May 31, 2008

  • It is Finished

    My last day was done at 4:30 yesterday afternoon and I am now officially unemployed again.  Because I qualify for unemployment insurance benefits, I will have about 6 months during which time if I fail to find other employment, I will still have income.  After that, I will have to start using savings to pay my rent, but I have enough there to carry me through another entire year before I'd be completely and utterly broke. 

    I'm certain that I will find something before these resources are utterly depleted.  So for the first time I can remember, I am approaching a time of unemployment without panic.  I have done the best job I could for this organization for two years, and now it's time to move on. 

    I still haven't told the boys.  As far as they know I workd yesterday just like always and then the weekend started.  I took them out to dinner to Mimi's for our regular Friday night treat.

    Today I'm going to get their prescriptions filled.  Because they have medications that require a new paper prescription to be walked into the pharmacy every month, I can't call anything in advance.  So I have to wait.  Since I'm getting them filled at a Super Walmart, I'm thinking I'll wait in the manicurist's shop and have my toes done. 

    I feel a little like the people at the end of Terminator 3 driving down a road that had suddenly opened with new possibility.  I've survived the battle, gained new skills which may or may not be of benefit in the kinder gentler world I see, and life feels good. 

     

Comments (18)

  • Change is good. You seem like a remarkably adaptive person.

  • i'm glad you see the good in this! hang on to that! ps. if you want me to look at your stuff b4 iowa... we need to meet wed!!! so after you say goodbye to the boys, email it! i'll make the time! :)

  • I'm so excited for you.
    Finish a novel.  I'm meaning, Finish A Novel.  As in, write one. 
    YaY!

    -------

    Wow.  The possibilities.  You're gonna be so ... happy!  Woooooo!

  • This will be a wonderful new beginning!  I'm excited for you too!

  • Enjoy that pedi.

    And I have absolutely, utterly NO doubt that you're going to find something near-perfect, job-wise, before this 6 months is out.

    I've read you for far too many years to think otherwise! :)

    (Yanno...MrsB, Insomniactress, Tinkleflower...oy, my incarnations here know no bounds, apparently lol)

  • Good to hear you are in the right place on this one!

  • You will thrive.

  • So glad that you are calm, cool and collected and confident that something good will come of all this.
    Take care, Stephanie

  • Fortunately it's a lot easier for a woman to get a job...what sucks is that there are no jobs that you can put your 30 years in and get the gold watch anymore  ALL employers take advantage of that situation.....

    Well, hope you have better luck than me...i'm stuck in messenger mode till the end of summer, maybe even beyond

  • Just thought I'd come by and say hello.  Have a good weekend.

    How long will the boys be gone?

  • You will be fine.  You'll find a job.  Hit the floor running.

  • good that you have a good attitude and that's nice that the ex is getting the boys.

  • @dingdongdingbat - The boys will be with their dad for four weeks.  He will drop them off at my parents' home in Arkansas the last weekend of June and I'll pick them up from there.  It's not really a long time, but it feels like forever.  

  • sorry I haven't called lately - things here have been busy. The kids are out of school (the last one finished Friday - one has already been "unofficially" out for a week now). Mom and Dad had a fish fry today so we ran all day with that. Hubby is having back problems again so he is off work ... you know the drill (I am alternating between panic and acceptance). Hope your weekend is good. Talk to you soon.

  • You have such a positive attitude and it's good the boys will be done during this transition so you can enjoy a little personal time and regroup before job hunting.

  • You actually watched Terminator 3?  Wow.

    Good luck with your job hunting!

  • Hasta la Vista... BABY...

    (sorry, wrong Terminator episode, but still)

    The WORLD is a kinder gentler place for your presence in it.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *