May 26, 2003

  • Dream Chasing


    *Through the woodland, through the valley
    Comes a horseman wild and free
    Tilting at the windmills passing
    Who can the brave young horseman be . . .


    My kids have a new game.  If you know of some tv show or video game they might have seen advertised that led them to this play - DON'T TELL ME.  They play Superhero.  Michael wears my fuschia satin robe for a cape and does brave deeds.  He's ... da da da .... DreamMan. 


    He rides through the night alert for signs of trouble and I hear him say things like, "Great Scot!  This dream is overheating, quickly sidekick!  Bring ice cream!"  This morning it was, "Holy Monsters and Shadows, Sidekick!  This dream is almost too scary for me!"  And my personal favorite line from Tucker, "In my dream, I'm NOT the sidekick."


    He is wild but he is mellow,
    He is strong but he is weak
    He is cruel but he is gentle,
    He is wise but he is meek.


    I went through a time when I didn't dream.  Untreated, my sleep disorder prevents me from entering REM sleep and therefore prevents me from dreaming.  When I was first began to dream again, I was like a neophyte experiencing hallucinogenics for the first time.  (Not that I have ever personally experienced such things, but I imagine . . . )


    Reaching for his saddlebag
    he takes a battered book into his hand
    Standing like a prophet of old,
    he shouts across the ocean to the shore
    Til he can shout no more.


    If you've never had a disruption in your dreaming life, or if you've never taken hallucinogens, you may not fully appreciate the consciousness altering experience of being "taken" by a dream.  Without regular dreams, people can become psychotic, literally unable to distinguish between reality and thought.  (This never happened to me in spite of what you may have heard from certain of my friends and family.)


    I have come o'er moor and mountain
    Like a hawk upon the wing
    I was once a shining knight
    Who was the guardian of a King.


    The journey between reality and imagination can be one of unremarkable transition between fairly similar terrain.  You go through waking hours fantasizing about the weekend plan or the upcoming vacation.  Then you go to sleep and spend the night doing work you can't claim on the clock.  How many times as the accountant balanced books, or the programmer reviewed line after line of code in a dream?


    I have searched the whole world over
    Looking for a place to sleep
    I have seen the strong survive
    And I have seen the lean grow weak.


    As far as I can tell no one has any real answer why our dreams are so important to our mental health.  There are all kinds of theories about the effect of dreaming and REM sleep on seritonin production or vice versa.  But, Nobel prize winning researchers in this area admit they can do no more than speculate.  I wonder if anyone is researching the psychological affects of conscious dreams?  Not the dreams that come at night, but the dreams we construct in our quiet moments lying on the grass.  What is it like to live without an idea of future possibility or pleasure?

    See the children of the earth
    To weak to find the table there
    See the gentry in the country
    Riding off to take the air.


    It's hard for me to think about dreams without being reminded of the song from "The Man from La Mancha" The Impossible Dream.  Don Quixote fascinates me.  He gave himself entirely over to a dream, you might even say to a psychosis.  He based his actions not on the world as it was, but on the world as he envisioned it to be.  In some ways his world was better, the lowly and coarse Dulcinea became a pure and gentle lady.  The broken-down donkey, Rosinante,  became a noble steed.  But in some ways his vision was terrifying.  We may laugh at him galloping across the plain to fight with a windmill.  But in his mind, that windmill was a monster of terrifying proportion and it took all his courage to perform that deed.


    Reaching for his saddlebag
    He takes a rusty sword into his hand
    Striking up a knightly pose
    He shouts across the ocean to the shore
    Til he can shout no more.


    I have a theory that people need extremes in their lives.  There isn't anything wrong with living inside a comfortable "happy" medium.  But there isn't anything in the comfort zone that raises the bloodpressure either.

    See the jailor with his key
    Who locks away all trace of sin
    See the judge upon his bench
    Who tries the case as best he can.


    An old proverb says that "Ships in a harbor are safe, but that's not what ships are built for."  All of us tend to settle in the lane of least resistance.  We dig ruts that make it possible for us to get from points a to b without much thought.  We find ourselves on automatic pilot drifting along comfortably.  Our dreams pull us up and out.

    Reaching for his saddlebag
    He takes a tarnished cross into his hand
    Standing like a preacher now
    He shouts across the ocean to the shore
    Til he can shout no more.


    Our dreams force us to stand where the wind blows hard and we have to brace our feet.  Dreams refuse to settle for the comfortable and in fact gallop hard toward the monster even as we cling terrified to the reins unable to control our mount.  In order to deny our dreams we must constantly push against them, ratcheting them further and further out past our peripheral vision so they won't distract us.  But when we finally release that rubber band . . .


    Then in a blaze of tangled hooves
    He gallops off across the dusty plain
    In vain to search again
    For no one will hear. . .



     


    *Lyrics are from Gordon Lightfoot's Don Quixote.

Comments (28)

  • You are on a roll here.. yet another fabulous entry

  • Excellent blog.....I just wrote about a couple of little dreams I had lately...about being betrayed and abandoned by my Signifigant Other.  That is my fear, of course.....

    I think we are meant to feel...and you are write about getting in the comfort zone.  I am actually enjoying mine right now because I went through years of being a battered woman and all the lovely things that go along with...depression, alcohol depency, PTSS...etc.etc.  plus I spent 30 years in "cult" .  Now that I am a grandma I am enjoying my serenity. 

    I do like to keep my heart open, though...and I like to do different things....

  • Maybe sometimes when you call yourself Spiro the Space Dog, it really does make your butt a rocketpack . . .   (No one else may get this, but you know it fits the post.) 

  • Great blog.    I think we need to have dreams.   For some people without dreams, they may decend into dispair.   

  • To sleep, perchance to dream...

  • Can I be the assistant side kick???

    Outstanding from start to finish.

    Sail on... sail on!!!!

  • wow... i love this blog! lots of good ruminations you have here.  i love the things your son says... he truly seems to be blossoming at home.

  • I have a recurring dream in which I'm trying to get home but I just never quite make it.  Sometimes in the dream, the brakes in the car I'm driving fail to hold.  Crazy?

  • You have the most wonderful children

  • Thank you for this post.  Truly inspirational. 

  • Living outside the comfortzone is scary- but a LOT more interesting!

    : )

    I love hearing about your kids!

  • "...Without regular dreams, people can become psychotic, literally unable to distinguish between reality and thought..."

    (0_o) -{uhm...uh-oh. 

  • I mostly don't remember my dreams...literally or metaphorically....

  • Thanks for the sharing

  • Trust in dreams, for in them is the hidden gate to eternity. --Kahill Gibran  

  • I seem yo dreram every night they seldom make sense to me. About Super Hero on our T.V. it is an English program where the man is from another planet but has married a normal woman and he looks normal most of the time They have a baby that talks and flies off with his Dad to save certain situations. Absolutely crazy. I am surprised they let such rubbish be made, and knock back my murder mysteries Ha! Ha! true I have been knocked back by the BBC. Cheers Portia

  • This a great composition about the dreams .

    AmitiĆ©      Michel

  • I love that song!  And you are so right about dreams and dreaming.

  • I remember all my dreams.  Vividly.  Thanks for posting those lyrics, I had forgotten all about that song!

  • Wow. Excellent post. I'm stunned by the quality of this piece.

  • ...i go through long periods without dreaming. Have just recently started having them again, albeit, I don't remember them longer than it takes to get out of bed.   Love and energy, MuSe

  •     Terri,

        You write incredibly!  I am an avid reader and there are published writers with nothing on you... really!

        As for the little guy... have you asked him if he is imitating anyone or if this is his own comments as the super hero hs is??   My son did both when younger... he could watch something and remember word for word the lines from cartoons and movies then spout them off when it seemed to fit a situation somewhere... then he also wrote things that were his own imagination and wit coming out... I was nearly always amazed.

           As for dreams, I guess I dream... as I do sleep soundly most nights, but I rarely remember them at all.  I do dream when awake at times when given enough quiet and some are really ... unusual.  The Bible says without a dream a people perish... I think that fits for an indiviual too, doesn't it?  good BLOG!!!!!  Keep 'em comin'!!!

         Mucho abrazos,

                             Deb

  • I was wondering if you'd written those lyrics (I thought they were poems).. gosh, I haven't thought (or listened) to Gordon Lightfoot in forever! Oh, and I love being able to peek into your fine mind here... thanks!

  • I dream all the time. I also dream things that happen a lot.

    This morn I had a nightmare that woke me so abruptly I sat straight up in bed.

    Faith

  • Our dreams force us to stand where the wind blows hard and we have to brace our feet.  Dreams refuse to settle for the comfortable and in fact gallop hard toward the monster even as we cling terrified to the reins unable to control our mount. 

    Because dreams are the beginning of change, this is so true.  Change can be fierce.  I love the imagery here!.........And suddenly, I feel the need to check my wind blown hair! 

  • Excellent post!! I love it... get out and live life!! On the dreaming... in college we did a dream depravation test... I went 3 days without sleep (That was tough) but you end up seeing/imagining some pretty wild things without it!!

  • o/

    God Bless - Dale

  • I loved this blog. Holy monsters and shadows indeed!! And I really loved your rules list(list person myself).

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment