January 15, 2007

  • As told by a child ...

         Martin Luther King had a Dream that he was on a bus.  The bus driver didn't want Martin Luther King to sit on the front of the bus because Martin Luther King was black.  The bus driver wanted his girlfriend Rosie to sit by him, and he told Martin Luther King that he had to move to the back.  MLK thought that people ought to treat each other better than that and he said so.  Then someone, I don't know if it was the bus driver or a friend of the bus driver, but someone shot him.  And that's why we were out of school yesterday. 

    My very good friend's son, Jared, told me that story when he was in kindergarten.  He's 20 now so I'm sure that he's long since ready for me to stop re-telling it.  But what good are having people who love you if they don't keep your stories alive? 

Comments (8)

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment