August 23, 2002

  • You had me at hello -


    Have you ever noticed that there's an odd sort of relationship between questions and answers?  Intuitively it seems simple.  You notice a gap in your knowledge - you put it into words - and voila?! a question is born.  Then you look around, make some obeservations, maybe read a doctoral dissertation or two, and you fill in the gaps - there you have it - the answer to the question. 


    Only every answer raises at least two more questions.  And frankly, the more certain the answer seems, the less I've learned to trust it.  Sometimes I find myself asking questions that I didn't know were questions.  When I think on a particular concept and maybe even write out what I think I know about it, questions appear out of thin air.  I didn't KNOW there was a gap in the knowledge until I got it down on paper.  Then like cream cheese on a bagel, little gaps appear.  Before my eyes the gaps widen until the honey is running all down in the bagel and dripping through for my waiting poodle to lap it up.


    Then its back to thinking, back to the books, back to research, and back to writing down answers that become questions that require answers that become questions.  Have you ever heard this one, "an intellectual is a person who has been educated beyond his intelligence."  Or how about this one, "Egghead: A person of spurious intellectual pretensions, often a professor of the protege of a professor.  Fundamentally superficial.  Overemotional and feminine in reaction to any problem.  Supercilious and surfeited with conceit and conctempt for the experience of more sound and stable men.  A self-conscious prig, so given to examining all sides of an issue that he becomes thoroughly addled while remaining in the same spot."  When you hear the word intellectual - doesn't you mind automatically fill in the object "elite."  I've heard the two words "intellectual elite" together so often that they seem like the brands that I automatically reach for at the Supermarket.  I can't think of the one without the other. 


    I spent most of the first 20 years of my life in bitter resentment of the teachers who commented on my "intelligence" in class, in front of my peers.  How dare they tar me with that brush!  "Don't listen to them, I'm not really that smart!  I'm no different from anyone else.  Look, I missed a problem on that last algebra test, see!?  I'm not smart, I'm not different and I'm certainly not one of those people." 


    If you look up the word gullible in the dictionary - there I am.  I'm not gullible about ideas - I'm irritatingly nitpicky about the nuances of philosophy, theology, and scientific theory.  But, put me in with a bunch of real live people and stir . . . I think it should be more automatic that I could relate to beings who after all are of the same species!  And most people I meet seem to think that I do relate well.  I have a nice smile, and I'm genuinely interested in other people, how they feel, what they think, what kinds of things they find important.  But I learned a long time ago, that it just isn't safe to tell them in return what *I* think, feel and value.  Mostly, it just gets me odd looks and head shakes.  Sometimes people get hostile, they assume that if I have a different opinion than they hold that I must be committed to proving that I'm right and they are wrong. 


    For a lot of different reasons - overuse of sarcasm from the adults who raised me, past experiences where I've misunderstood what people were saying, and my own awareness of the gaps - I am very seldom committed wholeheartedly to the absolute truth of an proposition.  That doesn't meant that there aren't things I think are true - but I recognize that even if it is true - it's impossible (at least from my point of view) for any particular truth to be exhaustively true.  No single statement answers every question that might be asked of it.  So when I talk with you, I do pretty well at listening to your ideas.  Here on Xanga at least, I find it easy to talk about my own ideas.


    In general, I assume that you are an interested listener and a willing participant in the process of asking questions, looking for answers, and asking more questions.  I'm going to choose to take your statements at face value - if you meant it sarcastically, well, I most likely didn't "get it."  If you want to argue with me on points of fact, I'll most probably wrinkle my brow and reach for whatever heavy book is closest by that refers to that point or concept.  If you have some need for me to be "wrong," you'll find that I'm not resistant to that notion, if may very well be that I get excited because you've helped me find another of those intriguing cracks that make life interesting.


    If that's not your intent.  If you only start a dialogue because you are looking for a way to practice your skill at making another person feel foolish - I'm not a good target.  Not because I never feel foolish, but because I always feel foolish.  I'm not going to "get it."  I may in fact come across to you as arrogant, stubborn, conceited, eggheadish or any number of other negative words you might attach to the term "intellectual."  I'm not in high school anymore, and I think I may have finally grown out of the need to reassure people that I'm "not different."  I'm not tolerant, I'm exhilarated by the differences in the way we think.  Every difference I find is another rung on my ladder of understanding my world.  Not to mention, in my mellow maturity, I've come to appreciate your right to be wrong. 

Comments (28)

  • You have a thirst for knowledge that will never be quenched.  I like that about you

  • Good gravy, lady!  Your brain needs a vacation!

  • i like differences in opinion, too. i am willing to convince or be convinced, as long as the process never becomes violent. it is this difference that teaches us something new, or gives us the chance to validate what we think is right.

  • Okay, I think I get it.  It's not about smart - it's about curiosity - it's not about right or wrong, it's about the discovery of new questions.  I think I'd like to sit down and have a cup of tea with you. 

  • Uummmm ...... all I see are "chickies" and "duckies". 

  • "like cream cheeze on a bagel, little gaps appear."  I have so got to find a way to use that in a story or poem or something...!

    You know, if you find it easiest to express your ideas on Xanga, then might it be said that you are more real here than you are in person?  That kind of goes against what you and fugitive have been saying lately about how your expression of yourself on xanga is only a small piece of who you really are.  Perhaps a person could get to know you better by reading your blogs than by meeting you in person. ; )

    KB

  • "... your right to be wrong."

    Now there is a 'statement' for you!

    ;}

    Sail on.. sail on!!!!

  • I found a great deal of familiarity with both your experiences and the way you deal with questions. I am a confirmed debate junkie who is in it for the exchange of ideas, not to sway another - to hear the questions that had not occured to me. I'm finding it a bit more difficult of late to find those willing to exchange ideas. Too often it seems to be about personality and vituperative attacks on others.

    I'm glad you're here.

    As far as questions go, perhaps you can help me with this morning's pondering - why is y only sometimes a vowel? I'm sure there is logic behind it, but I can't see it at the moment.

  • Woohoo!  I really liked that one!  I love to debate, but I think I do it more for entertainment than anything.  Debating to me is like a game of chess.  People make logical moves back and forth, until one person's reasoning leads to a logical conclusion that cannot be argued. 

    Well, that's how it's supposed to work in my little world.  Usually I get the stares and head shakes too.  It's not they think they are wrong and I'm right.  I think they are actually amazed that someone could so logically get to so stupid a point!

  • This is why I love reading your posts!! You make me think - not everyone can do that! Have a great weekend

  • Your quest for answers and discription of the gaps is  poetic.  All too true. 

    ?? who is the you referred to?? 

  • Wow - you guys left me great comments.  I'm thinking about them all! 

    Kyle - that's a wonderful point about getting to know me through the things I say on Xanga that I won't bring up in real life - I don't know if it's true you could know me "better" from the blogs - but I'll certainly grant that you'll have a different knowledge than the one my real world friends and acquaintances possess.

    GC_13 - there isn't any particular "you" that this is directed to - it's a general "you" encompassing all people I might meet or talk with.  I wrote more to past situations than the people involved in them.  But on my short list - are all people from my real life - the pastor who told me that because I didn't occupy my time with more "womanly" things my boys were going to grow up not knowing what it means to be real men is at the top.  Close behind him is the fellow who told me that it the true intent of scripture required me to refuse to teach a class that included men.  The third on the list is a former friend who served with me on a personnel committee and blamed me publicly for statements that he himself made because he knew that I would play by the rules of confidentiality.  All these people spent a great deal of time trying ot prove that I was "wrong" and I can state with a clear conscience that not one of them ever stopped to really understand what I was saying - so their argument wasn't against me it was against their idea of what I represented to them.  I've learned in those circumstances it does not good to try and correct their opinion, they just have to be granted the "right to be wrong" and I have to move on.

    Season - I too have had difficulty finding people who were able to discuss without getting personally involved in the ideas.  Its not fun when someone reacts as though I've attacked them when I ask a question.

  • God Bless - Dale

  • Taking to world too  personal is one of my greatest flaws and one that is the most difficult to lose

  • SSRIs

    I think the important criterion is if they are necessary for what you are suffering from...that was my only point. SSRIs seem to be prescribed like candy for a multitude of ailments these days - but some of them have a darker side. If the condition and the medicine are compatible, then I have no trouble with it...it is just when people are prescribed the wrong medicine and it makes their life worse. (Ely Lilly are in and out of court all of the time...answering lawsuits because of ruining someone's life.)

    Even on television they are saying that "this medication might not be suitable for everyone" - I guess what they are saying, is that some people might have adverse reactions to them...thereby indicating that they are not as safe as people are saying.

    From my own experience, life in a netherlandy world of feeling like a zombie is not for me - but then, I am very susceptible to the effects of drugs...so not everybody is going to react the same as I did. (I did think that maybe my LSD use might have had some effect on why SSRIs effect me that way that they do.)

    Prozac made me suicidal - and it has had the same effect on a large number of people in this country...people that didn't feel that way before they started taking it. I'm not saying that Prozac is a bad drug...I am merely saying that people should realise the risks and take note of them for the future. (It does worry me that people might take them for long periods though...and when they need to come off of them - because of toxicity - that their life then becomes a total nightmare.)

  • Bravo!

    You can't ever trust answers completely, that's just good science. (Unfortunately kinda rare. Just wait till relativity falls, there will be panic in the halls.)

    Applause also for being different. I still haven't gotten the hang of being comfortable with that. I spent years trying to kill brain cells so I could fit in better, to no avail.

  • Boy did that plug me into "school" and the labels that go with it. Going to "special" classes (oh course mine weren't because I was "intelligent".) Labels are just that labels...they don't but attempt to say in one word a whole, living, moving, thinking, creative, soul. Anyway, I enjoyed the emotional ride. Thanks.

  • I've heard that closing phrase an awful lot since getting married!

  • "I'm not tolerant, I'm exhilarated by the differences in the way we think.  Every difference I find is another rung on my ladder of understanding my world."  Amen!  Well said!   Spot

  • Thanks for answering my question..... Those folks would certainly set me off.  Though lately I've calmed down with my reactions to some really devious behavior at my work with this comment..... Your going to love it.  I've improved upon the 'I don't give a Rat's Ass.'  Meaning I'm not letting their behavior and little games get to me.

    I ask 'Have you seen a Rat's Ass?  Well I have.....' and leave it at that.... Then try my best to calmly word my responses.

    Anyway that's my quick fix remedy when things happen that I would normally get really upset over.....

  • Ooops..... make that 'Have you EVER seen....

  • Well put.  I like to debate, and am definitely known for my "outrageous" way of thinking.  I'm glad to have found some wonderful people who, like me, think outside the loop, and are willing to look, and actually think about something before they spout it off.  Thank you.

  • Yum. Bagel with cream cheese and honey. Yum.

    That is what this blog was about wasn't it...oh, no. I think I'll go eat and read it again.
    Ok, I'm back. Oh, yes know I see. Lets try this again.

    I've often thought of myself as Intellectual but never Elite. And I'm sick of people dismissing me for being "too smart" or "thinking too much." Especially my own family. I do enjoy discussions though, not so much to prove someone wrong (though that does sometimes feel damn good), but to expand my knowledge. Like you I enjoy it when someone beats me and I have to think of things in a new way. I am a bit of a prig though. Okay, a really huge prig but I'm working on that.

  • An intelligent blog!  As one how debates the meaning of words its nice to read of someone who also finds them fascinating.  Best regards, Tom

  • Extremely interesting blog - which generated some fascinating comments!  I love reading them all!

    Have a great weekend, and thanks for all your advice regarding my current "situation", it is very much appreciated!

  • Beautiful! You have been able to write a lot of the way I too feel but do not put into words. Some great comments here too.

  • You are unbelievably eloquent...enviably so (to me).  See...I have these ideas, thoughts, etc...but can never seem to put them into words.  Thank goodness someone can.

    The story about teachers pointing out how smart you are....   I had  counselor do that once to me...in the hall...backed me up against the wall and harangued me for flunking classes when I had an IQ near genius.  Of course, foot traffic stopped and my peers turned to stare.  Ah, me.  The only response I could think of in my state of pure mortification was, "maybe I'm just bored."  pah...he meant well...just didn't plan out his attact to carefully.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment