October 18, 2003

  • Policies and Procedures


    I have a personal policy against fishing anything out of the toilet that can reasonably be flushed.  And you'd be surprised how much material that policy covers.  I have considered that I'd probably break that rule for my cell phone ... but only if it were ringing a the time. 


    This morning there was a ladybug swimming in my toilet.  I flushed.  Amazingly enough, she was still swimming after the water finished swirling.  I hestitate, but I flushed again.  She survived this second attempt to wash her from sight.  After a longer pause and ethical debate, I flushed a third time.


    I fished her out.


    She's probably not a lady bug at all.  She's probably one of those rose bush eating fiends that killed my pink rose earlier this summer.  She's probably killing my peace rose as I type.  I hope it doesn't give her indigestion. 

Comments (22)

  • Persistance, on the part of the Lady Bug, pays off!! /

    God Bless - Dale

  • Where there's a will... there's another day.

  • I accidently flushed a ring down the toilet once only because I forgot it was there. It was really heavy and made of pewter, I'm surprised it went. I would have left the lady bug..

  • You would be amazed at the things that have been flushed down inadvertently... My all time worst was a contact case with the contact lenses in the case.... both lenses, with no back-up spare pair.  That was a good $300 flush.

  • I would've fished that ladybug out too.  Staying afloat after 3 flushes deserves being fished out.

  • lmao! oh the joys of the fall attack of the ladybugs =) they're everywhere!

  • I flushed one down the toilet once. I got pinched in the neck by one the other day. Then one day I opened my front door and there were dozens of them flying around my yard and especially by my door. I'll do whatever is necessary to get rid of those suckers.

  • i do believe it's not a lady bug, too. ladies are not supposed to go swimming in the toilet.

    one time, i finished my ear stud out of a toilet.

  • Terri in spite of you attempted to kill it , you saved this poor bug and so you have contributed to the balance of the nature !     Congratulations . You deserve an award .

    Love              Michel

  • Yeah, I tend not to fish things out of the toilet unless they won't make it down the pipes. I probably would have kept flushing, or just left it there.

  •  :innocent: that's some will to survive!

  • A strong distaste for the placing of hands inside that which sucks away all distasteful bits of society seems quite natural, though flushing a third time implies denial on your part.  Very interesting.

  • Your site takes a long time for my slow computer to load  :grrr:  I bet it's that but shaking icon that holding things up!  I'm trying to be good so Santa will be good to me with a faster computer.  I hope it works.....Now, to my comment! 

    Funny blog!  I was intrigued by your opening sentence!  :laugh:  Those evil bugs!   :forkyou:

  • let's hope that the rest of the roses survive too...

  •  :bigbounce: FUNNY!!!!!

    Only you would have fished her out...LOL

    I would have still been there flushing...LOL

    Tina

  • If only you could flush a man down the toilet so easily....

  •   that's from the gentleman bug awaiting his bride's safe return home.    I not only would not have flushed this little critter away, I'd be trying to dry her before sending her out the door.  I cannot stand some insects, spiders and bees for instance can't make it in, then back out of my home.  Rule of thumb is "you come into my house and you die" for those categories.  The little red with black speckled cuties though, I save any chance I get.  Just today I saw one crawling up my window on the inside and went to some trouble to carefully get her in my hand and outside again to safety.  They are everywhere right now.  It'll be a good gardener's season next spring I think.  The ladybugs are the good guys.  They never eat your roses Terrie.  They eat the bad bugs (like aphids) that would eat your rose. baaad ole aphids!

    Save the ladybugsl!!!  Hugs,

                                      Deb

  • These last two entries are good examples of what's so great about your blog--one deep, intense, learned but also intimate; the other mundane (what could be more mundane than a toilet?) but with a touch of the cosmic.  I like it!

  • A ladybug, sure. How about a roach??? Didn't thinks so. Mike

  • Oh, but it's a ladybug -- they're CUTE!  You can't flush a cute bug!

  • I am so glad you saved the ladybug! LOL. You will be rewarded by "mama nature!" I have a theory about "pests"; that if they feel "attacked" they just make more of themselves because they have a "hive/borg" mind and they can sense if even one of them dies "unnatural" and it makes them; make more. I have put this into practice at my house and it seems to work.~Peace and Blessings :peace:

  • OMG, Terri.  I'm being bombarded by the little beasts as I type (the screen's the only bright thing in the room).  And you fished her out?!?  She's probably not eating your plants -- she's probably over here in my hair!

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment