ... and then the mind numbing grace of games on FaceBook.

    Amen.

    Here's to things looking up for us in the future, eh?  I Love You.

  • Aw Terri!  I'm so sorry to hear of all of your troubles.  Thanks for letting us know, even though we don't "deserve" to know...we do worry.  I hope your health is on the way up now and that you'll be in better fettle soonest.

    Lori

  • How about a big "hug"...or several.  And hey, don't be afraid to whine a bit...we all have to at times.  And, sometimes it helps others know who to pray for or why one feels the need to...ahem.  And those darn games on Facebook are addictive...I suck at the word ones but do them anyway with others...like  the "Mad Mommy" who just joined Facebook...for the purpose of playing Scramble and Word Twist and...*g*

  • sorry about your troubles, hope you are feeling better soon!  Will pray for you.  Hang in there, and come to us xangans for support, will ya??!@!

  • *big hug* I'm sorry for the pain and troubles, but I'm so proud of you for persevering anyway.  That first image in particular is gorgeous.  I will have to try to find you on facebook - my most recent obsession is WordTwist.  I miss Scrabulous; the new beta just isn't doing it for me.

  • so sorry you're not feeling well.  healing rays going your way!

  • (((Terri)))  And yet, despite feeling dreadful, you reached out to help me with my questions.  Thank you so much.

    I'm going to show this to the boys.  I hope that when my daughter and her dh are settled, we can all get tickets to this.

  • And here I was thinking you'd gone to London to visit the Queen.    I have been thinking about you and wondering but didn't want to be a pest.   I do miss you posts when you aren't around.  And see why?  Your posts are always very cool.  This one is WAY cool.  I cannot wait to show my family.    

  • fractal images make great inspiration for QUILTS!

  • I hope your feeling better soon! I get that same way when I'm under too much stress. It makes me feel ill, then I get to worrying about it being something serious, then the extreme anxiety sets in and it makes me feel worse. Kind of a dominoe effect, not fun at all.

    Remember to breath and take time for yourself when you can!

    Hugs

  • I hope your feeling better. I know that it can be hard when your not feeling well. Please take care and your in my prayers.

  • Good Luck!  I've missed your blogs. You are so creative and have so much to offer. lots of love and hugs....

  • those pictures look like a migraine to me.  they are cool, but if i look more than 2 seconds i get dizzy. 

  • Good to see from you again, I had been wondering what was happening in your life and hoping it was just busy with school starting for the boys and your new job. So sorry to see health was also in the factor. I am just glad you did go to the Dr. and check up what was wrong. Now you can work on getting that ulcer healed and the biggest worry of not knowing what was going on is no longer there
    The factals are just fabulous. What a treat for you and the boys to go to. Lucky you to have it right there where you live. (((HUGS)))

  • Oh man.  You got me in trouble now....when I showed this to Little Girl she was in LOVE!  She REALLY REALLY REALLY wants to go see the show.  Last night we were mapquesting how far it is from here to there.....600 miles or so.....and we could visit the four corners on the way.  LOL.  She's begging to go.  Then today in math class her teacher talking about geometry and she was talking about the word geometry and she said the word geo meant study of the earth and kids were wondering what geometry had to do with the earth...and then she thought of the fractals the video that said there is lots of fractals in nature....and she said.....ahhhh.....yeah.....she really wants to see this live.  LOL. 

  • This road we're on -- I call it "life" -- can be rough at times.  Hopin' it smoothes out for both of us, eventually.

  • blessings and hugs from one of your

    quiet fans   

    those fractals are incredible; thank you for sharing!

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment