August 30, 2002

  • Cooking Lessons


    Michael (my 8 year old) says that he wants to grow up to be a chef.  He's been asking for six months for me to get him a cookbook that will teach him to cook.  On Wednesday, we found one at the library that looks good.


    So yesterday he covered "kitchen rules" in school.  Then he looked at the recipes he had chosen and made out a grocery list.  Last night he made his first meal.


    I was surprised that he had difficulty cracking eggs.  In his lifetime he has dropped more than one entire dozen of eggs at a time for the sheer joy of experiencing the "Craaaack - Splaaaat."  I believe eggs are the original inspiration for bombs.  But for some reason when he was SUPPOSED to crack the eggm he turned timid.  Snick, Snick, Snick.  He tapped the shell lightly against the edge of the bowl.  "Michael, you'll need to tap it harder to break the shell."  Snick, Snick, Snick.


    So I offered to demonstrate.  He needed three eggs in his recipe so he would have two more chances to practice.  "Here, baby, see.  Rap it sharply, then turn it to another place and rap it sharply again, then hold the ends of the egg and twist (I'm not showing him the one hand method yet!)  Then it was his turn.  Crack!  turn Crack!  "Look MOM!  I did it!"  He turned to show me as he twisted - and plop!  The egg hit the floor.


    Egg number three was a rousing success and we cheered as it dropped in the bowl with the yolk intact.  Then came egg number 4.  He cracked it with a little extra enthusiasm and the shell didn't just crack it kind of crushed.  So he raised it to peer at the damage from underneath.  Only, when an egg has a goodly sized hole in it . . . The yolk landed neatly on top of the dog's head.


    Over all though he did an excellent job.  He had chosen Pasta Carbonara for his first cooking lesson and we substituted lean ham for the bacon.  It was good! 


    His Dad took over the instruction for the dessert (milkshakes) while I gave the dog a bath.


    Pasta Carbonara       


    Place 3/4 pound of Spaghetti noodles in boiling water to cook.

    While the pasta is cooking,


    Beat: 3 eggs
            3 T heavy cream
            1 T corn vegetable oil
            1/4 c parmesan cheese
            freshly ground pepper to taste


    In a small frying pan, cook four ounces of lean ham until lightly browned at the edges.


    When the pasta is cooked, drain in collander then return to saucepan.  Put ham and egg mixture on top of noodles and cook for another 2-3 minutes stirring constantly.

Comments (32)

  • When I ever get around to trying to teach my kids how to cook they will probably be making things like Spaghetti'Os ..... it is funny to me that your child's first dish is Pasta Carbonara !!!! 

  • What a great story of the 'first-time' cooker

  • LOL! Hope he didn't get discouraged...of course braking eggs could easily be considered "fun" for a boy...especially if it is dropped on the dog...Did you all get a good laugh?

  • I still crush eggs rather than crack them. Sounds like your son did a fine job...and the dog got a new hat!

  • That's fantastic!  Cooking is a skill which, no matter what he does in life, he will always find valuable.  Not just him, but other people appreciate a good cook.

    I remember the first time I tried to bake a cake at 8 years old.  My father told me to go outside and play and stop acting like a girl.  Sheesh!  Of course he also told me that the whole "computer" thing was just a fad and I'd get tired of it.  He wasn't wrong much, but boy when he was....woohoo!

  • My daughter's 16 and I still haven't gotten around to teaching her to cook.  Hooboy...I need to get started, don't I? 

    The egg cracking...I can picture the yolk plopping onto the dogs head.  oh my.  heh.

  • Hee hee hee.  I love it!  Been there, done that!  Perfect description of how they'll either not crack hard enough, or crack too hard, and of how inevitably the incredible egg ends up all over the place   It's so cool that you encourage him and give him access to the kitchen.  I do the same with my son and it does have fringe benefits.  But man, the mess, the mess, the mess! 

  • The raw egg will make the shampoo job on the dog like a spa treat! 

  • Mmm, a lovely eggwash on the dog--I'm thinking contemporary art.  Yeah!  Get 'em all cooking, and you won't have to stir-fry as much! 

  • My Michale turned 11 in May. I've been teaching my older 3 kids various dishes to prepare. They can make spaghetti, hamburgers, cake mixes, Jell-O, & various odd n ends.

    Faith

  • That sounds so cute! the egg part! lol..

  • Yummy!  Cookbook will be back for this!  I ran in to a guy I used to know the other day and his son is about to graduate from college with some kind of culinary degree as a chef.  He will be working this coming summer at the Biltmore Estate or the Grove Park Inn (also in Asheville.)  I think that is SO interesting! 

    FYI, does your son have his own cookbook?  As part of homeschool, my kids took one of those 3-ring notebooks where you design the cover, then added some tab dividers and put all the recipes in plastic page protectors so they would not get messed up while they cook!  We find recipes in magazines and on the Internet.  If we find one in a cookbook they like, they type it in and add it. 

    Tell "Chef Son" I wish him the best!  He's got a good early start!

  • Mmmmm sounds good!

    We're covering cooking in homeschool this year too, as well as other aspects of "home economics" - my kid is going to moving into his own apartment in a couple years or so, he's got to learn this stuff!

  • This is the stuff that memories are made of... What a cutie. Good job, Mom. He'll never forget your letting him cook supper. I'll bet it was good too!

    To learn to cook, one must first break a few eggs. Confucious said that, I think? Er... uh... that guy in Karate Kid maybe? Um...well, someone did. I think.

  • Sounds Delish... WTG Michael!!

  • I have to laugh at the timid taps. Why is it that kids think that eggs are so fragile? Maybe it's that they always break when dropped?

    I think I'll pass the recipe along to my oldest son in the Midwest. He used to love making alfredo sauce. This one sounds right up his alley.

  • What a sweet story. Yesterday my Grandson made me breakfast. He is 18 now, but started when he was quite little, and loves to cook. Some of the best Chef's are Men!

  • There is a cook in England called Clement Freud - associated with the Tory Party...and also, the great grandson of Sigmund. He was/is a great cook - he used to crack eggs with one hand (thumb and forefinger, actually)...and then dispose of the shell with a couple of fingers - while doing other preparations with his other hand. He also used to slice a whole cucumber - paper thinly - within about 10 seconds...just sliding his thumbnail down the side of the cucumber.

  • You know, since I don't cook I think I would also have trouble cracking an egg!!

  • Actually, I was wrong on a couple of points there - one, it was Sigmund's grandson (not his great grandson) and two, he was associated with The Liberal Party (not The Tories). My excuse: I'm old...and suffering from senility.

  • I am commenting on this one because I am soooo far behind that I only JUST read the one about worldviews... plus this one is too cute!

         I bought a cookbook for kids since I now have little grandchildren.  I ended up giving it to a friend.  I think its great Michael wants to be a chef  ...and greater that you (and his dad) have the time and patience to begin his dream now with him.

         The worldview blog makes such good sense.  You put it so simply, yet it is profound, ...I just wish the people who wish to take 'under God' away could read it... but, then again, due to lack of spiritual understanding, they might not appreciate it fully.  People see things as they see them.  I hope the phrase remains, but times are moving toward less and less recognition of our founding fathers values.  This is why teaching at home is such a necessity.  I applaud the moms (and dads) who input so much into thier kids while they have them.

         Thanks for the good bloggies!!!  hugs to you,

                                 Deb

  • Michael just asked me if he could make lunch... Beef Wellington with a fresh horseradish sauce.

  • There is the art and the manner to crack eggs . All must be learned ! Is not it true ?

    AmitiĆ©    Michel

  • God Bless - Dale

  • My son (almost 7 years old) helped me last night with mixing the meat for our Turkish pizza (meat, onions, garlic, tomatoes, parsley, mint)...he loves to help in the kitchen...now I'm off to teach my daughter (8 1/2 years old) the art of pancake making!  Spot

  • My son (almost 7 years old) helped me last night with mixing the meat for our Turkish pizza (meat, onions, garlic, tomatoes, parsley, mint)...he loves to help in the kitchen...now I'm off to teach my daughter (8 1/2 years old) the art of pancake making!  Spot

  • Oops...didn't mean to post that twice   The pancakes turned out great!  She was so proud of her accomplishment...you've given me inspiration (and a recipe)...maybe she'll cook dinner too!   Spot

  • Fabulous!

    We call my 8 year old Chef Scampi when he cooks spaghetti or scrambled eggs, he loves to cook!

  • UMMMMM, to important stuff....where is the recipe for the milkshakes?

  • The guy is absolutely fair, and there is no suspicion. LINK 8 3. Thank you for this post, really worthwhile info. 1 link 1. Surely, the guy is totally just. 8 0 8. I fully tie in with everything you have printed.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment