September 25, 2008

  • One of My Kind …

    Remember the old INXS song?

    I need you tonight
    Cause I’m not sleeping
    There’s something about you girl
    That makes me sweat

    So slide over here
    And give me a moment
    You moves are so raw
    I’ve got to let you know
    I’ve got to let you know
    You’re one of my kind

    One of my kind.  I want to be kind.  I want to be part of a kindred.  (I’m not trying to make anyone sweat, and in fact, I think that line is creepy.) 

    Tomorrow is Western Day at work and we’re supposed to bring chili.  Okay.  I’m in New Mexico where people are more than a little weird about their chile.  In the first place, they spell it with an “e”.  In the second place, they distinguish between Texan, Mexican, and New Mexican and depending on what crowd you’re with you could be run out of the state if you accidentally get them mixed up.  So am I brave enough to take a pot of MY chili to work tomorrow.

    Heck yeah.

    This is MY state now. 

    So I’m heading into the grocery store tonight because I need some beans for my chili.  I’m going in, there’s an old man coming out.  I paused with my cart.  (Yeah, I felt I needed a cart for two cans of beans, what can I say.)  I was trying to be polite, allowing him to go first.  He glared and proceeded to remonstrate with me for being “one of those kinds of people who hold up everyone behind them.”

    I looked around. 

    There was no one behind me.  No one beside me.  No one in sight of me except the boy who was supposed to be bringing in carts but was instead wrestling with his buddy and ripped his pants from ankle to whitey tighteys as I was approaching the store.  He could see me but he was sliding in through the cart door with his backside carefully turned toward the wall and he wasn’t moving very fast.  I really doubt I was impeding him from his important business. 

    Nope, for all intents and purposes it was just me and the old man.  The old man who was able in a single glance in less than a second to size me up and pronouce me “one of THOSE kind”.  Definitely not HIS kind. 

    Hmmmmm.

    Or maybe I was one of his kind because just like that I decided that he was a cantankerous old coot who probably wouldn’t like my chili.. 

Comments (14)

  • He’s not worthy of your chili!!!!! But I am…:D Mmmmm….chilllllli….

  • if you put beans in that chili, don’t call it texas chili. one of the first things i learned after i moved here was beans go with chili, but not IN it here…
    i like chili lots of different ways, so i’ll eat it with or without beans. those new mexicans do love their chilies for their chile. donkey’s sister’s hubby goes there every year to get chilies, roast & freeze them, but this year’s haul had to be trashed after they lost power for more than a week after ike blew through…

  • In Texas, they say that if you know beans about chili, you know beans don’t belong in it.  My favorite dish at a chili cook-off a few years ago was the chili-hater’s chili: a huge batch of homemade mac and cheese.  Good luck!

  • I love chili………….Neat post……..mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

  • split pants would’ve made me forget all about the cantankerous old coot.  i’d've been too busy laughing and thanking the lardass gods that i wasn’t the one with the a/c jeans.

    maybe the old man needed some beans?  ifyouknowwhatimean

  • Funny, funny post.  Have fun with the chili (or chile).

  • It is getting to be chili time.  Poor old man-wonder if he ever realized what a nutso he made of himself!

  • PS _ My chili is kind of the “anti-chili”

    It’s white chili with chicken, cannellini beans, onion, garlic …

  • I love chili.  My mom makes a chicken chili that is similar to yours.  Sometimes she’ll mix in some black beans with the white beans in what I have dubbed “tuxedo chili.”  I thought I was clever with that one   I spent a lot of time in Texas, so I appreciate chili sans beans, but my husband, born and raised there, always puts beans in his family recipe.  My dad likes the beans, but his gout doesn’t, so they go back and forth on that.
    As for being of a kind, a kindred, I think you’re a kindred to cool people (like me, of course).  Then again, I also tend to be fond of cantankerous old men.  I respect their experience and ideas, but if they’re wrong about something like that, I have the tendency to laugh at them and their misconceptions. 

  • Oh….white chili….that sounds good!  Can you send me the recipe or post it? 

    You’re one of my kind.    I don’t know why people have to be so danged mean.  Sigh.  Well, the gospel net does gather of every kind….am I right or am I right? 

    This post was great.

  • That’s when you hit back with the eternal favorite politeness/rude remark, “I was raised to respect my elders, and I doubt I’ll ever meet anyone older than you.” 

    BTW, how’s the free life-membership from credits going?

  • No matter how you spell it (it IS ChilE, btw…), I imagine yours was quite excellent, since you’re such a fantastic cook!

  • You sure it wasn’t John McSame you ran into at Smith’s?

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *