June 19, 2002

  • Easy Come . . .


    It sneaked up on me.  One minute I was knee deep in my life and the next minute I realized that an important anniversary had passed.  One minute I was frolicking happily in the pool of youth and irresponsibility, the next I realized that I had crossed the threshold of innocence.  No longer could I claim callow inepxerience as my excuse.  No longer could I think, well when I reach _____ milestone, I'll have a different perspective.  It came upon me suddenly.  Yes - last Saturday, while I was driving the 14 hours from Florida, while bacteria multiplied in my laundry room, while the dog ate half my lunch, and while the kids bickered in the back seat - my one year Xangaversary came and went with no fan fare.  I think I feel cheated somehow.


    My birthday however has turned out to be a wonderful day in my life that just keeps on going.  It started a week ago when my MIL gave me bird feeders for my garden while we were at her house.  My hubby and kids gave me clothes and lotions.  My friend Mary sent me a purple basket full of purple indulgences.  And yesterday my friend Barb took me out to lunch.  While I was washing down birthday cake with diet coke (the dc cancels out all the calories) Barb's son was mowing my yard.  The whole yard.  All 6 acres of yard.  Can you tell I'm excited?  And just in case the occasion weren't momentous enough, God commemorated my day with an earthquake here in Indiana.  No measly firewords for my birthday.  All I can say is that if 39 is this much fun, I can't wait to see what they do for my 40th. 

Comments (17)

  • Happy Birthday...and happy late Xangaversary!!!

  • Yeah, happy both!  I like to stretch my birthday out as much as I can too!  (Came over from fugitive's site!)

  • Happy both birthdays!  I turned 40 in March.  It's great to be 40.  Enjoy you have a great year to look forward to.

  • Sounds like you had a great birthday... Happy Birthday..

  • Happy Birthday!  I am with Margie, I try and stretch mine out too!  At least a week!

  • Happy Birthday!  I liked your earlier reference to 39.95 plus tax...but Xanga wouldn't let me comment that day... 

    Happy late Xangaversery, too!  I love reading your blog! 

  • but I don't like june bugs..

  • Happy xangaversary! Mine recently slipped by unawares too, except to one of my earliest subscribers. I was out of town, as you know. For the record, I did want to come to Quincy, but just didn't have the time. I heard The Other Side of Heaven was playing in a theater there and I've not seen it yet. 

  • That covers everything, I think!  If it's any consolation, I missed my xangaversary too.  I waited and waited... and remembered the day after.   Hope both celebrations were great even if late.

  • Happy Birthday and Anniversary

  • Happy Birthday to youuuu!!!

    I love being in my forties.  You're gonna love it too, trust me!

  • Neat birthday and happy xangaversary...and I wish you many more of both!   Spot

  • Happy  belated b'day, and Happy anniversary!!

  • Ooooo better late than never!  I forgot to wish you well that day!  hehe....sounds like you had enough excitement and didn't even notice....shew!

  • Well I think Teri covered it nicely with her gifs Happy Happy To all the Celebratory Happenings!!! It has been a wonderful pleasure getting to know you!! C~

  • WOW!! The earth moved on its own - guess that means Tim was off the hook!!! 

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment