February 18, 2007

  • Erm ... Happy Valentine's Day? 

    And Happy President's Day!  And maybe I'd better say Happy St Patrick's Day - Erin Go Bragh and all that because I am apparently the least consistent poster on Xanga. 

    But to catch you up a little - Tucker's egg survived.  He was disappointed because he didn't get to stand on the roof to drop it.  And he was further disappointed because he had wanted them to drop the egg alone from the roof, have it land in the box, and not break.  They dropped the whole box which he labeled "boring".  A little over half the class had eggs that survived, but he thought it would have been a lot better project if they could see the splatting instead of having it contained.  Oh, and the teacher kept his box.  I'm sure she filed it in the dumpster, but he was disappointed by that too.  Now I have to go get more dragon stickers so he can decorate something more permanent with them.  That's the part he was really sad about.

    After months of promises at work, the new Executive Director delivered some excellent things in her first three weeks.  She got me on SALARY - and got me a raise up to $35k a year.  I just did the math and that's a 66% increase over what I was making before assuming that I was getting paid for 40 hours every week, which I didn't.  Since there were no paid holidays, or sick leave or anything like that, I was already down a considerable amount just from being off a week at Christmas, a couple snowed in days, and having flu.  SO the raise and being salaried is a very GOOD thing.

    She also got me medical insurance.  Got me a position title (I'm the Program Director.)  And got me supplies I needed to do my job right.

    But no one can get me out of the massive amount of work that the job has grown into.  I have had more than one 12 hour day between the time I put in at the office and the time I work doing research from home. 

    Our CEO is determined to change the world, even if it kills me.   LOL 

    But on the other side of the equation, I have recruited three totally awesome counselors into the program and one of them has been volunteering time to do the "grunt" stuff that piles up.  Since he used to be a White House intern writing papers, executive summaries, and doing industry analysis guess what I've got him doing now?  It's not his favorite, but I don't have time to read hundreds of pages a day and still do my other work.

    So that's the story about that. 

    I think about you guys.  I wonder if TwoBerry is playing in a Scrabble tournament.  I miss Judy's soothing images and wonderful inspiration.  I imagine what quirky turn of thought James has experienced that led to another profound blog.  I wonder whether the Pirate is sailing friendly seas.  I think about ZincWhiskers, Lucky Stars, and Daffodilius ... I don't know why but whenever I think of one of those my mind drifts on to the other two.  I've been thinking about Dawn'sEarlyLight ... I just want to know if she got that Josh Groban cd.  I've been thinking about RnboSpot and wishing that I could find an afternoon with decent weather to send the boys out on a photo safari. 

    I could obviously go on, but the point is that I do think about you, I think about the writers, the dreamers, the doers, the mom's, the spiritual people, the atheists, the poets, the Princesses, the kids and the cranky people who make up my SIR and subscribers. 

    Hugs to you all

Comments (10)

  • I think about you, too.  It does seem as if your economic circumstances have improved considerably over what they were when we started getting acquainted with each other.  I'm thrilled about that.  Truly I am.

    No Scrabble tournaments for me.  I'm retired, at least temporarily, from all of that.  I expect I'll return to the wars someday, but it's hard to envision it.  Too busy with other things.

    Life's good.  I wish all of your friends would be willing to be friends with me, but a guy can't have everything.  I'm so greedy.  But life's good, so I refuse to complain.

  • And a fine top o' the mornin' to you lass! *wink*

    We think about you too! Congrats on all the stuff at work, except for the more work part!

    Be well and come back to see us soon! (With photo safari pics!)

  • I was thinking about you and wondering where you've been. 

  • Salary and med insurance. Goodonya!!

  • 11 whole days pass between blogs! Don't you know that you're allowed to have a life outside xanga, as long as you blog about it?

    Seriously, though, glad everything's going so well for you. Yeah on the salary/raise. :)

  • I am just so happy for you about the raise!

  • Wow, congratulations on the salary and the raise! That is such a relief. And not just money, but validation. Even though you are swamped with work, I hope that this makes life a little easier...

  • p.s. do you read lostcheerio? She just posted details and photos about her family's egg drop science experiments... I'm starting to feel like I'm missing out on something ;)

  • The egg lives!

    Thus...so do we all.

    Kudos.

    Sail on... sail on!!!

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment