January 25, 2007

  • Thank you

    Thank you for all your good wishes.  I had a very low-key day.  The boys and I watched a couple of DVDs - During Ever After I kept drifting off to sleep but woke up in time to sob like a baby over the happy ending.  (I love the part where Leonardo Da Vinci says, "I will go down in history as the man who opened a door.") 

    I'm bad when I'm sick.  Everything makes me cry.  The boys are good to their Momi though.  And they are both feeling enough better that they were willing to nurse me a bit today instead of asking me to bring them drinks and snacks.  Not a whole lotta snacking going on around here though, this thing makes you not want to put any food in your mouth.

    I've been drinking tea with honey.  I have an assortment of "honey sticks" that are the perfect measure of sweetness for a cuppa tea.  And I feel better.

    I noticed this afternoon, I have one of those thermometers that you put in the ear canal and it gives you the reading in less than a second.  So I noticed this afternoon that my temp on the left side was higher than the temp on the right side, by almost a degree.  Is that weird or what?  I wasn't lying on my side, so the discrepancy can't be explained that way.  It was just weird.  I tried it several times after I noticed and it was always about like that. 

    Thank you for your well wishes. 

    I'm going to bed now.

Comments (6)

  • Those ear thermometers are weird.  Brother NEVER registers with a fever with those things....even though he has one.  I think they're designed for tiny babies not big people but I am just making that up...I don't know what I'm talking about.....the part about being designed for babies.     DVD's and teas.....you've got the right RX. 

  • Makes sense to me...your heart is a pump...so blood going out from there is probably a different temp than what has circulated all around your body but hasn't gotten back there yet...especially if you're having an illness on top of it.
    Hope everyone gets well very soon!!

  • Tympanic thermometers are a weird little thing...I show up as one degree lower than I should...regardless of my temp!

    Glad you got some rest and tlc!

    Take care!

  • No, no, that temp is not you but that thermometer, LOL!  I just don't quite trust the home version of those devices.  I think there is a big diff from the ones they get from the med supply guy and the ones you can get... almost anywhere.  It's like the difference of grades a contractor can get versus what DIY'ers have to pick from at the home goods store.  Our thermometer like that... simply reads about 1-2 degrees low, whether you are sick are well... Me thinks it's not you.  FYI, I always cry at the end of Ever After.  That and Princess Bride are my fav princess love stories.  You just keep getting better 'n better, k?

  • Seeing you and the boys abundantly healthy. Judi

  • You're better now, yes? I HOPE.

    I'm never too trusting about that ear thermometer thing. The kids' temperatures vary widely, when taken on one side or the other, or at five second intervals during the same illness. SIGH. I'm still all for the 'feet test.' Yeah, my personal little witch-doctor thing. If their feet are burning -- they're really sick. Otherwise, it's just a passing thing.

    Wishing you cool feet!

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment