September 27, 2007

  • Comfort and Joy

    I'm dealing with a perfectly wretched sinus infection.  The worst part is that a sinus infection, not being a serious illness, makes me feel irritated beyond all reason that it slows me down at all.  But it has slowed me down. 

    And made me think about things like comfort, peace, happiness and joy. 

    There is much to be savored in a well-brewed cup of tea.  (My friend, Heather, from Ireland, tells me that us Americans don't know the first wee thing about brewing proper tea.  But I'm content with what passes for tea around here.  Celestial Seasonings, or Tazo ... good times with honey.)

    I'm also partial to creamy soups.

    A soft old blanket.

    My big blue chair.

    The happy purring of a cat curled on my lap.

    A book of poetry.

    Old clothes.

    Bare feet/or feet wrapped in fun socks.

    Tucker seated at the table drawing me characters from Mario's World - tonight it was Bowzer, Princess Peach, and Yoshi - all of whom he felt essential to my happiness. 

    Michael sprawled on the couch reading a book.

    The television off and no one missing it. 

    I don't feel well enough for house cleaning, working, or even packing another box for storage although there is still a significant amount of stuff here that needs to be taken there.  Whether I would have chosen it or not, I'm being forced to stop, swaddle my aching self in comfortable things, and not even think too loudly because loud thoughts make my face hurt. 

    There are worse ways to spend a Thursday evening. 

    It's too bad it takes an infection to get me to stop and do it. 

     

Comments (11)

  • Wishing you a cozy recovery.

  • Feel better.
    Kind of partial to Twinings teas myself.  :)

  • There's always something to learn.....even if the teacher is a sinus infection.  You know how to do it up right, though.    I hope you're feeling better soon!

  • Aww, I hope you feel better.  That is a nice list you compiled :)   And Steve agrees with your Irish friend - he is the ONLY one who makes tea in this household.  He not only knows how to make it "the right way" but he also knows how to serve it properly, with tea biscuits and so forth.  I love our "tea times" together.

  • When we are suffering and sinus infection is painful we love to be reassured by some comfort , we need a kind of protection brought by the old blanket , the familiar furniture and the presence of our close ones  such your children . Are you agree this ?

    I wish you got a quick healing .

    Love
    Michel

  • My love is from England, and she's taught me a few things about tea as well.  She also scolded me for my ancestors wasting all that perfectly good English tea by dumping it in the bay.

    I think I have a sinus infection too.  I'm going to get antibiotics this weekend.

  • Ah, sorry you're not feeling well. Sometimes our bodies are much wiser than our heads. Hope you're better soon. 

  • Hope you get rid of the aches and pains soon. If you weren't sick the old soft blanket, comfy chair etc... would be a nice way to spend the evening.

  • Sometimes our body speaks louder than words...

    and we are forced to listen!

    get well soon!

  • Sometimes, I think there is too little perfection in the world, and then people like you have to point out that it exists in the form of something like a wretched sinus infection.  That's almost depressing.  Well, feel better, and I'll hunt a therapist.    But I'll probably end up in my big blue chair...

  • Despite the ailment, it sounds like a pretty good evening.

    dan :)

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment