May 27, 2003

  • Repost with Revision ~


    Dream Chasing


    *Through the woodland, through the valley
    Comes a horseman wild and free
    Tilting at the windmills passing
    Who can the brave young horseman be . . .


    My kids have a new game.  If you know of some tv show or video game they might have seen advertised that led them to this play - DON'T TELL ME.  They play Superhero.  Michael wears my fuschia satin robe for a cape and does brave deeds.  He's ... da da da .... DreamMan. 


    He rides through the night alert for signs of trouble and I hear him say things like, "Great Scot!  This dream is overheating, quickly Sidekick!  Bring ice cream!"  This morning it was, "Holy Monsters and Shadows, Sidekick!  This dream is almost too scary for me!"  My personal favorite is a line from Tucker, "In my dream, I'm NOT the sidekick."


    He is wild but he is mellow,
    He is strong but he is weak
    He is cruel but he is gentle,
    He is wise but he is meek.


    I went through a time when I didn't dream.  I have a sleep disorder that prevents me from entering REM sleep and therefore prevents me from dreaming.  For several years I didn't know why there were no dreams, but I missed them.  It was like knowing that I stood in the center of a great cave of wonders, with no light to see the treasure.  When I was first began to dream again, I was like a neophyte experiencing hallucinogenics for the first time.  (Not that I have ever personally experienced such things, but I imagine . . . )


    Reaching for his saddlebag
    he takes a battered book into his hand
    Standing like a prophet of old,
    he shouts across the ocean to the shore
    Til he can shout no more.


    If you've never had a disruption in your dreaming life, or if you've never taken hallucinogens, you may not fully appreciate the consciousness altering experience of being "taken" by a dream.  Without regular dreams, people can become psychotic, literally unable to distinguish between reality and thought.  This never happened to me in spite of what you may have heard from certain of my friends and family.


    I have come o'er moor and mountain
    Like a hawk upon the wing
    I was once a shining knight
    Who was the guardian of a King.


    The journey between reality and imagination can be one of unremarkable transition between fairly similar terrain.  You go through waking hours fantasizing about the weekend plan or the upcoming vacation.  Then you go to sleep and spend the night doing work you can't claim on the clock.  How many times has the accountant balanced books, or the programmer reviewed line after line of code in a dream?


    Some people practice lucid dreaming.  Lucid dreaming is that state of consciousness in which you dream while knowing that you are dreaming.  This consciousness enables you to guide your dreams.  For someone like me, the idea of retaining conscious control even in an unconscious state is an irresistible enticement.  I can't remember when I first began to practice lucid dreaming, but I know that even as a small child I was able to direct my dreams so that I chose whether I would be terrified by the monster or he would be terrified by me.  Some day, it would be fun to sit down with an analyst and talk about what happened on the nights I chose terror.


    I have searched the whole world over
    Looking for a place to sleep
    I have seen the strong survive
    And I have seen the lean grow weak.


    As far as I have been able to determine, no one knows the answer to why our dreams are so important for our mental health.  There are all kinds of theories about the effects of dreaming and REM sleep on seritonin production or vice versa.  But, Nobel prize winning researchers in this area admit they can do no more than speculate. 


    I wonder if anyone is researching the psychological affects of conscious dreams?  Not the dreams that come at night, but the dreams we construct in our quiet moments lying on the grass.  What effect do our hopes, goals, and plans for the future have on our psyche?  What is it like to live without ideas of future possibility or pleasure?

    See the children of the earth
    To weak to find the table there
    See the gentry in the country
    Riding off to take the air.


    It's hard for me to think about dreams without being reminded of the song from "The Man from La Mancha" The Impossible Dream.  Don Quixote fascinates me.  He gave himself entirely over to a dream, you might even say to a psychosis.  He based his actions not on the world as it was, but on the world as he envisioned it to be.  In some ways his world was better, the lowly and coarse Dulcinea became a pure and gentle lady.  The broken-down donkey, Rosinante,  became a noble steed.  But in some ways his vision was terrifying.  We may laugh at him galloping across the plain to fight with a windmill.  But in his mind, that windmill was a monster of terrifying proportion and it took all his courage to perform that deed.


    Reaching for his saddlebag
    He takes a rusty sword into his hand
    Striking up a knightly pose
    He shouts across the ocean to the shore
    Til he can shout no more.


    I have a theory that people need extremes in their lives.  There isn't anything wrong with living inside a comfortable "happy" medium.  But there isn't anything in the comfort zone that raises the bloodpressure either.


    When I was younger, I found the stereotypical midlife crisis behavior equally fascinating and repulsive.  I couldn't imagine why perfectly reasonable people would do such unreasonable things as seek outside their marriages for excitement, trade in their volvos for sports cars, or leave lucrative careers to start driving a camper around the country doing odd jobs.  I'm not talking about people who were inclined to do these things anyway, I'm talking about the phenomena of men and women suddenly reaching the point of rejecting all they had previously held as core values and goals in favor of values and goals that appeared to be less solid, less meaningful in terms of building a worthwhile life.  But as I'm on the end of the diving board ready to spring into my forties, this crisis of need for younger, faster, more beautiful, less stable has begun to hum like a siren in my ear. 


    After four decades, there are few extremes in my life.  Somehow the process of lumbering through life has meant that rough edges get worn smooth and life is moving at a steady flowing pace.  It's easy, it's predictable, it's safe.  And it's boring.  It's much harder to find the pulse raising, finger trembling, breath catching thrill of the new, the different, the strange.  The dreams that sparked fires of imagination at an earlier stage of life have faded to the mature acceptance of limitations that keep me in the channel of security and responsbility. 

    See the jailor with his key
    Who locks away all trace of sin
    See the judge upon his bench
    Who tries the case as best he can.


    An old proverb says that "Ships in a harbor are safe, but that's not what ships are built for."  As we settle in the lane of least resistance, we dig ruts that make it possible for us to get from points a to b without much thought.  We find ourselves on automatic pilot drifting along comfortably.  It takes a dream to pull us up and out.

    Reaching for his saddlebag
    He takes a tarnished cross into his hand
    Standing like a preacher now
    He shouts across the ocean to the shore
    Til he can shout no more.


    Our dreams force us to stand where the wind blows hard and we have to brace our feet.  Dreams refuse to settle for the comfortable and in fact gallop hard toward the monster even as we cling, terrified, to the reins unable to control our mount.  In order to deny our dreams we must constantly push against them, forcing our conscious lucid direction upon them.  We ratchet them further and further out past our peripheral vision so they won't distract us.  But when we finally release that rubber band . . .


    Then in a blaze of tangled hooves
    He gallops off across the dusty plain
    In vain to search again
    For no one will hear. . .



    *Don Quixote lyrics by Gordon Lightfoot.

Comments (22)

  • I have always loved Don Quixote (saw it on stage in London once, sort-of by accident.  I relived that performance for months afterwards....)  This is an excellent and thoughtful examination of a lot of disparate threads.  What a wonder you are! 

    P.S.  "In my dream, I'm NOT the sidekick....."  perfect!! 

  • I occasionally can control what I dream about, but mostly not. I love the sidekick remark, too! LOL

  • This is by far the BEST work you have ever written.
     
    Speechless…

  • Ditto everyone else.  This is a great examination of the human psyche - may I take it one step farther and ask - what drives us to dream?

  • My dreams are often troubling.  That bothers me.  I want to know why I dream of such sadness. 

    This really was an excellent post, Terri.

  • What a great post.  I've always loved that quote about the harbor.  That's in my "collection" as being by John A. Shedd. 

    So maybe middle-age crazy is tied just as securely to our mental health as dreams.  Maybe throwing away a life long pursued is just a safety valve that prevents some people from losing their mind?

  • I took a course in Dream Pysche in college... fascinating study. We went thru lucid dreams to dream sharing.. Dreams a way to file away what we need and to filter out the fluff-  I love reading and studying this subject!

  • Re: my modeling post

    You could be a print model!!  That has no age or height requirements!

  • I've never really thought about dreams so this has been very interesting. I don't think I dream, or at least I don't remember them. I used to walk in my sleep, though, and that was creepy for all involved.

  • I mostly don't remember my dreams. 

  • My hubby swore he never dreamed before he met me. He says that since we've been together he dreams all the time. When he first started dreaming it startled him so bad that he'd wake up. I guess he feels as ease w/ me next to him. I mean, I'm sure he does, but he says I fulfill a part of him that was always empty, so now he dreams. Sounds weird, I know.

    Faith

  • I don't think I've ever had a night where I woke up and didn't remember dreaming. Sometimes I dream about practical things, like where I left the stapler at work, but more often than not, I dream about totally crazy, whacked-out thinks, like psychedelic pink llamas. I've given up on trying to find meaning in them, I think I'm just entertaining myself for the 8 hours a night I spend in bed.

  • Very well written Must be something in the air, I just read a similar story on another blog. Maybe ride it out a bit and see if it builds??

  • I often dream that my kids are hurt or in danger and I am having difficulty getting to them to help them.  I can't think of a greater horror than that.  I don't like those dreams--not at all.

  • o/

    God Bless - Dale

  • My dreams are often just bizarre snippets of my past all melded together.  There will be people from grade school conversing with college friends, and it seems like I am always travelling...or looking for something.  Sometimes I dream about my dad, and he is walking around.

    When I was 7,  I dreamt that my beloved great-gramma and Jesus were watching me play in gym class.  I woke up the next morning to have my mom tell me that she had died the night before.   

      Great post....very good!

  • I very rarely dream, but when I do, about half way through the dream I am able to control it. I can even rewind back into the uncontrolled part and say wouldn't it be cool it this had happened, then take off from there.

    Dream Man sounds like a really cool super hero!

  • Even when I only have four hours of sleep (like last night), the brain's batteries can be recharged after a dream.  Some of my dreams are very vivid, and almost all of them contain many elements from my day (my dreams tend not to be too symbolic, but disparate actors/actions meld together in a crazy melange that is a lot like a wild acid trip...  which is something I do know a bit about from my sordid past).  I don't know what I'd do if I could not dream, because I try to clamp down harshly on my daydreaming (a by-product of too much time spent online)... but then my creativity has been stifled on top of... 

  • I love your site

  • As always, it's a pleasure visiting you...you manage to begin in one place and end in another yet all of it is tied up in a neat little (?) package

    Perhaps one of the reasons that I love Turkey is that life is NEVER boring here.  There's always something to grab our attention, cause us to wonder about the future, grumble about, get worked up about...and in the midst of that, I can see, with my foreign eyes, the advantages of living in a culture that puts family and friends above material things.  Sometimes I wish that Turks could see their country through my eyes...they'd be able to appreciate what they've got just as I do.

  • Well I thought about you as well as you drove through..I hope all is okay with your family....I still miss your sister...and hope she is okay...I miss her as well...

    Keep your chin up ... us beautiful girls have to stick together...(remember I am in Queen mode...LOL)

    Tina

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment