March 24, 2003

  • Everyone has an opinion ~


    The trees here are leafing out.  My parents have lovely oak trees in their backyard.  Not very old trees since my Grandmother went on a tree killing spree about 15 years back and had every tree on the place chopped down.  That was sad.  There were 50 and 60 year old mimosas, fruit trees, a wonderful old cottonwood ... anyway, when my parents made the decision to sell their house and move here.  Their first order of business was to plant trees.  So we are now enjoying the shade of young oaks, maples and a pecan tree. 


    I've had good news today.  My Mom got a good report from her doctor.  Blood pressure down, blood sugar down, blood caffeine level at normal ... So it looks like I'm cleared to leave for home on Friday.  (yes, everything does come down to me.)


    We've heard from the kid I used to babysit.  He's not a kid now, he's flying a Blackhawk helicopter in Iraq.  He was in the background of a news feed on CNN yesterday.  Then, the reporter embedded with his unit let him use the satellite phone to call home.   So we are thrilled to know that he's okay.  He's shaken over having used his weapons to destroy targets.  I'm praying for him and for his unit.


    Everyone has an opinion about the war.  A few people even had an opinion about my opinion expressed yesterday.  I thought long and hard before I posted that blog.  I could probably have coasted along fine without ever broaching the topic, but I was starting to feel as though my silence were dishonest.  I don't mind knowing that some of you disagree with me.  I mind it very much if I somehow mislead you.  That statement seems pompous and self-important.  In the wide scheme of things, there are no world leaders calling to ask my opinion on these matters.  And I'm pretty sure that isn't because I have an unlisted number.  

Comments (23)

  • No, I am pretty sure that you phone number is etched nicley on the wall of the mens....

    HUSH!

    HA!

    Sail on... sail on!!!

  • Hey Terri,
    Just wanted to state here that I appreciate you and your gracefulness regarding what others think.  I have alot of respect for you, and support you in your postings, even if I may disagree.

    Thank you for being such a great example :)
    Blessings!
    ~H

  • (((hugs))) Felt the same way about feeling dishonest.  That is strange what your G'ma did to the trees!  Do you know why she did that?  Tired of a shady yard maybe?  So GLAD your mother is doing better.  I know  you are glad to be there, but I am sure you will be glad to be home too!

    BTW, sorry I have not answered your email!  My email is not on this 'puter I been using.  The link you asked about is: http://www.fullmoongraphics.com

  • I am so happy to hear your mom is doing better!! {{{{hugs}}}}

  • ROFL - No one has contacted me either hmph

    I have been reading you for quite awhile now and I know you to be pretty honest - and your writing is always researched unless you note otherwise... I don't say that because I happen to agree with you, I say that because I respect you and your thoughts.

  • Im glad that your mom is doing better..and to me america is all about differences..be it in opinion or anything else ..and the freedom to express your opinions.

    Belinda

  • I actually wrote a comment out...complete with props...and hit back before submit.  Not by accident, either, but because my feelings are all over the damn place right now because of this war and the complete saturation of my brain with it.  I simply don't know what I think anymore about it.  I hate it in many ways - I think it's necessary in others. 

    I'm glad to hear your mom is better. 

  • So far I have mostly managed not to write about the war, not because I don't have an opinion, or feelings about it all, but because I just don't see the point of writing it all out here. As you say, not one Govt. person has asked me about my thoughts, and they would be the only ones who could do anything about it...so I just haven't felt any need to discuss much of it.

  • I didn't read your blog yesterday.  No reason...actually...wait...did I?  Heh...if I did, it obviously didn't throw me outta my chair.  Like I've said before here...your place, your words...

    I'm so glad to hear your mom's feeling better.  That's great news!

  • Hugs ya tight...

  • I'm glad your mom is better and you have the all clear to go home on Friday.  Have a safe trip home.  Don't you just love those political and/or religious blogs?  They'll stir up the crowd every single time

  • I love your honesty.  And everything else about you.  Including your healthy mom:  alllrighhht! 

  • Thankful that Mom will be all right.  Give my regards to Fugitive.  Drive carefully.  Keep on writing.

  • Well I havent spoken really about the war itself...only that I choose not to listen to it and not to express my views because there are plenty of others out there with their opinions.....so why bother...

    However, you (or anyone that chooses to) express how you feel and that person gets crucified because of their beliefs....it is silly really....that is why I havent discussed it on my site.....

    I am glad that your mother is doing better..but i have to ask why your grandmother went on a killing spree... and had the trees chopped down....I am curious...

    Lots of love and hugs.

    Tina

  • War is a touch subject... almost a necessary evil... I choose to stay silent... my mind cannot comprehend the purpose or the need of war.. but I know that war is unavoidable when we are greedy in our fallen humanity...

  • Your title sums it up nicely. I just wish others, who read opinions, remember that everyone has a right to one.

  • I'm glad to hear Mom's doing so much better. Now you can come back and help me. Since you've been gone I'm locked out of the car and stuck at home because the battery of the unlocker thingie on my keychain died.

  • Great news about your mom.

    As we live in a fallen world, peace, real peace, will not be a general condition of it. Seeking peace, however is a noble endeavor but is bound to fail until this world is replaced by the new one to come.

  • Your protest contains much of the same things that are upsetting me. Yet it has reached a point where, if I state even one of these items, I am told I am being treasonous. (Seems Freedom of speach too is going out the window here) I asked myself why I am so emotional and upsett here - I've been told if I don't like what is going to give up my citizenship and join another country - well it is because I love America so very much, and not the other way around. If I did not, this would have meant nothing to me except a war being played out elswhere.

    I was so pleased to see the good news on your Mother (((HUGS)))

  • I relate SO much to you interpreting your own silence as deception.  I was beginning to feel that way myself.  I resisted voicing my opinion until I could hold my breath no longer. 

  • My dad's a tree killer too. It makes me sad thinking back to the way our backyard used to look with all those trees

    I couldn't agree more about most Christians having only a rudimentary grasp on Christianity!! Part of my problems stems from the fact that those preaching to me the most were those who knew the least about their own religion. I'm not sorry to say that if I know more about their religion than they do they have no right to preach to me and tell me what I believe is wrong. It frustrates the hell outta me when I'm trying to help my friend out and tell her things it took me 17 years to learn (with much frustration) to make things easier for her and she blows me off like I'm nothing more than a dirty Pagan who knows nothing.

    Somehow I don't think I'd have trouble talking about Christianity with you. Thanks for reminding me there are sensible Christians out there who actually know what they're talking about.

  • Thanks. o/

    God Bless - Dale

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment