March 27, 2003

  • Spring Cleaning ~


    It's time for my annual gripe session.  I'm sorry, I know that it's not much fun to listen to someone else moaning and groaning to high heaven about something or another that no one else cares about.  It's even worse that I go through the same song and dance every single Spring.  But, here's the ticket.  It's Springtime.  I'm in the south - I've been wearing shorts. 


    Can anyone explain WHY a simple razor (with spare blades) would cost $20!?!  Yes, I like smooth legs.  So I'm going to shave them.  I'm gonna have to start selling something on ebay to support my habit.


    With warmer weather I'm starting the countdown to my summer vacation.  It's back to Florida.  June 9 (I think.)  We're going down a couple days early for kind of a pre-vacation on the beach in Pensacola before we hit the main event in Disney World.  Fugitive is meeting us there with her boys and I'm anticipating a major blast.  Michael and I will have our birthday while we are in Orlando and I'm hoping we'll be able to get tickets for Cirque du Soleil that night.  In my head I figure I have about 73 days left to prepare. 


    The importance of advanced preparation for vacation cannot be overstated. 


    1. Music with surf sounds embedded - check
    2. Flippy little beach skirt - check
    3. Swimsuit purchased - check
    4. Diet to lose enough weight that swimsuit won't fit properly - check
    5. Second swimsuit scoped for when behind reaches that magically smaller proportion - check.
    6. Kids indoctrinated to say "I much prefer that we have dinner at a grown-up restaurant than McDonalds" -
    7. Husband indoctrinated to say "I think that if you really like those earrings, you should have 2 pairs" -
    8. Emergency beach reading sealed to insure I don't read it before I get there - when DOES George R R Martin's next installment come out? 
    9. Husband indoctrinated to say "You girls look like you could use an evening out, why don't I stay here with the four boys while ya'll go party?" -
    10. Sister indoctrinated to say "Hey, you guys look like you could use a night out, why don't I stay here with the four boys while ya'll go party?" -


    Well, I have half my items checked.  Good thing I still have 73 days. 

Comments (14)

  • Wow, thanks for the tips!  Now I see the flaw in my vacation preparation in the past! 

  • I had no idea that it was so complicated to plan for a vacation. No wonder I never take one!!!!
     
    Do we get to see the vacation pics of you in swimsuit?
     
    Sail on… sail on!!!

  • good list making. 
    pah...no swimsuit for me...again...
    i'd be the one in baggy shorts and baggy shirt...
    but tan and happy nevertheless....

  • Yeah, to pile on to LS there:  i'd be the one in baggy sweats, baggy long-sleeved shirt, floppy hat, and large sunglasses......... .  Still.  Loved the indoctrination suggestions.  Gotta make my own list of those!

  • You can get there from here!

  • The pubdate of the next GRRM installment has been pushed back from April to September...and the "not done yet" message on his official website has been updated to say "nope, still not done."

    On the other hand, Kate Elliott has a new installment of her mammoth fantasy series out, and she promises that the next book will be the last one.  We'll see!

  • Man ..... to have a sister willing to take on 4 wild boys while you guys have an evening out must be a wonderful thing!!!  You should reward her handsomely!! 

  • Well, those things sound like some major accomplishments!!!  I've got to agree with you here...there's definitely something to be said for advanced preparation!  And what kind of razors are you buying, anyway?  Please tell me they're plated with gold to cost that much!

  • If you have 73 days left, you are WAAAAy ahead of the curve!

  • LOL... Hum... vacation... I sort remember that!!! And I too see the flaws in my vacation planning!!! My vacation is going to be going to spend time with my son before he gets married!!! Hugs .. Rose

  • I still think you have one of the most original sites here at Xanga.  Why don't you buy 2 extra books to read and wrap them up as presents for yourself to only be opened on the beach?  But if you can indoctrinate your hubby and sister to let you go out, then you probably might not get much reading done on the beach (since you'll be sleeping)!

  • Have you seen the Cirque de Soleil before?  It is amazing!!  So much that I even bought Quidam (the show we saw when it came to Charlotte) on DVD.  I also watched "The Fire Within" on Bravo of the making / behind the scenes of a Cirque group.  Those people are SO talented!

  •  envious of your vacation.  Bought Above All.  They will get Ragmuffin for me.  Isn't spring wonderful!

  • o/

    God Bless - Dale

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment