May 19, 2008

  • Waves Sheepishly ...

    Hey Guys, Sorry, I didn't mean to worry anyone or to disappear.  No crisis, and I didn't run away with the Cirque, although there was this one guy on a bicycle that I'd have loved to spend a little more time with. 

    It was glorious.  Beyond describing in words and they expressly forbade any picture taking (even without flash). 

    I had one of those learning expriences on Friday that makes me wish kids came with a foolproof manual.  You know the kind.  Follow the steps and even a blind man can build a nuclear reactor in his garage.  Because that's what parenting is like.  You get this sweet little bit of flesh so fragile that you are afraid to go to sleep because you're pretty sure that the second you take your eyes off it will stop breathing.  And you're expecting to make a million right decisions and voila!  A healthy adult at the other end. 

    I'm not anywhere near my million decision mark, and I'm starting to think that my batting average is going to mean I get one of those trading cards that is only used for constructing paper houses. 

    Tucker told me.  He told me REPEATEDLY that he was afraid that going to Cirque would be too much for him.  The noise, the crowds, the whole thing ... and I didn't listen.  I thought we were in broccoli mode.  You know?  Where the kid says, "I don't like that." and the parent says, "You've never tried it before." and the kid says, "I don't have to try it, I know by smelling i won't like it." and the parent says, "here, let's put a little cheese sauce on it and you just have to have three bites." and gradually, broccoli with cheese sauce becomes the kid's favorite side dish.

    So I said, "You just haven't been before (that you can remember) try it, you'll LIKE it." and off we went.

    He was a little unhappy about the crowd, but we got there early and took our aisle seats before the major rush.  So that wasn't too bad.  Then the clowns came out and played with the audience a bit and he liked that a lot.  Then the lights went down and the live music began and he lost it.  He was so overwhelmed by the volume that he burst into tears.  He was miserable. 

    During intermission we went and got toilet paper, improvised some earplugs and that muffled the sound enough that he was able to enjoy the second half.  So I learned that sometimes a Circus is not broccoli. 

    But I have to tell you, the Cirque du Soleil is an experience not to be missed.  I hope everyone of you has the opportunity to see it, hear it, feel it, and let it wash over you.  These people are simply amazing.  I wanna grow up and be just like them. 

    OH and Michael?  Was seated on the other side of me, oblivious to Tucker's distress.  The wonder and joy on his face was worth the price of three tickets. 

Comments (13)

  • I loved the show that was here by the offshoot group from Cirque. I'd love to see any of the original shows. I couldn't take pics here either, they even made it clear that they'd throw you out if they caught you.

  • Two out of three ain't bad, right?

    Actually it was two & a half (after the ear plugs)

    I've always wanted to go and may have to break down and give in the next time they are in town!

  • I have been fortunate enough to see three of their shows and all the ones available on DVD are on my Netflix list. But DVDs do not begin to convey the experience.  I'm sorry Tucker was so miserable, bless his sweet heart. Maybe next time he can stay with someone you trust so you and Michael can go and not have to worry.  

  • Glad you had fun!

  • I love that T is so self-aware.  And that M was so gleeful  

  • I hate the  circus the noise,the people ,I was never to Disney world for that very reason,I geuss I should just go!

  • You did good with the earplug idea. Did he enjoy it then? Judi

  • sorry he didn't like the noise.

  • Glad to know it all worked out well in the end.  Ya know, you might want to consider submitting your idea for the next "What Would MacGyver Do" book.

    2 more down, 50k or so to go.

  • No! No purse.... I have a cat - but it only pukes outside... Usually...

  •   Wow...great post.

    (And not to worry....I'm not bankrupt again...I still have 2 credits now!  LOL  Oh...this is fun.)

  • I'm so glad they had a chance to see another performance. It really is wonderful. I'm jealous... and not the least little bit about how much better any of them look in a leotard.

  • thank you so much for the warm welcome to xanga even though I'm a complete stranger. :) I added you to my friends, hope you don't mind!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *