October 28, 2003

  • Tough Call


    I decided when my kids were very young that I was going to be better than a good mother to them, I was going to be the best.  I would do whatever it took to give them the instruction, the nurture, the skills that I could share to help them be the very best people they could possibly be.  They each came to me (as all children do) with their unique set of strengths and weaknesses.  And I decided that I would keep them at home instead of sending them to school


    They have thrived here.  They learn every day with the person who loves them more than anyone else ever could.  We laugh together, we cry together, and we know each other.  Lately, they have known that I'm not doing very well.  I've been tired, I've been stressed, and I've been having to work harder than ever jsut to hold it together.  They knew. 


    It's been a rough couple of years for me. 


    I made the call today to the East Washington School system to ask about having Michael evaluated for speech therapy.  He's been in therapy before and benefitted greatly from it.  I think he could use a bit more help.  While I was on the line with the liason, (who happens to be someone who knows me from a committee we served on together a couple years ago) she asked me abotu how things are going in general.


    At the end of our very long discussion, I made the decision that I'm going to enroll my kids in school.  I will ask that if you have an opinion about this, that you refrain from dicussing it right now.  I'm sure I'll be available to talk about it later.  But for now, I just want you all to know that there is a reason that Q-Momi hasn't been around blogging or visiting your sites lately.  My life isn't falling apart, but it's changing radically and in directions that I never wanted it to go. 


    Thank you for your support.  Thank you to those of you who have emailed me to see if I'm okay.  You guys are really the best. 


    Terri

Comments (31)

  • You do what you need to do... and as far as I'm concerned a really good mom does what is best for her kids, and that includes keeping herself healthy and happy.  I wish you peace with your decision.

  • You're the best quiltnmomi I know!

  • I don't think that homeschooling or not, or being a stay at home mom or not, or whatever other choices you make for yourself or your family can define you as a good mother.  I think that a good mother makes the best decisions for her children that she can at that time in her life.  A good mother knows that she can't always be the "best" thing for her children.   Bravo to you for making the choices that you need to make for yourself and your kids.

  • I will say this much now, you are a damn good mom and I know that you have probably thought this through many times...

  • Take care m'dear.

  • Nothing but support and prayers from here. Good luck with whatever you decide.

  • You love them more than anyone, so you are sure to make the right decision.  Hope you are doing okay. 

  • (((((((Teri)))))))) Tough decisions abound, but know that you do have tons of love, friendship, and support here. Bless you dear!

  • You're their mom... and as their mom, you will do what's best for them (and hopefully yourself as well). 'Sounds like a trying time for you and I hope everything works out for the best-- whatever the unexpected changes you mentioned are, and whatever resolution is reached. You must realize you're very wise, so I've no doubt you'll make the right choices... I wish you some clear-headedness and peace of mind, Terri.

  • You ARE the best mother to them, and they will ALWAYS know that . I'm sorry it's been so rough lately. [[[HUGE HUGS]]], and know I'm always thinking of you, eh?

  •  :bighug: 

  • even though just reading this entry it seems like a 'quick' decision... I'm sure it's something that's been on your mind for some time... and I believe you will always do what is best for your children... just wanted to offer that bit of encouragement to you

  • Whatever your reason, I'm sure they are for the best in order to keep sanity at the moment.  I hope that whatever is going on right now resolves itself without much heartache.  May you feel at peace with your decisions.

     

  • I am glad to have you back on xanga and I hope that these changes prove positive for you.

  • been wondering what has been going on..hope things get better for you soon..

  • Mom always knows best.  I hope all is well with you! 

  •   :bow: I am in awe of anyone who homeschools their children.

  • Please notice that your version of "not blogging" includes several thoughtful, deep, reflective blogs a week!

    I can tell from the tone of this blog that you are taking care of yourself and your family.

  • I have not been around a lot recently but was thinking the other day we weren't hearing as much from you.  I am sorry things are tough, but trust that you can't go anywhere away from the love and care of God.  Hang in there! (((hugs)))

  • Hey.........things are gonna be OK.....

  •  :smile:My good wishes for you and blessings, too.

  • Lifting prayers up for you and your family!

    HUGS!

  •  :eyes_wink:      h0lla

  •  :bighug:  My eldest has just gone through a very similar situation re homeschooling versus public schools. This Sept she let the last one go - now she is very involved with the Parent Teachers Assoc. and many aspects of the scool itself. A huge change in her life, but it helps to be still a major part of her children's lives and education.
    I know that what you decide will be good for all concerned. You are a wonderful person and deep thinker, so no decisions have been made lightly.  :bighug:      :innocent:

  • I'll chime in with everyone else here -- you love your kids, and you'll do what's best for them.

  • I'll help pray you through these times. Mike

  • A good mom makes her decisions with as much thought as you do.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment