September 24, 2006

  • Through Different Eyes

    I've written about my relationship with my mother and how much I wished it could be different.  How I felt that she judged me and found me wanting in a great many ways.  Well, sooner or later, maybe we all grow up. 

    I was nervous about my mother reading my book.  More nervous than I was about sending it in to Shadow Poetry's contest to begin with.  More nervous than I was about handing (parts of) it over for critique at the Iowa Summer Writing Festival workshop.  I expected that my mom would see all the flaws, and would find in the content more reasons to be disappointed in her daughter. 

    Boy was I wrong.

    She read critically through every poem in the way that every poet wishes someone would read her work.  We both laughed when she confessed that in her mind poetry is supposed to rhyme.  When my words didn't line up the way she expected them to, she had to set that aside and read with a whole new set of eyes.  She had comments about the content, about how she felt when she read it, and about how much she identified with many of the feelings I expressed in the book. 

    One poem in particular caused her to hesitate a little.  Because I wrote, "Momma taught me ..." and she knew that I wasn't talking about something that sounded familiar, so she put aside that language and read a little deeper and found a poem about people she knows in the town where I grew up and she still lives.  She saw all the rules and traditions I was describing and in the end, she said she could understand a little better why I had to break away.  (Even though she still wishes that I'd move back there.)

    Does it get any better than this?

    In every writing class and seminar I've ever attended we've talked about this issue of whether you say the diplomatic thing or whether you say the true thing.  There's a rather famous quote that usually gets brought up about how you can't really speak the truth as long as your parents are alive.  Up until now, I've understood that and felt like it applied to me.

    But here's the rub.  I DID speak the truth in my poems.  And my mother read them, understood them and accepted them in a way that I've longed for her to understand and accept me.  When I sent her copy, I wrote an autograph and inscription in the front cover.  She and my sister received theirs at the same time.  The inscription to my sister was longer, and a bit well, poetic.  To my mom I simply wrote ... "thanks."

    I've heard that there was some laughter about that with Mom pretending to have her feelings hurt over getting fewer words than Cheryl did.  But that inscription I gave her would be weakened if I tried to make it flowery.  And after the fact, I mean it even more.  Thank you, Mom.

    Just wait til you see my NEXT book ...

    DSC03013a

    My Mom on the Pikes Peak Cog Railway, August 2006

Comments (14)

  • Wow, what a positive thing for a Mom to really find and accept your child as an adult, and vice versa. Glad you both dropped the parent and child roles and played together as adults. Cheers

  • Mom's accepting us is such an important part of all women's lives. How wonderful yours did. Judi

  • gawww...you?...made me tear up you did.
    just wonderful wonderful and then some.

  • This is wonderful good news.  I have a sister that has a similar experience to yours and I have understood how it hurt her.  Like you, she is very intelligent and talented.  Good for you!

  • I'm so glad your Mum understood, and with the inscriptions 'less is more'.

  • Sometimes it's wonderful to be wrong. 

  • Sometimes it just feels so right to be wrong doesn't it? *smile* Congratulations.

  • That's wonderful, Terri!  Part of my utter sense of loss when my mother died was that, with her, died any hope of real understanding and kinship.  I never had that and now never will.  I'm glad that you had that opportunity...and it worked out so well!

  • I have wished a similar acceptance from my mom and I suppose in her own way it has happened (though not at all what I would desire) but Mom's mind is not good and she's already a 7+ year stage4 ovarian cancer survivor so I know it's me that has to adjust.

    All that said to say two things: 1-I identify with your struggle and 2-from my empathetic perspective, I can see how this must please you... and she.  Maybe it's your similarities that have separated you, rather than your differences.  (((HUGS!)))

  • Glad I stumbled in here just now...

    Lise

  • I'm so glad for you that the sharing of your poems went well.  I know the fear and anxiety that goes along with that.

  • Hey chickie, I got the book.  I like it!!

  • Wow! Cool. Mike

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment