October 16, 2003

  • How to Think


    I really don't remember when I first heard the word "philosophy" but I remember by first lesson in the subject.  My father asked me why I had done something.  I don't remember now what it was I'd done or what my answer was, but his response burned onto my mind.  "That's not a reason, that's an excuse."  Up until that moment it hadn't occurred to me that there might be a difference between the two.  And to my Dad's credit, he didn't just give me the line, he sat down with me and talked about how to think.


    Knowledge comes, but Wisdom lingers.  Alfred Lord Tennyson


    The word philosophy is a compound of two Greek words, philo = love and sophia = wisdom.  It's a matter of some consternation to me that our educational system is geared not toward wisdom but toward knowledge.  Certainly, understanding the facts of life is a useful thing, but without a corresponding pursuit of wisdom in order to make the best decisions about how to use the facts we are led down the inevitable path that we are walking today.  No matter what perspective you are coming from, it's pretty easy to argue that things are far from ideal in our world.  We have political, social, environmental, moral, and asthetic messes everywhere we turn.  If you have ever spent any time pondering the best way to solve any of these problems, you have engaged in philosophy.  We have hard decisions to make every day of our life, should I work here or there, should I save this money or spend it, should I deepen this friendship or back away, should I put a five dollar bill in the beggar man's hand.  To contemplate these questions is to be engaged in philosophy.   


    The public have an insatiable curiosity to know everything, except what is worth knowing.  Oscar Wilde  *** and By The Way - Today is Oscar Wilde's Birthday ...


    How do you know what is worth knowing?  See its not the knowing, getting the answer that is in question.  Anyone can have an answer, many may even have the right answer.  But the thing I want to know is how do you know it's the right answer?  How did you get there from here?  The first part of philosophical pursuit is to learn basic patterns of thought and analysis.  To understand that there are rules of logic and rhetoric that guide us inevitably from premise to conclusion.  I'd be willing to venture that 90% of all the media discussion and debate I hear involving any given topic is riddled with fundamental errors of logic on both sides.  Logic by itself is no guarantee that people will reach the goal of wisdom, but without it, there is no hope.  I have from time to time here engaged in debate with the DreadPirate.  (And I live in hope that one day he will see the light on a number of topics.  )  One of the things that I appreciate about our discussions is his steadfast commitment to applying the rules of logic to his argument.  He has posted on his site, the truth tables used to evaluate statements to determine whether they are true or false. 


    The pure and simple truth is rarely pure and never simple.  Oscar Wilde


    Logic will get you through the first layer.  It can help me convince my father that I have reasoned through rather than excusing my behavior.  Logic alone cannot lead us any further than the determination of whether our premises are sound.  I can use logic to show that there is no contradiction, no rhetorical fallacy, and no ambiguity in my thought.  Logic will not tell me whether that thought is wise.  Logic doesn't tell me how to apply my knowledge.  


    Wisdom has built her house, she has hewn out her seven pillars; she has prepared her food, she has mixed her wine.  She has also set her table; she has sent out her maidens, she calls from the tops of the heights of the city.  "Whoever is naive, let him turn here!"  To him who lacks understanding she says, "Come!  Eat of my food.  Drink of the wine I have mixed.  Forsake your folly and LIVE!  And proceed in the way of understanding."  The Bible (Proverbs 9:1-6)


     



    My Dad in May - Wisely Choosing to eat his peach cobbler out of the sight of the grandkids.  He's 74 years old and still sends me logic puzzles that keep me up at night.

Comments (19)

  • How lucky you were to have a dad like that.  Even when he sneaks off to eat his cobbler.   A great blog on a subject dear to my heart.  There is indeed a big difference between wisdom and knowledge. 

  • Happy b-day, Oscar!

  • Quiltinmomi, you're scaring me with this logic talk,  :bugeyes: creating horrifying flashbacks of my college days in logic class.  I hated that class (no disrespect to you or your honorable father)!  I learned enough about logic to be dangerous.  Wisdom is the key.  Wisdom makes knowledge and logic worthwhile.

  • In matters of the mind, be ponderous.  But in matters of the heart, be light as a feather.

  • Your Dad is one smart cookie!  You are so lucky to still have him...I miss mine more than words can say.   Kira

  • you've waxed on beautifully here. *cheers* - to philosophy (twiddle sent be over here btw, and I'm quite glad I got to read this!) :2beers:

  •  :clap:

    The years make all of us old and very few of us wise.

  • Actually, I think the goal of the school system is to assign grades. It's not even to impart knowledge... (I'm leaving teachers out of this, most of whom want to impart knowledge)...much less wisdom.

    Gread discussion. Mike

  • Does logic require wisdom, and/or does wisdom require logic?  And are either of these two ideas really anything more than methods to convince someone of what they should or shouldn't do?  (Thus, political, and prescriptive)

    And, is it your many smileys that's causing me to be unable to see the cursor when I type in this box?  ;)

  • I took philosophy in college from a Dr. Bodo. Very odd little man with a pony tail and a motocycle.  Can't remember a single thing about the class except the above. 

  • o/

    God Bless - Dale

  • i love your blog, just fascinating stuff.

  • Philo-logy, dear Terri...  (logos being knowledge - the word)

    What I find disturbing in our modern life is the preponderance of logical inconsistency...  and most people don't even seem to care about that.  It's a long descent into chaos, and we're in the handbasket.

    What we lack (in America, and much of thw western world) is teaching of balance in all things.  Balance of knowledge and wisdom.  Nature and nurture.  Art and Craft.  Growth and Stillness.

    I am not sure where I was going, but I know I'm at least thinking about it all (a little - it IS late, after all).  Thanks for the provocation!

  • You are so lucky to have a dad like that.

  • I'm all for logic.......until I get emotional about something, and then I just throw in the tear-soaked towel .  What an exquisite photo of your father.  He has a well-raised daughter, that one!  (my dad also gave, and gives, me logic puzzles.  I seldom pass ). 

  • wow... that's a pretty cool dad

  • ...have a great weekend.  See you 'round. 

    S`grrrl.

  • Your dad is mad cool! ! (kudos for unwittingly using several Wilde quotes on his bday. it was meant to be! )

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment