June 18, 2008

  • As the sun sets ...

    ... on the first day of my 46th year.  I am a happy woman.  I'm packed for Chicago (except for my shoes) and I have had a most satisfying day. 

    I applied for a job today that I'm really excited about and hope to be offered.  I've applied for several jobs over the past couple of weeks but to be honest, no matter how much fun I think it would be, I don't really expect that I'll be hired to be a train engineer.  Nor do I expect a call back on that position as a facilities manager at the Sandia National Laboratory.  Honestly, it has been my intention to apply for the long shots first and then hone in on the more realistic positions after my trip.  But the one that came up today was just too good to pass up. 

    C'est la vie.  How fated is that?  To learn of a perfectly desirable position on my birthday? 

    Contentment is wafting through my apartment in palpable waves.  Miss Gladys (my cat) liberated a piece of prime bubble wrap from a package and took it to the cat bed where she is currently sleeping on it. 

    I have my itinerary planned for next week. 

    Powells bookstore
    the Museum of Contemporary Art
    The Metropolitan Library 
    Jazz Concert on the deck overlooking Lake Michigan
    Millennium Park (concert in the park)
    The Skydeck of Sears Tower
    The Hancock Observatory
    Cubs Game
    Wicked

    Roadtrip to Wisconsin for:
       Cheese
       The House on the Rock
       Frank Lloyd Wright home and museum, Taleisin

    Restaurants Include:
       Les Nomades
       Mirabell
       Smoque
       The Parthenon
       Puck's

    I'm packed and ready, except for this one pair of shoes I just can't leave behind ...

    packed


Comments (24)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *