September 18, 2007

  • Saving Grace

    I used to think that it was grace extended to me that saved me and held me up.  What I have learned is that its grace that lives in me and through me that makes all the difference.  The grace that comes from the outside may be resisted.  But yielding to grace and allowing myself to be an instrument of grace, that's powerful.

    "Let this be our prayer,
    Just like every child
    Needs to find a place
    Guide us with your grace
    Give us faith so we'll be safe."

    The boys and I drove home last night through three different storms.  One that struck just as we were heading up Raton Pass, which if you've ever driven I-25 between Denver and Albuquerque you know to be the most challenging stretch of that road. 

    I probably make a bigger deal of it than it is.  I know that after we came through the pass in the U-Haul truck, Mary suggested that perhaps I shouldn't be quite so scared that apparently I possess the skill necesary to navigate the steeps and curves. 

    Be that as it may, it is a very steep stretch with big curves and sheer drops off the right side of the interstate that go down down down down down down ... down.

    My kids are never worried.  They just ride along safe and comfortable in the little bubble of the car while lightning flashes and ominous shapes loom off on the horizon.  That's okay, they don't have to know about all the bad things out there.  I know.  And I'll do the best I can to keep the scary things away at a safe distance. 

     

Comments (9)

  • what you said about the boys never being afraid or questioning your ability to keep them safe...that's so true, isn't it? 
    i've thought about that so many times with my parents getting older.  i revert back to that "who's going to keep me safe when they're gone?"
    it's scary sometimes to come to the realization that we mean the same to our children. 
    keep on keepin' on, mama bear. 

  • Yes, grace is just that and more...

  • Just glad to know you are home and safe.

  • Driving in hard conditions knowing you have kids in the car incites to the meditation and prayer . We feel nearer of God . I think it must be the same for the staff of a ship or a plane in the storm .
    I liked also your previous post .
    Love

    Michel

  • Allowing yourself to be an instrument of grace is powerful.  |And that's something to ponder, isn't it?

  • Yeah, we do our best to protect them.  Then they grow up and we have to let go and let them get hurt.  I'm still having a hard time with that part.

  • Oh so glad you made it home safe. Storms can be scary. Judi

  • Of course. That's Mom's job.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment