April 17, 2002

  • Tucker is recovering today.  He played quietly with puzzles this morning and after lunch he lay on the bed and watched Michael play Nintendo.  If her were any other kid, I'd say he was getting back to normal, but for him this was just on the verge of comatose.  On the other hand, he didn't have any stomach troubles.  Thank you for the prayers and well-wishes.


    I had some nice surprises today.  I was out cleaning up the yard and battening down the hatches in anticipation of the stormy weather predicted for the next couple of days.  I found that a bleeding heart plant that I had thought the goats killed last year has come back and is covered with little blooms.  My daffodils finally opened.  When I planted the daffodil bulbs last Fall, I thought I was planting paper whites.  I don't know what these are, but they have a double bloom that is really lovely.  Worth the wait.  This is our third year in this house and I can't tell you how cool it is for me to see that the plants I put in over the past two summers are coming back again.


    I'm determined not to turn on the air-conditioning because it's just too early in the season.  Never mind that it was 87 degrees inside today and we are all sweating like pigs, this is our chance to acclimate to warmer weather, right?  Summer is hard on me.  I'm a hot natured person to start with.  I'm the last person to switch over to sweats in the Fall, I rarely wear a coat in winter, and I'm the first person to wear shorts in the Spring.


    Tim had to work late last night.  He got home at 3 AM.  And before he came to bed, he set up the oscillating fan that he bought for me on his lunch hour so I could sleep comfortably.  Is he a hero or what?

Comments (12)

  • Taking notets from Tim...

  • I KNOW what you mean about the AC, and I am just like you, no coat, no sweats. It was about 90 here today, I think I am going to live in my pond if it doesn't cool off again soon...it's APRIL, not July!

    Glad Tucker is better, tummy trouble in hot weather is awful.

  • I had to turn our air on, Steve just can't handle Indiana heat!  My body runs like a furnace all the time - I even crack my bedroom window open sometimes in the dead of winter, because I burn up - so I don't do well in hot weather either, like you I'm also hot-natured!

    I haven't been watching the weather reports today, so I'm assuming we're going to get big thunderstorms?  At least it will break this heat, whew!

  • Yes he is!  I continue to believe for Tucker's complete recovery. 

    God Bless - Dale

  • I'm so glad Tucker is better. I've been nursing plants and trying to keep the stones from chocking them all out, and hovering over them to make sure they have enough water. Then when the little things were just beginning to pop out of the ground the skies let loose with so much rain some of them disappeared and others seemed to have drowned. There are still some that won't give up though. The Merigolds anre beginning to bloom some and the roses and beautiful.

  • Glad Tucker is feeling better.

    And isn't it wonderful to marry a hero? I did too and I love mine to bits! 

  • Yeah Tim!!

  • I'm glad you like the fan. It was the least I could do to make my family more comfortable.

    (Besides, the only thing worse than coming home to "sweating like pigs" is coming home to "cranky and sweating like pigs." 

  • Sounds like things are looking up for you!  I am glad.

  • Seems pretty heroic to me. Glad the kid is doing better.

  • Indiana heat? Pleeease. I lived through an Indiana summer. I've lived through 26 Georgia summers. There's no comparison. I didn't have AC there either, but I'm sure glad I have it here!

    So glad to hear Tucker's better, the garden is surprisingly blooming and your hub's a hero.

  • I suppose that kind of thing has a heroic element...

    But when I've done things of this nature, I never once thought it 'heroism.'

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment