August 20, 2006

  • Ten Busy Days!

    I can't believe it's ten whole days since I posted here. I think I'm in shock over my ... what would you call it?

    Maybe I van give you a few highlights of this time though and then we can move on.

    The boys are home. They reacted to the new place even better than I imagined they might. Even after more than a week they are still finding new things to exclaim over and telling me how much they like our home.

    They started school on Thursday. Tucker says he has the "best 4th grade teacher ever." I have determined that this is because she told them they will be looking at owl pellets this year to find the bones of mice. It wasn't hard to figure out. He has talked about owl poop for four days.

    Michael has had a more difficult beginning to his year. But we've found good support at the school, and I think it will be okay.

    My parents will be here another week. Mom and I haven't had even one argument. We even went shopping together yesterday, and we made it through the whole thing without me even once being tempted to leave her at the store. I've introduced my dad to Sudoku and he's loving that. He sits out on the deck and works puzzles and seems to be relaxing as much as I can ever remember.

    My aunt is having her 50th wedding anniversary next Saturday, so we have friends and family pouring into Colorado Springs for the celebation, I've visited with cousins I hadn't seen in upwards of ten years. I've met their children. Seen them with new spouses. It's been amazing and more of them are coming this week.

    (Right now, there are 10 kids and 6 adults at Eliza's house, I have my parents here, and my Aunt has my Aunt Janice at her place - and this is only the warm up!)

    I started a new job, and I don't want to jump to conclusions or rush to judgment, but so far its not looking so good.

    I have been working on an independent project that has gone worse than anything like it I've ever seen. I am really glad that my communication with my client has been excellent and that he understands exactly what our situation is because this thing has the potential to make me look like the biggest incompetent ever. And I haven't done anything wrong. I have never been so frustrated by people making mistakes on paperwork in my life. And that's as much as I want to say about that.

    I received the proofs for my poetry book that will be published by Shadow Poetry and it looks GREAT. i don't have a publication date on that yet. But it will be soon and I'll let you know. Anyone who wants a signed copy will be able to order directly from me. But there is also a website where you can order directly from the publisher.

    And that's only the highlights. We've had trips into the mountains, and dinners on the deck, and it's just been BUSY. But I haven't forgotten Xanga. I will be back as things settle down.

Comments (8)

  • Sounds like everything is rolling for you..... I find it amazing that you haven't had one fight with your mother.  I don't think it is possible for me and my mother to be togethe longer then a day without a fight.  Enjoy there visit you know they wont be here forever!!! 

    Shell

  • Oh, darn.  I hope the job gets better real fast.

  • Save a signed one for me!!!

  • I'll be looking for a signed copy!

    Sorry that the new job is not going as well as you would like. I hope it gets better soon.

    I'm doing the 50th anniversary thing next weekend too. It's my inlaws 50th. Marvin and his sisters and I are putting the whole thing together, and I'm doing all of the baking. Today we're getting together to make photo collage memory boards to place around the hall.

  • I figured you've been busy.....boy was I right!    Missed you around here.  That's so exciting about your poetry!    Congratulations!  I'm glad you are having good times with your Mom.  That makes me smile.

  • I too am so excited about your poetry. I will want a copy with signature plus. I pray the job gets better for you. Cheers.

  • Will you be also publishing that book of poems in electronic format?

    sail on... sail on!!!

  • I'm exhausted just reading your post. Mike

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment