September 27, 2002

  • Are you a true blue loyal type?


    I had a conversation earlier this week in which the concept of brand loyalty came up.  Okay, my friend mentioned that she would always and forever use a particular brand and I laughed.  I know, that was rude of me.  Brand loyalty strikes me as somewhat old fashioned and frankly a little odd.


    When I shop I look at quality, price, availability of technical support, compatibility with other items I own, costs of maintenance, ease of exchange if things don't work out.  Can the product me customized to my preferences?  Is the same thing available in a generic?  The brand hasn't ever been much of a selling point.   I'm not a good target for designer products, I don't care about labels.


    The only brand I can think of that I've been loyal too has been diet coke.  Only recently I've developed an intolerance for nutrasweet/aspartame.  I know, some of you have been saying for years that nutrasweet came from Satan, but I've hung in there.  Then I started devloping symptoms that couldn't be explained.  Pain in my joints - a lot of pain in ALL my joints.  Even my toes hurt.  The doctor didn't know what it was, it went way beyond the arthritis pain I've dealt with for years.  Unlike arthritis, there was no inflamation, just pain.  When it was all said and done, I have no tolerance for nutrasweet.  The stuff is aparently broken down by some people into the same poison that makes fire ants - firey.  I am one of those statistical few.


    So I quit drinking diet coke, adding nutrasweet to my tea, and eating low calorie yogurt.  (There really weren't many sources of nutrasweet in my diet, so it was fairly easy to identify and eliminate.)  Within 36 hours of the time I had my last diet coke, my joints were clear of pain.  Is this starting to sound like an infomercial?  I'm just amazed at how quickly the pain disappeared. 


    So what does that have to do with brand loyalty?  I notice that since I'm avoiding nutrasweet products I'm finding a lot more stuff on the shelves to choose from.  I'm sampling herbal teas (some of which I sweeten with a drop or two of honey.)  I'm appreciating my filter more as I drink more plain old water.  I've had fruit juice with my bagel, and I'm enjoying an occasional ginger ale.  I had forgotten how much I like ginger ale.  Is it really less sweet than other pop?  Or does it just taste that way?  The other day, I thought I really must have caffeine, and I bought regular coke.  I was up half the night, so I'm back to my decaff state. 


    I have a little more loyalty to stores than to products.  I shop Walmart and Target because of the relatively low prices, but I don't shop there exclusively.  I shop Barnes and Noble online because I live out in the country where the nearest bookstore is an hour away.  From my desk, I can find the books I want online, and Barnes and Noble will ship them to me free of shipping and handling.  I compare their prices to other online options - half.com, Amazon, buybooks.com, and others.  I can usually get popular books through half.com for pennies on the dollar so that's been a good option, but for new books, it's hard for me to find a better price than I can get through Barnes and Noble. 


    How about you?  Are you loyal to a brand?  If you are, what kind of product is it?  Are you more or less loyal to a brand than you were five or ten years ago? 



    Wormy has a blog today about good, evil, necessity, causality, and perception.  And I'd recommend it even if he weren't my favorite brother. 

Comments (31)

  • I'm not so much loyal as lazy.  A creature of habit.  I find something I like and I stick with it.  The older I get the more resistent to change I seem to be getting, but, if something needs changing, I'll change it.  I suppose this is a kind of brand loyalty:  I have discovered in my time on this planet that there are a few things that are absolutely NOT worth it to buy the non-name brand.  Kraft Macaroni & Cheese.  Saran Wrap.  Charmen Ultra. 

    Substitute at your peril

  • I'm loyal to Heinz Ketchup, I've tried others and I think its better than  any of the others I've tried.

    I'm also loyal to the "Green Giant" veggie people. AND I like the coca cola brand diet coke best!!

  • I am less loyal now since I own a house and stepped into the real world.    However, between Kevin and I there are things that we stick to name brands on.  Cottonelle or Charmin, Philly Cream Cheese, brand name cereals, Dial soap, Pantene Hairspray, Crest toothpaste, Starbucks coffee beans (now, they can be substituted with Gloria Jeans or Coffee Beanery), Wonder or Rainbo bread, and the list goes on.  But, things I have bought in generics that I didn't used to are Kroger cheese slices, bleach (why did I wait on this, I ask),  non stick cooking spray, decaf tea bags, and the list goes on.  However, when I bake I tend to buy more generic stuff than I ever used to.  The cream cheese thing, I can bake or cook with generic but would never eat the generic on a bagel.  blah. 

  • Wait, maybe I should never say never, huh?  That might bite me in the booty some day!

  • Got over MOST brand loyalties when I left the country, but there still are a few I prefer when I can get them...Kraft Parmesan Cheese, Folger's Coffee and Jif Peanut Butter...other than that, I've forgotten American brands.  In Turkey, I buy only a certain brand of turkey hot dogs and turkey cold cuts...but only because I've tried the others and hate the taste.***Isn't wormy your ONLY brother?  ~off to read it now~***Spot

  • Wormy is your brother?  I was guessing he was some sort of close friend or relative, being as how you're the first person he subscribed to on his list

    I've got my brands, girlfriend.  I'm not washing my clothes in anything but Tide.  I'm not using softener unless it's Downey.  Tide/Downey combo.  Won't live without them.  When it comes to laundry, you get what you pay for.  I have my standards, don't you know?

    Now, when it comes to food, if it's good, I'll eat it.  I'm not picky.  I'll try anything once.  Not all store brands are created equally, so I'll give them a chance, but if they fail me, watch out.  It's not pretty.  When it comes to grape juice, it has to be Welch's.  Have you tasted store brand grape juice?  I'm sorry, but it doesn't compare.  Unless you've never had Welch's and then ignorance is bliss.  Ketchup is ketchup isn't it? 

    Clothes--I'm just happy if they fit--I prefer good quality (that fit). 

    Stores--there are certain stores I will not enter without having my arm twisted--K Mart, Wal Mart.  I've experienced too much frustration to go back.  I'm making a statement to those stores that goes something like this:  "I don't like you, go away." Target has never let me down.

    Sheesh, I better shut up.  This is a whole blog here!  Look what you do to me, quiltinmomi!

  • ::steps to microphone...clears throat::

    "
    hello?  my name is Lucky?  and I'm a brand bitch?  I...I...must have campbells soup, coffeemate, folgers and maxwell house...diet coke...hidden valley ranch...etc...etc...etc...
    I...I...i'm so ashamed...."

    ::
    shuffles off stage w/head hanging low::

  • LOL!  LuckyStars!  I'm dying!

  • I'm CHEAP.  There are very few items that I won't go generic on.  I have found that the Sams Club brand of picante sauce is exactly like Pace and less than half the price.  Cream cheese is cream cheese to me.  The only thing I will not go completely generic on is chocolate chips for cookies.  Nestle, Bakers, or Ghiradelli - never store brand.  I tried it once and my cookies were...um...grainy?  No no no no no! 

    We don't even buy soup in cans anymore, except for casserole stuff and then the generics are fine.  We do Ramen noodles (heh...ok...the store brand Ramen noodle things) and the kids prefer it.  Kraft Mac and Cheese?  Surely you jest!  I refuse to buy one when I can buy three for the same price - my kids don't know the difference.

    My favorite generic story:  Nick went through a PopTart phase a year or so ago.  Now those damn things are pricey!  So at Walmart I got the Sams Club brand for $1.25 a box.  Then the real thing went on sale locally and I got a box of them.

    Nick hated them.  They tasted "funny".

    Gotta love that, when the kid likes the taste of cheap and generic better! 

  • Personally, I am loyal to my pocket book. If the name brand gives me the best value, so be it. I will not settle for poor quality however just to save a few pennies. It's such a balancing act to get quality and value. Brand loyalty just skews the scales!

  • Personally, I am loyal to my pocket book. If the name brand gives me the best value, so be it. I will not settle for poor quality however just to save a few pennies. It's such a balancing act to get quality and value. Brand loyalty just skews the scales!

  • LOL!~ LuckyStars, you are funny.

    Breyers Ice Cream! Need I say more.

  • We all have some type of loyality. What I really hate are "loyality cards" like Kroger, that force you to be loyal. Say. Isn't that Satan's way? Force. No free will. Maybe that's why I call the Kroger card a "demon card."

  • I don't do the brand loyalty thing. For one, I have some objections to certain large corporate practices, but I won't clutter your comments section with my ranting on that.

    A lot of people have issues with artificial sweeteners, additives, colours and flavors. I, for one, despise nutrasweet. I can't stand the taste. I use "raw" plantation sugar in my coffee, and honey in my teas, and I'm not at all convinced that sugar is evil. It's just one more source of calories that needs to be taken into consideration.

  • Well for the most part, I don't care about name brands. I love Target (targhay) and Walmart. There are 2 places I will spend the money on, and it is because after time I have realized I save in the long run because they last or are just better made. I get my bath products and Bath and Body works - they don't irritate my skin. And I have to shop at shh,Vic Secret. Mucho bucks but the stuff lasts a long time. Other than that. I don't really care.

  • Like Spot, I'm living outside the US.  I'm just thrilled if I can find some things at all, forget about brands!  Anyway, I like the idea of giving the little guys a chance to prove they are just-as-good-as.  Competition is good for everybody!!

  • I really can't think of any particular brand of anything I am loyal too.  I'm usually looking for the best price. o/

    God Bless - Dale

  • Spot: Hee Hee Hee - yes, I have two sisters, but wormy is my only brother.  It's been a joke with us for years.  All his sisters say to him, but YOU'RE my FAVORITE brother!

  • Used to be loyal until the prices of the generic brands couldn't be ignored.

  • I am an utter and complete price/quality whore. I go where I can get the most for my money, always.

  • I'm a Buick man, but only because they've been great cars. I won't buy a crapmobile just because it's a Buick.

  • I only buy Yoplait Whips because it satisfies my sweet tooth. I only buy Clorox bleach. Also, 90% of the time I use Arm & Hammer laundry detergent because I feel that it's easier on the environment than other detergents. Oh, I only buy Dawn too because the hubby uses it to get grease off of him due to the type of work he does.

    One thing that I find interesting is that many people only buy namebrand prescriptions because they think that the generic brands won't heal/help them as well. It's the same medicine, just cheaper.

    Faith

  • Faith: You just mentioned the one other thing that I think I alway buy the same brand of, Dawn dishwashing soap.  It is the absolute best at cutting grease.

  • Heck no, I'll buy any brand that meets my standards.  And standards are defined by ingredients, purpose & of course cost comparison.  I tend to believe the generics are just as good as the brand names in most cases.

  • Hi quiltnmomi.  Whitecloud tp because it doesn't clog the drains or chafe the butts and Tide because of allergies.  If a brand is loyal to me, I will be to it.  I have walked away when quality slipped or the price got too high but never have been a brand-name shopper.  Most brand names seem to have a view toward fewer buyers and higher price.... but they justify higher price by advertising costs... so just how effective is the advertising?LOL  BTW have you tried Splenda?  It is made from sugar - tastes just like it.  I haven't used even a pound of sugar since I started using it.  Hubby had trouble with nutrasweet and doesn't with it.  Royal Crown cola uses it.  Diet Rite doesn't have caffeine. Diet RC does.

  • Well, I just read that. LOL  That pound of sugar could have been used in a week - right? LOL  I've been using Splenda for a year and used less than a pound of sugar during that year because you can use Splenda for everything... even baking.  Just wanted to clear that up.

  • We have to read on the box the composition of the product . Aren' t those indications obligatory in USA .
    Now the poducts are really too much sophisticated .
    Michel

  • Ok - moment of truth for Fugitive - the only things I am TRULY brand loyal about are toothpaste and condoms. 

    **blushes because I mentioned the "c" word** 

  • Brand name is rarely my motivator. It is usually price, quality and reliability.  For example my first computer was a pack bell, it was not a very big brand but the level of service for the price was good.  It lasted a long long time almost 8 years!  My second was a Hewlitt Pakcard, service level was bad, price good, my newest is a sony.  So far any sony product i have purchased has proved to be very reliable and very abuse proof :)  

    The only place i pretty loyally shop is Stater Bros and that is because of all the markets they are the lowest with the best quality meats.

    I have used generics whenever possible and sometimes they are no match others they are the same. 

    Good blog topic

    Belinda

  • Nevertheless however your own vocabulary are wise
    free games | downloadable games | online games

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment