January 10, 2009

  • You are what you eat …

    ‘kay here’s the deal.  I’ve been whining and complaining for over 6 months about how bad I feel and how sick I am although no one can figure out what’s wrong with me.  The Dr. doesn’t know, I don’t know, the people I stop on the street corner and ask for advice … they don’t know either.  So I decided at the first of the year that I would see a Naturopath to see if she could figure out what was wrong with me.

    I figured based on conversations with the co-worker who recommended this appointment that she would want to do a nutrition evaluation.  The best thing then would be for me to have a log of what I’ve been eating to show her.  Some of you may remember that I used to regularly use (and have recommended) a website called Sparkpeople  (www.sparkpeople.com) where they have the tools available to log your food, fitness, that goal to refrain from spitting when you see that neighbor who walks her dog over to your yard for its daily business … whatever you need to do to have a better life, you can track it at Sparkpeople.

    When I went back to Sparkpeople to start my log, I wondered if in the data base of hundreds of articles they had anything on “edema” that might point me in a direction we haven’t explored previously.  There at the bottom of the page, in the final paragraph I found this “Low protein levels in the blood caused by malnutrition, kidney and liver disease can cause edema. The proteins help to hold salt and water inside the blood vessels so fluid does not leak out into the tissues. If a blood protein called albumin gets too low, fluid is retained and edema occurs, especially in the feet, ankles and lower legs.”

    Hmmmmmm

    Well, we’ve already checked for everything else, what if I have a malnutrition issue? 

    So last Friday, I started adding lean protein to my diet in large amounts.  I’m not eating a lot of extra meat, I’m adding a lo carb protein drink to each meal.  I get 15-18 grams of protein in each one.  Oh, and I’m drinking more water because I know from past experience that higher protein in my diet means I need more water and we’ll just leave it at that. 

    So, between Friday and Monday I had such a serious reduction in swelling that on Monday I didn’t even wear the support socks.  Last night when I came home from work and took off my shoes, my feet weren’t swollen at all.  AT ALL.  These feet have been swollen beyond recognition for SIX MONTHS.  They aren’t swollen tonight at all.  To put that into context, my feet went from a size 8.5 to a 6.5 in seven days time.  My loafers that I’ve been wearing to work sound like flip flops when I walk they are so much too big now.  One week of added protein made that much difference.

    I’m still going to see the Naturopath on Tuesday.  But we won’t be having the conversation I thought we’d be having when I made the appointment.  It’s hard to believe that my problem was malnutrition.  You’d think that would be the last place to look!   It’s not like I don’t eat. 

    Wild huh.      

    *******

    Sparkpeople is completely free.  The data base of articles is found under the “Your Health” section, A-Z.  Medical content is reviewed by the staff of the Harvard Medical School.

    *******

    My little SIMS family has six kids now.  The oldest three just left for college and Dad is sad.  He just bought this big house for them all and now it’s too empty.  Mom is kind of okay with taking a break, but Dad has this way of looking at her that suggests that there will probably be more babies coming …

     

Comments (29)

  • good for you … it is so true that “you are what you eat” … glad you discovered the naturopath … and are feeling better … you can even have a test done from your hair sample that will tell you what is missing in your diet …

  • Wow! That is amazing. I am happy that something is working for you. I love Sparkpeople. Reminds me I should probably go back to using my account there. I had a time crunch and Xanga won…. ha! 

  • I’m so glad you posted this. A friend recently went to a nutritionist for an evaluation. Low protein in her diet was part of the problem. She’s found the depression she’s struggled with for years is not as bad now. Amazing, the ways our diets effect us.

  • Wow. I’m so glad that you found your answer, but isn’t it strange that nutrition would be the problem? I mean, most folks are over-nourished!

  • Wow that is so great you found what was wrong. Judi

  • It’s so good you’ve found the answer.  I’m glad for you.  Thanks for sharing the website too.

  • I am so heading to that website!

    And, I was never good at Sims. My people kept catching the stove on fire and dying. Finally, I just let them all stay dead.

  • That’s is something!  Wow.  I’m so happy for you that so much swelling has been reduced so quickly!  Amazing.  Good luck with that appointment.    Knowledge is power!

  • That’s great that you figured that out.  Fantastic.

  • That is great.  It’s amazing what one can find online.  Good luck with the new way of eating and the Naturopath.

  • Congratulations on figuring out what works!  Low-carb/high-protein is the answer to my dad’s problems too.  For a lot of people who go on Atkins (and I know that’s not what you’re doing), their triglyceride and cholesterol levels go up.  My dad, who forwent all meat all the time and stuck mostly to fish and chicken and veggies, found improvement in all areas of his health.  It’s amazing, that.    Good job!

  • Go gluten-free.  Seriously.

  • Amazing information.  I’ve got an aunt that I’m planning to recommed this site to.  I’m so exciting for you that your symptoms seem to be disappearing.  Once your body is back in balance, everything else will follow.

  • Aw I’m glad your feeling better ^.^ And thanks for the site, I’m def going to tell my friend about it =]

  • Glad things are looking better.  And thanks for the tip.  I’ll check out the site and maybe get a few ansers myself.

  • ooo them sims have been getting busy I always feel guilty when they exercise and I watch them!  LOL

  • i’m pleased for you terri. i’ve never heard of sparkspeople. will check it out …

  • I wonder if maybe the problem was dehydration, rather than insufficient protein?  It’s really hard for an American to get too little protein.  

  • I would share that with everyone you know and then some.Regular Dr’s can’t sell drugs if you have a natural way so they won’t tell you Squat!  Bravo, for the most part you can get a lot of what you need on line. I use MayoClinic.com or Dr Weil.com there is always RealAge.com as which is great advice. Bravo for taking it into your own hands and coming out with great results.

  • This is of great help to me. I’m trying to cut down on fat and such; take fewer pills my doctor has me on, etc..
    This will be a good source for me.

    Thanks a lot and have a great week and 2009.
    Uncle Jim

  • Terrific blog.  Terrificker news.

  • i’m a chocolate bar

  • Glad to hear you are putting the pieces of your health puzzle together!

  • Where you been you are missed. Judi

  • how goes things? are you writing? are you eating? is work killing you? are the boys still being themselves? i find myself craving a tucker story!!!! it’s cold and miserable here…

  • When you coming back?  You okay?

  • I am glad to know you are much better ; Of course the nutrition is important .
    A well balanced diet is source of health .
    The modern way of life leads to an exces of Carbon hydrats and not enough proteines and veggies .

    Love

    Michel

  • i just came over here to wish myself a HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!   *shglaf*

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *