April 19, 2004

  • Tis the Season -


    To go outside!  I can't believe that it was less than a week ago (last Tuesday?!?) that we had four inches of snow on the ground.  Over the weekend we had highs right at 80 degrees.  Yesterday, Tucker never put on a shirt all day long.  On Saturday, I took the kids to Spring Mill for hiking.  It's a fabulous park with hiking trails, riding stables, swimming pool, movie stars ... no wait, back up.  There were no movie stars, but there is a memorial to a hero in the park. 


    Do you remember Gus Grissom?  If you were too young (like me) to remember him at the time he made that first flight into space - do you remember him from the movie The Right Stuff?  Gus Grissom was the first man in suborbital flight and it was when they were in the process of recovering the Mercury Module (Liberty Bell 7) that the hatch was blown and the module sank to the bottom of the Atlantic.  After that incident, rumors swirled that he had panicked and blown the hatch.  The modules were redesigned and he was chosen to command the first manned Gemini flight.  On March 23, 1965 in a flight lasting 4 hours 54 minutes and he circled the earth three times.  As someone who recently flew hours and hours and hours and didn't get even a fourth of the way around the earth, I'm impressed all over again with how fast those rockets go.  For his Gemini flight he named his modle "Molly Brown" after the heroine of the popular Broadway show The Unsinkable Molly Brown.  NASA was not amused and ended the practice of allowing astronauts to name their ships. 


    In 1966 Grissom, Edward White and Roger Chaffee were designated by NASA as the crew for the long-anticipated Apollo I moon flight.  On the afternoon of January 27, 1967 the astronauts were inside the Apollo spacecraft ad Cape Kennedy continuiing countdown tests when a fire broke out.  Because the hatch had been redesigned to prevent accidental opening upon landing, there was no way for the men inside to escape.  All three were dead within minutes. 


    In 1999 the Mercury module was recovered from the bottom of the Atlantic where it had rested for 35 years.  After it was examined by a team of engineers, they concluded that Grissom had been telling the truth, the hatch was blown due to a design flaw.  But vindication was bittersweet to Grissom's family and friends who know that had NASA not ordered the change, the men who died in the Apollo I tragedy would have had at least the hope of escapte.


    The Memorial at Spring Mill includes the Gemini module in which he orbited the earth, the flight suit he wore on the mission and other Grissom memorabilia and NASA photos.  The boys were fascinated by the story of a real hero.  A man who knew the risks but took the chance anyway and paved a path to the future that we have all benefitted from.


    In addition to the Grissom memorial - yes there is more - the park includes a village preserved from the turn of the last century which contains buildings from as far back as 1807.  In the center of the village stands a grist mill which still grinds corn into meal every hour on the hour by the working of the water wheel that turns in a picturesque stream.  We came home with a bag of freshly ground meal to make corn bread so the boys could taste something of the pioneer experience.


    And that was only Saturday.  Yesterday, I wanted to get started on lawn work.  So I got out the tractor, and stripped down to my bathing suit (see yard work is really just an excuse to work on my tan  ) Three hours later, Tim drove up.  He had called and got the report from Michael - Mom is out mowing - AGAIN!  So he brought eggs and milk (Michael also ratted me out on not staying ahead of the grocery shopping) and he did the weedeating.  Wow.  That was wonderful.  I actually quit work about the time he got here, because it being my first time out this year, my sunscreen was overtaxed and I knew I was getting a bit pink.  But hey!  I have tan lines.  Okay, okay, I have reddish pink lines - but they will BE tan lines.  Soon.


    Because it is the season to be outside. 

Comments (15)

  • a week ago we were under rain..but it would've been snow if it where a little colder..it got up to 90 today here..in maryland!

  • What a difference a week can make.  That parks sounds wonderful.   

  • When I used to fly over Indiana, Grissom Air Force Base had the morse code ID on its navigation beacon  GUS.     I burned my face in Cape May today..        God, it was fun.      Oh............and in Colorado Springs.............     The skies are a deeper shade of blue, and the sun is a couple notches brighter on clear days.    Check out Manitou Springs, too!

  • I need to start working on my tan. I'm gonna buy myself a card for a local tanning salon. Gonna fake 'n bake here.

  • This is where we show our geographical differences. I sunblock like a maniac and get pissy about any kind of tan line.

    *runs from the sun that is all around her*

  • Priorities;  a sailor who prefers to cut the lawn (making sure all looks good to the neighbors) rather than taking a moment to get chow for the kids. Now granted, we can ALL stand to loose a pound or two… but we must, ahead of all, keep our priorities straight.
     

    Savvy my Lady?

    Grocery shop on.... grocery shop on!!!

  • I'm lol at both VG and DP.  As one who has never owned a tan line (although many a burn line) in her life, I'm all for sticking to those flickering-flourescent grocery aisles in lieu of sunbathing (whether on or off the mower).....

    (Isn't it great to have late-coming commenters like me who love to be snide about the whole package?? )

    But we had a wonderous outdoor weekend too (I had my hat on).  It is amazing what a difference!!

  • Those early astronauts really were pioneers.  I remember him well. 

  • I am humbled by the fact that you and Tim continue to work together in your ex-marriage. Although you don't have him anymore, you still have him. There is goodness in the world. (I think my husband would do the same, were we in your situation.)

  • That's so cool!  I went to Grissom Grammar School, so I knew a little bit about him, but I didn't hear about the recovery of the module and the verification of the design flaw.

  • i should have remembered him...spent a whole chilehood as a NASA nut

    Do you remember when you could get models for all the space program at the back of every comic book, including all the girlie comics, i.e., Harvey & DC

  • How ironice i took my kids to that park too! It WAS fun ... and it's very nice of you not to mention the 8 foot snake.

    Have you cooked any of the corn meal yet? It's very different from store bought and makes excellent con bread ... but eat it in small doses! (Ufda!)

  • its just the beginning, spring is still to be completed, and summer is right around the corner

  • Spring is so wonderful, isn't it? :) I got hit by the "it's Spring" bug too lol. I've been walking, sitting outside, listening to the birdies, and re-doing my xanga site too. I love Spring!! :)

    Blessings, ~Helena

  • Terri, I am doing it again... the read several days at time thing due to the trip north.

    Anyway, I am soooooooo glad your dad is ok and they got you the car and that you're fixed  Being fixed is a good thing.

    I am also glad the bankruptcy thingy went well and you sighed in relief.  It's the way I had to go when the kids dad and I parted ways.  Neither of us could afford the payments and a new place to start over without the other's income soooooo....

    More than all that though, I think the pink lines and yard work are what we can be truly grateful for now!  I too spent most of today out in the yard, Mikey also, mowing, edging, seeing what manner of blooms and blossoms are there, that we didn't plant!  There is a lot to work with and some we'll need to add.  This is our first season here to get out in this yard of ours.

    Anyhow, your questions keep getting answers so things will be better and better.  Prayers on your job search only weeks away.  I'm certain, with your research-ability and planning ablity, you'll find what you need there.  Your cousin is wonderful to help and you're blessed to have a super fam, as I am.

    Hugs,

              Deb

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment