August 17, 2005

  • On the night before the first day of school ...


    We've had a busy day.  Errands and playing and walking OH MY.  I stopped by the school this morning to ask a question and discovered in the subsequent conversation that there is a "green path" through the neighborhood between our apartment and the school which doesn' cross any streets and includes tunnels beneath the ones that can't be avoided.  SO the boys and I went exploring this afternoon.


    It took us 45 minutes and a half dozen wrong turns to figure out that the school is maybe 3.5 blocks from our apartment.  After we finally found it, we were able to walk home in a little less than fifteen minutes. 


    Momi is a tired Momi.  Even though I cut back on my hours, I had a full work week and then a full week of parenting.  The boys have been on mostly excellent behavior since they've been home, and obviously missed me this summer as much as I missed them.  We are still having a lot of cuddle and snuggle time.  Tucker has slept in my bed a couple nights after I fell asleep in the big blue chair.  He thoughtfully covered me up with a blanket and then crawled in the middle of the king-sized bed.  The first time, I thought it was an accident.  But the second time, he picked Dr. Seuss' "Sleep Book" and did these fake yawns one after the other until I couldn't resist anymore. 


    Tonight, I'm fooling him, we're gonna curl up on my bed to read so if I drift off, he's out of luck. 


    Tomorrow morning at 7:30 we'll be walking to school.  I'm optimistic that this will be a good year.  The school personnel seem friendly and helpful.  I'm not overly impressed with the actual facility because it was one of those experimental schools without walls - cutting edge 25 years ago.  But there's a reason that newer schools have walls and doors.  Buildings like this tend to be very LOUD when they are full of kids and I'm concerned that putting tow little guys who have problems with being overstimulated in a building like this is not to their best advantage.  Still - it might work very well and I'm willing to withhold judgment until I see. 


    Wish us luck ...

Comments (6)

  • ah.  the open concept school.  my gradeschool was torn down and rebuilt between my 5th and 6th grade year and turned into the first one of those in the community.   it has since been torn down and replaced by a tradtional walled/doored school.  i can certainly understand your concerns but i'm glad you're giving it a chance.  and 15 minutes away?  that's excellent!

    i hope you and your boyzzzzz get a good night's sleep and i wish you all the luck you need tomorrow.  new life, new times. 

  • I wish you all the luck in the world with the school....I worked in a school with open walls once for a few days as a substitute it really wasn't as bad as I thought it would be so hopefully all will go well for the boys.

  • Hope the first day of school goes well.  I'm glad that you can walk there with the boys, sounds like some quality time to me.

    LOL about Tucker.  He's too smart for his own good!

  • First day of school!  Wow you start early there.  I hope all is going well! 

  • The Sleep Book is super, super long. 

    I hope the boys had a good first day.

  • As I am a couple of days late in reading this, the boys have already had their first day - just wanted to comment that I am delighted there is that green path that is so close and safer for the boys between you and the school.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment