March 23, 2004

  • More Excitement (Oy!)

    Well, I got the answer on my car. Apparently it was a forensic puzzle extraordinaire piecing together all the steps of the tragedy which struck on Sunday. Something inside the transmission broke loose. it spun tore and ate it's way through the transmission sending shards of metal flying about beneath the vehicle. One of these shards punctured the oil pan. Another punctured the CV boot. The bottom line? $3000 to repair it. The bitter truth. I don't have $3000. Nor do I have a credit card. Nor do I have a credit rating because as a part of our divorce, we filed bankruptcy.

    We're all creative people here - anybody have any ideas? I'm 661.2 miles (according to yahoo maps) from my home. For $1200 the boys and I could fly home. Or for $234 I can take the bus - with Tucker - it's a 36 hour trip by Greyhound. Can you say TRIP I WILL NEVER FORGET? o_0

    Oh, and another vital piece of information - I have approximately $163.72 currently residing in my wallet. Please check back soon for the PAYPAL button coming to this QUILTNMOMI site.

    UPDATE: It doesn't take long to install a Paypal Button! LOL. The one below will enable you to donate $5. If you'd like to contribute any other amount, you may do so by going to Paypal and entering your information payable to terriverrette@yahoo.com.




Comments (23)

  • I was thinking "bus", but you already mentioned that.

  • Oh hon...that's a horrible feeling...I hope you can work something out. If you were closer I'd come get you!

  • Holy Crap! That's about the biggest mess I've ever heard of...I'm impressed.

    Is the car worth $3000? If so could you trade it to a family member or friend for the cost of the repair (and its use until you get back home)? Could you use it as collateral for the financing of the repairs through the repair facility?

  • I couldn't get this PayPal button to work.

  • Bill - I don't think that the car is worth $3000. It's a 1996 Sable with 160,000 miles on it.

  • So are you staying in a hotel?  How are you getting internet access?

  • I'm at my friend Mary's house. And the third (increasingly probable) option is that Mary will drive me and the kids to Indiana. - Thank You, Bill

  • sending love and what I can for now...

  • I'm sorry I can't help. You have more money than I do. I hope things work out o.k.

  • Thank you, Cyndee! You know ...

  • Dang -- having paypal problems.  Back soon....

  • Gah! A memorable trip for you and the boys! Let me know if you get what I sent. Hope it helps!

  •   I couldn't get Mr. PayPal to be my pal either.  I'm sorry to hear about your troubles. 

  • I clicked the PayPal button and got an error!!

    ***sending good wishes and positive thoughts to you all***

  • Oh the craziness! We filed BK a year and a half ago. Have you checked into possibilities like Costco's car program? We were able to purchase a car (with payments) right after the BK. It's all we can purchase of course, but it's a necessity.

    *hugs* Take care.

  • BTW, I never got the button to work.  I sent mine through my account.

  • I'm going to try to do what the other ppl are doing and send it through my account!  **Crossing my fingers that it works***

  • Ok, got it!  Hope it helps {{{Terri}}}

  • oh dear...I hope you can get it fixed soon!!!

    Tina

  • See if you can sell the car outright and then buy a clunker for the money you get for the car. The car is not worth 3000.00 so forget putting that kind of money into it. (HELL you can get a used car that will at least get you home and beyond for a few thousand miles. And yes, you can finanace it at 30% because of bankruptcy.)

    Might I also suggest you contact your lame ass family and ask them to wire you some emergency money. They HAVE to have a couple of grand they can pull together.

    Call me.

  • OH NO!  I am sooo sorry.  That has to be a sick feeling.    I am sure something will come through for you!  I just know it.

  • I tried the paypal button it didn't work either for me.  I am sorry for all your problems.. NO DON"T DO THE BUS THING WHAT A NIGHTMARE!!!!  I SAY CALL MOM AND DAD.  I KNOW THEY HAVE COME THROUGH FOR CHERYL ALOT!!!  I hope things get better....  I agree with Dead Pirate don't put $3000 in it.  I am sure you could get around $800 for it. When my Thunderbird blew its head a man bought if for parts.  Also where I live there are alot of Mexicans that buy stuff like that and they take it to Mexico and make a fortune selling parts.  They have been trying to buy THAD JUNK of a truck for $900 and it has 250,000 miles and is dented all over.  Just some ideas that might help.

  • prayers and white light.......  ca$h too, if you need some later.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment