September 30, 2006

  • So What are You Doing Today?

    peanut butter fudge
    package to mail
    photos of yellow leaves and blue sky
    laundry (again)
    hem pants (more of them)
    answer email
    work a Sudoku - or 4
    get vehicle emission test for my car
    and write

    I woke this morning with a clear plan to do some writing today.  Not just a vague idea that it would be nice to produce something, but the clear outline of what needed to be written.  So up until this point, I have managed to progress all the way from a blank page to a mostly blank page with one sentence. 

    I have started the laundry, had my shower and made a pan of peanut butter fudge.  (Don't worry, I have no plans to actually eat it.)  I read through more of the information from the website of the foundation that's offering the grant I want.  I wandered back into the kitchen and turned on the oven cleaner cycle.  Oh, and I also scrubbed the cooking surface.

    Just in case you're wondering how long I've been at this, I regularly awake at 5. 

    I checked Annie Lamott to see how she does it ...

    You look at the ceiling, and over at the clock, yawn, and stare at the paper again.  You begin rocking, just a little at first, and then like a huge autistic child.  Then with your fingers poised on the keyboard, you squint at an image that is forming in your mind -- a scene, locale, a character, whatever -- and you try to quiet your mind so you can hear what that landscape or character has to say above the other voices in your mind.  The other voices are banshees and drunken monkeys.  They are the voices of of anxiety, judgment, doom, guilt.  Also, severe hypochondria.  There is a vague pain at the base of your neck.  It crosses your mind that you have meningitis... 

Comments (8)

  • "Also, severe hypochondria.  There is a vague pain at the base of your neck.  It crosses your mind that you have meningitis..."

    LOL.  I thought I was the only one who does that!

    That peanut butter fudge sounds good, mmmmmm. 

  • Love it. I didn't even get as much done as you and I had said to me and made a vow to write today but the day is more than half over and nothing is on paper. Judi

  • "Also, severe hypochondria.  There is a vague pain at the base of your neck.  It crosses your mind that you have meningitis..." yup now that made me laugh out loud!!!! ....I am blog hopping....

  • I went on a photo-walkabout...

  • LOL I love your quote, that is soo true! I really need to do some work on my book. Nice site, just wandering through
    ~Mia

  • peanut butter fudge.  Don't worry, I have no plans to actually eat it?  Girl....how do you live with a pan of peanut butter fudge in the house and not eat it?  You are stronger than I am.  Although I DID make the cinnimon rolls and not eat them...but there were only five rolls and I have two kids.  They were taken care of....but I wanted to eat one.  I really, really did! 

    I awake at 5:00 most days, too.  Today I slept in until 7:00...which is unusual. 

    Love that quote.    Good luck writing and getting that grant!

  • The quote sounds like me putting off housework.  You will make it.

  • C.S. Lewis has such wisdom. Judi

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment