September 20, 2008

  • Well, Ollie, that’s another fine mess you’ve gotten us into …

    … okay, there’s not really a mess here today (other than the usual clutter) but that phrase was in my mind, so hey, I’m using it as a title even though it bears no relationship to the content.  That seems to be the trend these days and I don’t want to be left out.

    We’ve already gotten off to a good start by sleeping in.  Then we had our Sumptuous Saturday breakfast.  This week’s menu was banana/pecan pancakes in lemon batter, bacon, ham, fresh pineapple and watermelon.  With fresh coffee – I received a gift of whole coffee beans a couple years ago (my how time flies!) and that made me a believer in freshly ground and quickly brewed.  Yummy.

    The laundry is laundering.  I’ve already vacuumed.  The kids have brought me their sheets to wash (so hopefully we can reduce if not entirely eliminate that “I’m a 12-14 year old boy” smell that wafts from their room.)

    One of my co-worker’s birthday is today, so I’m heading out here in a few minutes to pick up some beads for a necklace design I have in mind.  I think it’s always a little chancy to give someone a gift you’ve made yourself, because of course you know how much work went into it, and how much of yourself is in that box.  But she has admired some of my other work, so I feel confident that she will appreciate this one.

    I saw a design at the State Fair in the craft exhibits last week that I’m dying to try.  It looks like it will be pretty labor intensive, but it was gorgeous, and I want to try working it in my colors.  (purple or teal)

    20 years ago, planning my wedding, I wanted my colors to be dusty rose and teal, and wanted the wedding to be in March.  We wound up getting married in December and our colors were white and red.  Now as a Razorback Hawg fan, it’s not that there’s any objection to white/red from me.  But I don’t want to live in a football stadium. 

    My closet has a lot of rich jewel-toned blouses and the colors I lean toward most are the teal/aqua or plum/maroon/purple families.  I’m going to need some long bugle beads for this one, and I haven’t found just the right ones yet, so it may take a little more looking before I’m ready to start work on the necklace for me.  In the meantime, I’ll create this other one for Joyce, based on a design she’s already expressed admiration for.  Man I hope she wasn’t just being polite. 

    So this evening, I have a couple other co-workers coming over for food and jewelry making.  I’m putting my actions where my commitment is to opening up and getting to know people better. 

    Happy Saturday to you!

Comments (8)

  • You go!  I hope you have a wonderful evening.   

  • You do take actions,  Good for you.  

  • It sounds like a great time! I love making things with my frineds… I don’t think you can go qwqrong with a home made gift… I wish I wouldget home made gifts! lol  Have fun, hope you ejoy the rest of your weekend!

  • Sounds like great fun. Good for you getting to know people better. Judi

  • Rock on!  Breakfast sounds wonderful, and now I really want some good coffee.  My mum and I watched Food Network tonight and one of the chefs made chocolate-covered bacon!  It was craaaazy! 

  • Boys that age do have a distinct smell about them, don’t they?  My son was commenting on the smell coming out of his son’s room.  Made me smile to think that same smile came out of his so many years ago.

  • so, are you saying you want someone to send more fresh coffee???

  • Teal and Aqua – a couple of my most favorite colors too – Have a great jewelry party, and a Happy Birthday to your friend.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *